We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service”
Review of Pet Bunara

Pet Bunara
Ranked #5 of 208 Restaurants in Zadar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $29
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Mediterranean, Croatian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Dear guests, it has been 30 years since the restaurant PET BUNARA has been firstly established. In all those years it has been groving, changing, modifining... And last few years has become a trend setter and actualy a leading restaurant in Zadar county. Cuisine could be described as; traditional, simple, local jet appreciating new trends emphasizing seasonal offer and, as much as possible, extensive usage of organic, ecological or bio products or groceries. As a result of all mentioned, restaurant PET BUNARA proudly acquired a SLOW FOOD nomination for 2012. In addition, restaurant was the best restaurant in Zadar County according to Ministry of Tourism for 2010.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I went to Pet Bunara on the recommendation of a site following Anthony Bourdain's trip to Croaita.
Apparently Mr. Bourdain's croatian chaperone knows a thing or two about good food.

The atmosphere inside was very typical european. Out was your basic covered patio. Well lit, with wooden decor.

The menu is very traditional for the region. Some meat, some fish, a few soup dishes, and of course dessert.

I ordered the octopus carpaccio, with a cabbage salad. The octopus carpaccio started out a little bland, but, a dash of salt and pepper came alive, almost literally. Thinly sliced octopus on a bed of arugula is a great pairing. Bitter at first, mildly fishy, with a sweet aftertaste. Its much more appetizing than it sounds.

Cabbage salad is standard for Croatia, olive oil, balsamic vinegar, salt, pepper. I could eat this stuff for breakfast lunch and dinner.

For the main I ordered the grilled 1/2 kg of Scampi. It came by itself. Imagine 7 mini lobster grilled to perfection. In my broken Croatian I asked the extremely helpful waiter how to eat these, and he obliged by giving me a lesson. That's what I call customer service. Be forewarned, this is a messy dish. You'll need a shower afterwards, but trust me, its worth it. The scampi were cooked just right, no real fishiness to them at all, just bite sized lobster flavoured morsels.

For dessert came the chocolate lady. a moist meld of chocolate and marasaka, the local cherry liquor. Decadent.

All in all, the meal was great, the service was phenomenal.
My only gripe would be the location of the restaurant during out of season dining. Its a little out of the way, so there's not a lot of people watching. Not much they can do about that, but who cares when you're enjoying the company and food.

Kudos to Bourdain's guide, and of course, to the restaurant and staff of one of Zadar's longest running establishments. Will definitely go back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VPNK, Owner at Pet Bunara, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear review er
Much oblige for your nice review.
Hope to see you again sometime soon ...
Best regards
Vlad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

748 - 752 of 1,401 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

We know this restaurant already for a while and bring them a visit everytime we are in Zadar (5 times a year). For us one of the best restaurants in town.
This time they changed the menu introducing special (wild) aspergus dishes. Realy surprisingly, balanced and delicious.
You can go there for a pizza as well but if you take your time you won't regret.
Take time to enjoy the superb dishes and great service!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WLardenois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VPNK, Owner at Pet Bunara, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Dear guest,

many thanks for you sincere review...

Hope to see you again sometimesoon...

Regards,
Vladimir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The pork medallions were very nice, the staff were friendly, good service and great value for money. If I lived in Zadar I would be a regular visitor!

Thank LincolnYellowbellies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

For a moment I thought about writing a bad review and getting a free lunch.
But only for a second :)

This place is very good, trust me.
A warm welcome and a very professional explanation of the ingredients, style and "work with local resources" idea of the restaurant.
Good wines and again good explanation (good written reviews in the menu and the waitress even explained a bit more on request). Small winecard was selected by somebody who knows what he/ she is doing.
Good quality (e.g. best istrian ham so far, and I am touring through Croatia now for ten days) and nice arrangements of food.
Very good octopus with chickpeas which was warm (as it should be in my humble opinion) and tastes very different and refreshing in comparison with the normal octopus salad served in many other restaurants.
Noodles al dente and with fresh and crispy zucchini/courgette - very good.

There were many locals here, always a good sign for me when searching for good food in foreign countries. A lot of them ate pizza, so I tried one as well. Very good handiwork but a bit colorless after the the first courses - this could be due to biodynamic ingredients, but I am not sure.
Would go for meat or fish next time, and there will be definitely be a next time for me!

All in all this is four points and is on the same level as some Gault Miliau decorated restaurants in Croatia (Proto in Dubrovnik or Laurus in Opatija, e.g.) and I give the fifth point for the slow food bias of this wonderful restaurant (5-).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Went due to tripadvisor reports and we were not disappointed. Menu unlike the rest of Zadar restaurants was a little bit different. Restaurant was nice inside, cutlery tables, choice of olive oils etc were nice.The menu was varied we had 3 courses, water and bottle of local wine. I had the duck in fig jam for my main course and it was delightful. The waiter was very friendly and informative. The bill was slightly more than other run of the mill Zadar restaurants but still cheaper than GB and was well worth it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank donnaCarlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VPNK, Manager at Pet Bunara, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Thank you very much for you review... Hope to see you again...
Best regards!
Vladimir (restaurant owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pet Bunara also viewed

 
Zadar, Zadar County
 

Been to Pet Bunara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing