We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality only saw afterwards the name (The Godfather)”
Review of Padrino

Padrino
Ranked #148 of 186 Restaurants in Zadar
Cuisines: Pizza, Seafood, Mediterranean, European, Croatian, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Na predivnoj zadarskoj rivi smjestio se mali restoran Il Padrino koji otvara vrata svima koji su željni dobre i ukusne hrane te kvalitetnog i dobrog pića. Il padrino je za svoje goste pripremio razna riblja i mesna jela. Il padrino je savršeno mjesto za ispijanje jutarnje kave uz predivan pogled na more.
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quality only saw afterwards the name (The Godfather)”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This place is GREAT ! We ordered a italian dish (lasagne) and a local dish (fish). The lasagne is a huge portion and very good. The fish is served completely with head and tasted fresh and I have to admit that I cannot do it better, 10/10 points for the chef ! It was "perfection" !! Fish is served with smashed potatoes and green lettuce kind of thing mixed in to it. Great combination ! The view when you sit outside is also splendid, you have the sea in front of you. Maybe not the cheapest but sure average price for this location ! Easy to find just walk from Greetings to the Sun along the beach direction Old Town and Tower. I love fish and if you also love fish, then you have to order something at this place ! Think it was about EUR 7 for the fish and EUR 5 for the lasagne. See pictures to get an idea. Respect for this place ! About serving times, we were ordered fast, I guess it depends on the number of guest, but it is made with love ! Don't know how the cook does it but this fish was a dream, both sides intact and perfectly grilled I bet if I try it , it will loose some skin. The skin was so good caramelisezd you could just eat it. Be carefull of the 'bones'. You can impress your lady because it has some 'romantic value' in the outdoor scenery and they probably accept reservations if you want to be 100% sure to have a spot (ask for a spot close to the sea- that is if the weather allows it !)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pascal2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis O, Guest Relations Manager at Padrino, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear, thank you for your kind review. Hope to see you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    18
    35
    29
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maribor, Slovenia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice view and thats it.”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I have been in Il Padrino twice, first to try eating in new restaurant in Zadar, second time when my guests invited me to dinner. Both times I ate meat, and i was little bit dissapointed it was very dry. My friends ate pasta with sauce made of nothing but cream. Really disappointing. Vegetables were litlle bit burned but portion was fair. Service and view is really nice, and I hope the food will get better, I hope it was just some bad timing for me, cause place looks really nice. For now I will eat around until I hear some better news

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adboats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
185 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“great setting but overcooked calamari”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Most of the restaurants offer similar menus along the park/promenade; the outdoor setting available at Padrino was what made me choose them over other establishments.

While I was initially seated promptly – I did have a wait to be served, though to be fair it was a busy night.

I ordered the fried calamari – something I had been craving since arriving in Croatia – however half of my serving was overcooked (not sure why only half) and disappointingly I couldn’t eat it.

I’m not sure if it’s a result of them being busy or just a schoolboy error on the chefs part – but it was a disappointing way to end my time in Zadar.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling_Bilbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
101 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Lovely food with great outside terrace”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We ate lunch then dinner here because we loved the location - sat outside on a terrace overlooking the sea. The bruschetta for lunch was beautiful, then we had lovely pizza in the evening. The service was good.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank blt100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis O, Guest Relations Manager at Padrino, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear, thank you for your kind review. Hope to see you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
159 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Find”
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I were walking to find a restaurant with light-ish type meals as opposed to others in the vicinity. We stumbled across Il Padrino which is located on the waterfront in a park. Having looked at the menu we abandoned our notion of a light meal. My husband chose the black risotto with cuttlefish while I had the chicken and pine nut with four cheese sauce. We shared a tomato salad lightly tossed in olive oil. Both meals were truly delicious with tastes that stay with you. We opted not to have desert as to do do would be to ruin the lingering taste. The service was a little slow from the waiter who was serving all outside tables alone but the meals arrived in good time. The waiter was pleasant and helpful, recommendng a wine and also checking with the kitchen about the oil the cuttlefish was cooked in due to a severe shrimp and prawn allergy my husband has. The best thing was the very reasonable price at the end. Try this restaurant. It is one of the best we have tried for a long time.

Helpful?
5 Thank Halcyontwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis O, Guest Relations Manager at Padrino, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear, thank you for your kind review. Hope to see you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Padrino also viewed

 
Zadar, Zadar County
Zadar, Zadar County
 
Zadar, Zadar County
 

Been to Padrino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing