We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”
Review of Tinel

Tinel
Ranked #23 of 191 Restaurants in Zadar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Tinel! Enjoy the atmosphere of the ancient Zadar town on the peninsula mixed with all the buzz of the near-by piazza, the Zadar’s main square.In the old Dalmatian homes, the room used for socializing and relaxation was referred to as “tinel”. In Italy and in the South of France it is the name used for dining rooms or refectories. So what a better place to experience Mediterranean and Dalmatia, the history of the old-age towns built from stone and gastronomical secretes of their residents, then in the very center of the over three thousand years old town of Zadar.Restaurant TINEL is a restaurant, a bistro, a pizzeria and a spaghetteria. It is a casual and relaxed eatery, with friendly crew and excellent chefs. We offer traditional Mediterranean and Dalmatian cuisine with a touch of creativity and contemporary themes. Whether you look for pasta, pizza, salads, meats or fish, you will find it here. Join us, relax and enjoy… TINEL is the place for the good mood and the great food.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

When walking into the old town we were approached by a lady who was handing out flyers for the restaurant, so we thought we'd give it a go! We enjoyed a delicious meal (even the bread to begin with was lovely) and would definiately reccomend a visit!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Libby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Predrag M, Owner at Tinel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear,Libby H

Thank you for your review.
I'm glad that you were satisfied with our service.
Your satisfaction gives us even more desire and strength to be better.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    113
    39
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We were already staying with the owners in one of their rooms and decided to come back for dinner. Our meals were fantastic and were some of the best traditional food we had on our trip. The location is picturesque and service is great.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank kelsey r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Predrag M, Owner at Tinel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear, kelsey r

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about our service.

. It certainly feels good that we managed to keep you satisfied with our rooms and food.
Hope to see you again next time you come in Zadar.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service and food”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Spotted this little place just off the main street while looking for a bar, promised the waiter we would be back and after looking we headed back. Definitely not disappointed with food or service, very welcoming and some great recommendations and still serving when we left at 11.15pm. Well worth a try

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NickPoulos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Predrag M, Owner at Tinel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear, Guest

Thank you for the confidence I hope that we will see you again .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Looks nice but that's were it ends.”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

The good reviews on tripadvisor and the nice decor of the little bistro made us stop for dinner here. We sat for dinner as a table of 4, We all consider ourselves as food lovers, however some of us have higher standards that others. One out of the four of us enjoyed our meal, I personally tried every dish we had, most were unispiring, drowned in olive oil and salted to a level that makes sea water taste tame.
My clam spagetthi was gritty and largely dull, the best dish of the 4. John Dory with truffle sauce had never seen a truffle in its life, as well as only being one fillet as apposed to two as shown in their own pictures. Swordfish and Tuna were a bit plain, just grilled, nothing amazing.
Bill came to 500+ Kuna's, £60+ GBP, Not the best value for what we got.

All things considered I'd have to say don't fall for its quaint charm. AVOID.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Choux_de_Crab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Predrag M, Owner at Tinel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your experience at our restaurant, like most of our guests.
If you asked the waiter to return your dish and adjust the level of salt and olive oil to your preference we've been happy to oblige.
If you'd consider giving us a second chance next time you visit Zadar I'd personally guarantee a meal that you woud find amazing.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essen, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very high level service and food”
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

High level service, although only a small cosy restaurant. The owner is very kind and nice. Always offer youbsome extra drink and advices free of charge. We also stayed in his apartment-clean and super located on old town.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vagrantcjf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Predrag M, Owner at Tinel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thanks for the review. We provides additional efforts to offer a personal touch to our guests. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tinel also viewed

 
Zadar, Zadar County
 

Been to Tinel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing