We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not recommended”
Review of Hotel Kolovare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Kolovare
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Zadar
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not recommended”
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Our one night stay was a disappointment. Althoigh the location near the beach and the main lobby are good points, the exterior of the complex and the distance to the Old City were a definite minus. It was a 20 minute brisk walk to the Old City. The balcony rooms are fitted with large panels that block the view and light and make the building almost prison-like. We stayed in room 133. It felt like a quarter mile walk down the dingey hallway from the lobby. The room had a number of maintenance issues and the worst hotel bed in my experience. A mattress on a board. Carpet dirty, sheets worn with tears and holes. Breakfast buffet was adequate. Pool and beach were a plus but could not overcome the total experience. Not recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SantaCruzPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    112
    135
    57
    22
See reviews for
42
128
10
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My wife and I have stayed here on 3 separate occasions each for one night - We needed city accommodation within striking distance of the airport but close to downtown so as our time holidaying could be maximised.

Firstly we were very happy with the level of service from the excellent ladies at the front desk - English language not a problem. Despite eating out [FOSA restaurant] they were happy to confirm our reservations etc. Very slick check-out with taxi waiting - at 5:30 next a.m. - we wanted to maximise our sleep-in too! They arranged a superbly professional cab - the airport ride was only 10-12 minutes at that hour - it was almost 50% more expensive at the airport rank when coming in the opposite direction [110Kn vs 160Kn].
Small touches like that all add to a better holiday experience.

Location is great - pebble beach just across the road - remember the Croatian coastline is 99% rocky. It was great to get one last soak in the Med. before returning to the Atlantic temperatures of home. Pool is perfectly clean, circular but did not use it this time. We had some rather [very] loud neighbours at the pool last time - it's a pet hate but those who invade our privacy/loudly broadcast their personal conversations can really irritate me - but that can happen at ANY pool.
No time for food this time around but was reasonable previously [not 5 star].
Room was clean, quiet and comfortable if not opulent. The balcony has an external brick lattice work which I expect is to shield the room/glass sliding doors etc from the intense heat of the midday sun - there is an unrestricted view from either side. I had no issue with this [last visit was during a massive heatwave] but I see other[s] did. The reception level lifts open next to the dormitory area rather than in the reception itself [just off] so personally I never got lost or minded this. The room numbers are posted so you just follow same.

Sound proofing seemed above average - we went to bed early and heard nothing [I am a light enough sleeper].

The room door/card entry system is one of the best I've encountered - one simple flash of the card and the door is opened/off latch - no fiddling with aligning card or repeated attempts at various speeds trying to get the red light to turn green. I would really like to see more hotels ditch the latter for this version!

Value, not a basement bargain but certainly acceptable given the location with it's easy walking access to historic town area - i.e. for a fit 50+ yr old couple. Would I swop it for a cheaper version and spend the difference on taxi's rides and lost time getting to the interesting parts? .....NO.
Not if like us your time was constrained. If you strip out the afternoon on the beach, snacks and lovely Zlathina [from Krk] etc in a 12 hour period you can actually get to soak up the atmosphere of this beautiful old city, have a lovely meal, explore the medieval streets/seafront more [musical water effects/light show etc], still get a nights sleep [7hrs almost] and be checked in having a pre-take off coffee before 6am the next morning. The beauty being this was all done at a peaceful and leisurely pace. No racing around and defeating the whole purpose of the exercise. I do plenty of that when not holidaying! Would I stay again? Certainly.

p.s. A/C worked well.

Room Tip: 3rd floor was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Declan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed one night as part of a coach tour by Titan, we were warned in advance that it was not a 4/5 star hotel, so forwarned is forarmed. Room was OK, although non smoking it smelt of smoke! We ate in the restaurant as it was raining heavily and although the food, when it arrived, was good the service was very, very slow. No fault of the staff, just not enough of them so down to the management. Only 10-15minutes to the town centre and well situated for the beach which was nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cullompton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We only stayed one night at this hotel on our Titan tour .It was not the usual standard of their hotels and I was glad to leave it .The room was very small and there was a balcony with chairs ,but there was a wall blocking most of the view .It felt like being in prison .No way would I want to sit out on that balcony.
The worst part was the "fitted "sheet .It just reached over the corners of the mattress leaving the rest of the mattress exposed .Not for me!!! Pillows were bad also.
The hotel was in easy walking distance of the town Zadar and some nice eating places in the old part.
The breakfast was not great even though the room looked good and had white tablecloths and covers on all the chairs .I think they are trying to please ,but have a way to go yet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willandites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Zadar hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Plymouth, Devon
Level Contributor
610 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

...this is not a four star hotel by most standards. I guess the biggest disappointment is breakfest. Think what you get with a Mercure breakfast, then think Kolovare Hotel does not quite match fifty per cent of that range and quality.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The hotel is in a good location right on the sea and easy to walk to Zadar town in about 15 minutes. Big car park and really good that it is free. The hotel was clean and the room was nice however even after a second set of pillows, they were not great. The reception staff were very helpful.
The breakfast is rather disappointing with limited choice and the staff very uncommunicative and if you leave it still near the last half hour or so then there was even less choice. Stayed for 3 nights and it was comfortable for what we needed however not sure I would want to spend a weeks holiday here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeany1275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Situated about 20 mins walk from the old city, the hotel was very clean and well presented. Rooms were not overly large, beds were good without being brilliant. Helpful staff although not overly friendly. Free wifi and plenty of free car parking. Visited in low season so not many others around, restaurant very quiet and meal was just average. Could not find many other eating places nearby without a longer walk or drive Zadar did not really impress us so that probably rubbed off on my review of the hotel. Still good value however

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drew49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zadar hotels
2.3 mi away
Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik
2.3 mi away
Mediteran
Mediteran
#5 of 21 in Zadar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
7.7 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Niko
Hotel Niko
#2 of 21 in Zadar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
2.4 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana
1.1 mi away
Hotel Bastion
Hotel Bastion
#3 of 21 in Zadar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kolovare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kolovare

Property: Hotel Kolovare
Address: Ulica Bozhe Perichica 14, Zadar 23000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Zadar County > Zadar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Zadar
#8 Luxury Hotel in Zadar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kolovare 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL KOLOVARE is located near the historical sights of the ancient city of Zadar, in a peaceful and picturesque part of the city. The hotel has a modern and original architectural structure adapted to the Mediterranean area and it has modern and luxurious equipped rooms with air conditioning. The hotel has 191 rooms, twin bedrooms, king-size bedrooms and 12 apartments. There is also an a´la carte restaurant with 270 seats, wine boutique, a bar, hair salon, massage parlour, congress hall, rent-a-car, an outdoor swimming pool for children and adults and a sports-recreation centre with tennis courts, volleyball court and miniature golf court. There is a beach near the hotel. The vicinity of the city centre with its cultural and historical heritage and the numerous excursion possibilities to the nearby national and nature parks will make your stay in our hotel both pleasant and adventurous. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Kolovare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kolovare Hotel Zadar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing