We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
A very long time on a boat but just about worth it in the end

This is a LONG boat trip. It took less time to fly from the UK than it did to get to the first... read more

Reviewed September 25, 2018
Nick W
via mobile
Memorable excursion

Really enjoyed the excursion to the Kornati Islands, the views of the Islands were breathtakingly... read more

Reviewed October 6, 2018
Travel815789
,
United Kingdom
Read all 129 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Zadar
from $40.18
More Info
from $43.62
More Info
from $86.09
More Info
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveler rating
72
28
14
10
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
28
14
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captain's house private island kornati national park kornati islands grilled fish and meat mana island after reading a lot of reviews water sandals day trip sea urchins cliff jumping nature lovers second stop white wine amazing tour salt lake small island
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 129 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2015 via mobile

Booked with my partner for May 2015. We were pre-warned that the sea might be too cold to swim so we purposely went for the salt lake tour where we were told that the waters would be warmer as it's above sea level (ticket at 300kn pp).
We were told to arrive by 7.45am for 8am departure. 8.30am we got on the boat. We then fueled up and eventually left the marina at 9am.
Breakfast was a sizeable ham and cheese sandwich and a shot of Grapa!
It's good to see Zadar from a different point of view, and we were able to see the coastal path we'd walked a few days earlier.
We then arrived at a different port a little further round the coast (around 9.35am) to pick up more people. They had clearly overbooked or something as the boat was packed and we had to hang around while they sorted out the problem.
I feel that perhaps more announcements as to what was going on, or even where we were headed initially would have helped and left us feeling more valued.
Eventually some of the new arrivals had to get off and we set sail for the Kornati islands (now 10.50am).
Our boat had been joined by a coach load, which happened to include an accordian/double bass/trumpet etc 5-piece band who started playing... while we enjoyed it and found it added to the experience of our trip, I'm sure it wouldn't have been to everybody's tastes.
The Korntati islands themselves are beautiful and make for a gorgeous boat ride. We arrived at the salt lakes at 12.45ish and had 2 hours to look around/swim before lunch - this felt a little rushed, and given the amount of time it takes to get to the place, you could probably do with longer! People thought we were mad swimming in the salt lakes but they're notably warmer than the sea and an absolutely stunning place to swim. Plus, with it being out of season we were the only ones in the water. (Note that if you go round to the right as you reach the lake, there are easier places to get into the water).
The bar near salt lakes is reasonably priced for beers (20kn), and the sea is crystal clear. Too cold to swim in at the moment, but I imagine it's beautiful in the summer.
Lunch (included in ticket price) is good. Grilled fish AND meat with lettuce. It's served onboard boat along with an abundance of red wine/orange squash.
Another highlight of the trip for us was meeting the captains gorgeous New Foundland dog who took a particular liking to my partners salty legs post swim!
If the staff had been a bit more communicative on the journey out, the boat trip part of the day would have been a very different experience. As it makes up such a large part of the day, I think the staff should make more of this. I'd recommend the trip but perhaps a smaller boat might be better in season. The way it was, I did feel a little like I was just part of a conveyer belt tourist machine.

4  Thank jenh672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2015

christal sea, good food, beautiful view of the islands, great fun......... The sea is still cold in April so unfortunately we could not swim.

Date of experience: April 2015
4  Thank Mario B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: September 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: September 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: August 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews