We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Short Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Art Hotel Kalelarga
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Zadar
Certificate of Excellence
orthwich
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Short Break”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Our first trip to Croatia. After saving cash on cheap Ryanair flights we decided to go a bit upmarket on accommodation. Glad we did. Art Hotel Kalelarga is situated right in the centre of the Old Town with its complex maze of narrow polished limestone streets.
The rooms are modern, well proportioned and finished to a high standard.
We felt that the staff made the difference. Nothing was too much trouble and they really seemed to care that our stay was enjoyable. We are well travelled and need to feel like we are more than bums on seats. We felt valued as guests here.
The head chef came up to discuss my gluten free diet and provided options at meal times. Bar and reception staff helped us with restaurant and car hire recommendations. Having said that we ate in the hotel restaurant as well and the food was great.
Plitvice Lakes national park was a highlight (we saved money by hiring a car and driving there rather than book the excursions which are sold in the town).
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 67StuartG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    39
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
145
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Sole travelling is always tricky... Will I feel safe?
I did. & well looked after. When I arrived the guy on check in offered to park my hire car to make sure it was safe & free. Apparently not normal service bit he spotted a weary traveller & did what he thought was right.
We've eaten here & the commitment to local produce, & the pride in it, self evident. Award winning local wines, strong interesting Pag sourced cheeses - not normally served as a 'cheese course' but offered in response to a questions showed the hotel cared as much about its food as its decor. I endorse all previous comments about the hotel accommodation. Not cheap but VFM... Btw the Dalmatian coast below Sibenik is some of the most beautiful I have seen.
I plan to return in better weather. This town is designed for heat with its narrow streets & heat reflecting white marble.
Did I mention the climbing & walking in the local National Park, Peklenica? 45 mins away. Almost perfection...

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Flo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Fantastic hotel. Probably one of the best hotel experiences there is. Warm and inviting room with a modern design. Very clean. Bathroom is excellent and the beds are comfortable. The service is extremely good, and the people working there were very perceptive, helpful and nice. We felt so welcomed. Food was undoubtedly the best we had in the city, and they have the most excellent cakes. A huge thank you to Tomislav, Ivan, Damir and all the others working there for making our holiday the best.

Room Tip: Can recommend the suite on the top floor. We got a glimpse of it, and it has a private balcony with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skarpsno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Wanting to be in the centre of it all. Well, this hotel delivers, the staff are friendly and rooms are clean. You are in the heart of Zadar and right outside your door step is the hear of the city. Truly an amazing city to visit. Tons of charm, history and warmth of the Croatian people. We love visiting Zadar and recommend it to all you friends and family. It is safe, great for couples and families, lots to see and do. The beaches are some of the best in the world. Pack your bags. . . A must see.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryana2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

If there was a rating better than excellent, that is what I would give the Art Hotel Kalelarga. The room was amazing, modern with lovely parquet floors and an original stone wall. The bed was super comfortable. The bathroom was lovely with a super large shower. The location could not be better, right smack in the center of the old town. The breakfast had many choices and was very tasty. And the staff, what can I say, they were so nice and friendly and always happy to help with every request.We loved the Kalelarga hotel and wish that one day we'll be able to stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelley134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here on my way Down to split.
I intended on staying 1 night, which turned into 3. The staff are extrmely accommodating, knowledgable and understand that customer service is of the utmost importance.

Location is smack in the centre of old town zadar.
The rooms couldn't be more well appointed and the decor is very modern.
Bathrooms are stunning.

If there was one opportunity for improvement, it would be buy a couple of irons, and ironing boards. Us travellers want to look sharp too.

Overall, a great stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont St Peter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2012

september 2012
we spent two nights at the Art hotel in Zadar as soon as we entered the room we loved it the decor was superb and beautifully finished, especially the bathroom, the neutral tones were very relaxing and you soon forgot you were in the centre of a busy city. The breakfast was delicious and nothing was too much trouble. It was an excellent base from which to explore the beautiful historic city of Zadar and I shall certainly recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zadar hotels
6.9 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera
1.5 mi away
Hotel Niko
Hotel Niko
#2 of 21 in Zadar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bastion
Hotel Bastion
#3 of 21 in Zadar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik
1.7 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana
1.6 mi away
Mediteran
Mediteran
#6 of 21 in Zadar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel Kalelarga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Kalelarga

Property: Art Hotel Kalelarga
Address: Ulica Majke Margarite 3, Zadar 23000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Zadar County > Zadar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Zadar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel Kalelarga 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Art Hotel Kalelarga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing