We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service”
Review of Konoba mARio

Konoba mARio
Ranked #43 of 210 Restaurants in Zadar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Croatian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We were making our way through the TripAdvisor list of good restaurants in Zadar and we'd already had some pretty amazing food so Konoba Mario had some pretty big boots to fill - and fill them they did! We both had the scallop starter and it was excellent - just perfectly cooked. We ordered the house wine and it was lovely just very drinkable and very reasonably priced as we were used to in Zadar. The mains were beautifully cooked as well with my boyfriend going for the tilapia and me going for the Lasagne. Shortly after we'd finished our meal it started to storm with thunder, lightening and rain very heavily - we'd gone out to dinner rather late and were the last people left in the restaurant. The apocalypse came at about when we were about to leave but we weren't about to go out in it! The staff were brilliant and came over and offered us coffees on the house. It was just a lovely gesture especially as we thought they'd probably be wanting to leave! Perhaps they too weren't so keen on going out in the storm. Such a lovely place with beautiful food and wonderful service/staff - I would definitely recommend.

5  Thank Sparklemotion106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario G, Owner at Konoba mARio, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Dear Sparklemotion106,
our mARio stuff is truly thankful for Your positive recommendation including the storm- story :). We are very glad to hear that You enjoyed Your stay and that you left our place satisfied and happy!
Best greetings to the UK!
Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 124 of 257 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I visited tonight after a long walk around zadar. I ordered the home made pasta with tomatoes and bacon, my boyfriend ordered the homemade pasta with truffles. My food was nice and I don't have any faults but my boyfriends was AMAZING and I ended up with major food envy. If you go I would highly recommend the pasta with truffles, so flavourful and creamy.
We also tried a peach liquor which is local to the area, it was yummy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Shannon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario G, Owner at Konoba mARio, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Dear Shannon,

we like your review very much, thank you!! We are also very pleased to hear that our guests love a dish so much :)) . Next time you know what to order to get a whole big plate of your favorite pasta on your own!
Lots of greetings, Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We went last night to Mario restaurant, we were disappointed about the quality of the food, we expected much better after seing all these good reviews.
We chose octopus salad, quite good cooked but small quantities and very bad presentation: 1-2 onion ring with 2 black olive (not good) and 1 cherry tomate.
After we had pasta with shrimp : again, small amount of shrimp and the pasta were not very good, it seems tomato sauce was not home-made at all, very chemical (the colour was more orange than red).
My wife took lasagna with vegetable, another bad surprise: sauce with cream was too liquid, vegetable was raw and the whole dish was too heavy.

Last point, the customer service was quite rude: the waiter was cold, it took some time to get our dishes and he removed my plate before my wife finished its own.

We are note the sort of people to complaint about the food in general, we are not either people who frequently go to big chief restaurant, we are just regular people who want to be satisfied after going to restaurant and we were disappointed last night after Mario experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gegekra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario G, Owner at Konoba mARio, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear gegekra,

we are very sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience but we are thankful for Your review and we will do our best to correct mistakes that were made.

Considering the food, the normative for the octopus salad in our restaurant is 200g of fresh octopus, it is an appetizer, no main dish. It's not in our interest to reduce the qualitity and originality by adding potatoes f.e.just to make the portion bigger.
The presentation is shown in one of the pictures above and speaks for itself.
The vegetables at our place are cooked "al dente". We take care that its not overcooked to maintain the nutrient contents and the taste. All ingredients we cook with are natural and homemade (cooked fresh tomatoes are not necessarily red... ).

Next time, you are in Zadar you are invited to visit us again and give us a chance to make your dinner special!
Best regards, Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Just spent 1 week touring around Croatia and was lucky enough to find Mario for breakfast. I can absolutely recommend this cafe/restaurant for your breakfast requirements. A choice of 4 set breakfast menus, including a healthy option of fresh fruit with museli and yogurt, which was almost impossible to find elsewhere in the country! Located within the city city wall of Zadar and with a very friendly owner and staff, I cannot recommend this restaurant highly enough. 10 out of 10.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
7  Thank davlew14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario G, Owner at Konoba mARio, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Dear davlew1!
Thank you very much for your wonderful review and the highest marks in all segments!
We hope to see you two again very soon back to Zadar and we are very glad to be part of your positive experiences on your discovery journey through wonderful Croatia!
Lots of greetings to Frankfurt! xxx
Daleen and Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

There I spent a perfect dinner with my dear last night. The food is very tasty and it looks great. The staff is very pleasant and know how to tell a good joke :). Special thanks to the chef who has doing excellent job. I will come again that's for sure.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank Johnny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario G, Owner at Konoba mARio, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Dear Johnny P,
we are thankful for Your excellent review and glad to hear that You had such a good time at our restaurant! See you then ;)
Best regards, Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Konoba mARio also viewed

Zadar, Zadar County
Zadar, Zadar County
 
Zadar, Zadar County
Zadar, Zadar County
 
Zadar, Zadar County
 

Been to Konoba mARio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing