We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in the old city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Art Hotel Kalelarga
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Zadar
Certificate of Excellence
Kinglake, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in the old city”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Excellent location in the old town, super friendly service and outstanding room quality. From the moment we checked in, we were made to feel welcome. Being in the old town, you need to park outside the walls, we travel by motorcycle and had no trouble finding a space, which we assured would be safe. Reception staff are knowledgeable, helpful and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. The room quality (we were in the "apartment" on the fourth floor) was outstanding, the amenities of a high quality and the Wi-Fi (which is free) comparatively high speed.

The restaurant downstairs serves great food with a local flavour and has a decent selection of local wines. Breakfast in the morning is also very good, just do not be afraid to ask for what you want as they are bound to have it, you just need to ask.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    40
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
33
158
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Very nice decorated room and well maintained. Very friendly staff and the restaurant which we tried the 1ste night was really fantastic. Very good choice and fine prepared with various fine wines per glass, for really good prices. As a result we have eaten there every night.
Everything was very good but we have only one comment concerning parking. The hotel being in a pedestrian part of old Zadar, is hard to be reached by car. Parking is just a few minutes outside the city wall, but you have to put 30 to 40 coins in the parking machine. The hotel should be here a little bit more inventive to find a better solution for guests with a car.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jh995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

After just returning from spending 7 nights at this hotel, I felt it only right that I should write a review.
The hotel is totally immaculate from top to bottom, the decor is perfect and this no doubt helps enormously to make you feel comfortable and relaxed.
The rooms are more than adequate and the maids keep them spotless on a daily basis.
The food in the restaurant is totally amazing, and I would recommend the steak to everyone. Not having a sweet tooth myself I will have to go with what my wife said and say the cakes are 'out of this world'.
There is a fine selection of beers, wines and spirits, and the staff will certainly reccomend you a good choice if you are undecided.
The Staff !!!! What can I say about them ?
Nothing is too much of an effort and they certainly make this hotel a fantastic place to visit. I have never stayed in a hotel (especially in another country) and felt so at home, they are so friendly and of great assistance the owner of the hotel should be proud of them.
I enjoyed my stay so much I have already booked to return.
Thank You so much

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ant5times
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opatija, Croatia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Simply unique
it is a wonderful boutique hotel. Everything is up to standard, the design, the cleanness, the food, the location... but what is most unique about this place are the people who work there and the magic of the city... it is hard to find a place these days where people work for the simple pleasure of daily activity and having great passion for their job... absolutely inspiring city, people and hotel. Hvala puno everybody :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabs66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Let me preface this review by saying that it wasn't the fault of the hotel that we checked out so quickly!
This is a small city hotel in the walking district of Zadar. This building has been beautifully renovated with great results. The gentleman at reception was friendly and professional. Unfortunately for him we were hoping for a romantic getaway and this hotel is not really suited for that. Or, we are too old! Lol. The design of the room we were given is well thought out and very nice. Color scheme is peaceful and relaxing. The bathroom has lovely tiles and the shower very generous.

If we had been able to have the suite we would have stayed, unfortunately for us it was booked.

The downsides for a forty-plus couple are these:

The room was on the first floor over the restaurant and looking into the house opposite. No outside area, or balcony. One chair for sitting and reading and one for working at the desk. The bed is actually two twin beds, always a pet peeve of mine as during the night a "Grand Canyon" develops between them. Not conducive for a romantic getaway.

Well these issues might not bother on a different sort of trip, for this trip it was a no go. However the staff was incredible and called a cab to take us to our new hotel and I cannot say enough about how well he handled the situation.

For a different sort of trip I would not hesitate to stay here. Very clean and well equipped.

Room Tip: I think I would ask to be on a top floor to minimize noise from street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marlena m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Amazing little boutique hotel right in heart of Zadar old town, the highlight was being upgraded to a suite which was simply beautiful, a huge room with a comfy king size bed lovely bathroom and a jacuzzi on the balcony wow. The standard of cleanliness was exceptional. Breakfast was lovely and we also ate in the hotel restaurant which was Devine, the homemade cakes are superb. Service was excellent and the staff were so friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble especially Tomi and Ivan. Zadar is an amazing city full of history and charm we shall be spreading the word and would recommend anyone visiting Zadar stays at hotel Kalelarga.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davey18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The Art Hotel Kalelarga in Zadar Croatia was a great find! It is a gorgeous little boutique Hotel with large beautifully designed, decorated and appointed rooms. A huge shower and bathroom, king sized bed a fabulous restaurant with home made deserts (yum!!). The staff were fabulous and very helpful and kind. The Art Hotel Kalelarga is centrally located in the old historic part of Zadar and a short walk to all the attractions. We thoroughly recommend this lovely Hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor and had no problems with noise. It's just 10 or 12 steps to the gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doats59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zadar hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bastion
Hotel Bastion
#5 of 21 in Zadar
514 reviews
6.9 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera
1.6 mi away
Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana
1.6 mi away
Mediteran
Mediteran
#1 of 21 in Zadar
305 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kolovare
Hotel Kolovare
#10 of 21 in Zadar
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel Kalelarga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Kalelarga

Property: Art Hotel Kalelarga
Address: Ulica Majke Margarite 3, Zadar 23000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Zadar County > Zadar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Zadar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel Kalelarga 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Art Hotel Kalelarga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing