We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Promising but then disappointing lunch” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pet Bunara

Pet Bunara
Ranked #4 of 184 Restaurants in Zadar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $27
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Croatian, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Dear guests, it has been 30 years since the restaurant PET BUNARA has been firstly established. In all those years it has been groving, changing, modifining... And last few years has become a trend setter and actualy a leading restaurant in Zadar county. Cuisine could be described as; traditional, simple, local jet appreciating new trends emphasizing seasonal offer and, as much as possible, extensive usage of organic, ecological or bio products or groceries. As a result of all mentioned, restaurant PET BUNARA proudly acquired a SLOW FOOD nomination for 2012. In addition, restaurant was the best restaurant in Zadar County according to Ministry of Tourism for 2010.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Promising but then disappointing lunch”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

The location of the Pet Burna is fantastic and the menu looked great, so we decided to have lunch and were considering coming back for dinner. Service is good and we started with a lovely crisp local white wine recommended by the waiter. The barley risotto with cuttlefish was fantastic, but the saffron and scampi ravioli was not great - heavy both in the thickness of the pasta and the amount of saffron. Cabbage salad suffered from a very heavy hand on the salt. All looked so good but maybe a bit more tasting in the kitchen?

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
35 Thank Bear4Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vladimir B, Owner at Pet Bunara, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Bear4Bear from Dublin,
Thank you for your comment.
However, to be honest, do not quite understand why you gave as a “poor” mark. You praise as through our fantastic location, our great menu, good service, a lovely crisp local white wine, fantastic barely-risotto… and then you came with a problem of pasta thickness?? That’s why, among other things, we different from most restaurants. We make our own home-made pasta and certainly differentiate from industrial one.
Furthermore, if your salad was salty you should say that immediately. We would change it instantly!
But not doing that, I getting a feeling how you enjoying writing (only) poor marks instead of communicate with a staff and making; for you the best enjoyment wherever you are!
Best regards,
Vladimir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    602
    321
    94
    40
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fresh delicious food- excellent value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

This place is definitely one of the best in Zadar. The menu has some unusual but delicious combinations. The fresh pasta with lobster and John Dory fish baked with vegetables were cooked to a high standard. This place also serves pizza, but go there if you fancy well-prepared fish.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Purpleaubergine1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vladimir B, Owner at Pet Bunara, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Purpleaubergine1988
thank you for the highest mark in all segments!
Hope to see you again soon…
Vladimir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Something different and delicious with great vegetarian options!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

After a week in Croatia, I had grown a bit tired of eating salad and french fries. My husband (who is an enthusiastic carnivore) and I went to this restaurant upon recommendation off our hotel owner. The atmosphere was pleasant, the service was good and the food was extraordinary. Wow! The food here tastes like there is a real chef in the kitchen. We had the (meatless) bean soup for an appetizer, which was quite good. I had the house-made noodles with vegetables and tiny prawns for a main course (I do eat fish). The chewy rustic noodles were balanced well with a light tomato sauce and paper thin slices of zucchini and garlic. My husband had the duck with breaded gnocchi and some sort of fruit preserves (cherry?). He liked it a lot. This food is not only good because it is so different from the average restaurant fare in Croatia...it is good in its own right. If you are looking for a restaurant in Zadar, this is the place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank robyngill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vladimir B, Owner at Pet Bunara, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear robyngill from Chapel Hill, North Carolina,
Thank you for your lovely and exhaustive review… Reading it was truly enjoyment…
Best regards,
Vladimir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top restaurant in Zadar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

It was a favourite restaurant of me and my girlfriend during our stay in Zadar. We have tried a few dishes like pasticada, tagliatelle with lobster, beefsteak 'Pet Bunara' and some more. All were really good. Also their desserts are just world class and I don`t really like sweets in general. I highly recommend a 'fig lady'. Wine was good too. Prices aren`t high at all. Service is really good. We were misscharged for 2 bottles of wine instead of 2 glasses but we got our money back as soon as I`ve noticed that so it doesn`t affect my rate. We`ll surely come back there in the future.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Arkadiusz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vladimir B, Owner at Pet Bunara, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Arkadiusz R. from Poznan, Poland,
Thank you for your nice review...
Hope to see you again…
p.s. sorry again for “human error” regarding charging…
Best regards,
Vladimir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fig lady”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Good location in a square Close to the walls with several tables outside in the front-yard. Excellent the Sophisticated ravioli, one with zafferano and croatian ham and the other in fig sauce. Avarage the mediterranean salad. Good ship cheese - starter. Fast service.
Finally, a good place. 22 euro.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawkins83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vladimir B, Owner at Pet Bunara, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Dawkins83,
Thank you for your nice, short and very good review!
Best regards,
Vladimir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pet Bunara also viewed

 
Zadar, Zadar County
Zadar, Zadar County
 

Been to Pet Bunara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing