We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 star hotel that still needs to get there”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Zadar
Certificate of Excellence
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“5 star hotel that still needs to get there”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

There are many pros and cons, but overall its not delivering on what you pay for and expect.

Hotel has protected garage which is great during the summer, problem is nobody is there to park it for you, no valet service. Receptionists are not matching 5 star standard, they are just not as forthcoming and knowledgeable as they should be, smile is not always enough. Also, you get to take your baggs to the room yourself...in a 5 star hotel... what a joke...

Halls are sterile and faceless, no charm...

Room is nice and spacy, designed in mediterranean style, very clean and tidy. Bathroom is nice and offers separate bathtub and shower cabin. There are two washbasins, which is nice. Sofa in the room is underneath the tv, which makes no sense. Closet is nice and spacy. Air in the room is dry and a bit too hot, its very difficult to sleep so you have to open the window. Bed is nice and comfy.

Breakfast service is very good. Selection is not big( actually surprisingly small ) but its nice and tasty. Tea and coffee are served fairly fast and you get freshly squeezed orange juice. Evening service is also nice, you have nice wines served with food, tho i would prefer better selection of dishes offered.

Pools look great, park arround the hotel looks fine but there is so much dirt on the rough concrete that is just disgusting. Beach is ugly and rough. Overall finish on the outside doesnt match the standard they are advertising.

Overall, atm I wouldnt spend that kind of money again till they fix whats not good. Right now, this is not a 5 star hotel, nor it has 5 star service. Not even close.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank OldSchool99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    90
    40
    6
    3
See reviews for
93
269
13
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rijeka, Croatia
Level Contributor
1,349 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 639 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

The hotel is located some 20 km from Zadar, so you should have a car if you want to explore the city. But its isolated location has a lot of advantages if you prefer quiet but luxury holidays. We spent one rainy weekend in the hotel, but with wide choice of various activities we didn’t even notice the lousy weather outside..

The hotel staff will pamper you in every way you can imagine. Rooms are spacious and beautifully arranged, with lot of nice amenities. For instance there is “pillow menu” and you can choose from a variety of pillows for a good night sleep. Bathroom is large and well-organized, with good ventilation and you can choose between the shower and the bathtub. Room service is efficient and impeccable.

Room Tip: Upgrade your room for one with sea view, it is worth some extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Borzov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

........ for how beautiful it is in reality. The rooms are stunning - immaculately clean and stylish. There seems to be a clear ethos - that guests come first. The whole experience was special - including the food. We ate at the restaurant one night and experienced high quality modern European cooking. There was a really relaxed atmosphere around the pool and the spar is an intriguing maze of steam rooms, plunge pools and saunas with an oriental feel. I highly recommend this wonderful hotel - especially for couples.

Room Tip: Pay that bit extra for a sea view if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteGLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Perfect location. Relaxed a lot.
Brilliant stuff. Very helpful and welcoming. They made everything easy.
Amazing rooms, view, sea. I felt I was in heaven.
Excellent facilities. Didn't want to come back.
Thoughtful details. I felt at home.
Luckily we had amazing weather and I had a little swim.
Thank you everybody who made our October break unforgettable.

Room Tip: Have a sea view room. You wont regret.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mustafa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

All is made so you feel in a boat.
If you like theme parks, you will enjoy this hotel.
Room size is very good and the sea views are fantastic ! However, everything is BLUE.
Staff is very friendly and common areas are great.
Spa is very large but treatments are not very professional. We had better elsewhere. For example, they sell you a "taylor Made" massage but never ask you what you want or which areas to work on so it is not very taylor made...
Food on the other hand is cheap. Again the staff is friendly and multilingual but the quality of the food is average.
If you HAVE to go to this area, I recommend it. Otherwise, try other areas of Croatia.

Room Tip: If you are looking for the toilets, they are located behind a door similar to the cupboard !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank superchelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Recently opened resort hotel, with all facilities. Nice gym and spa area. Breakfast buffet and service were very good.
Prices were however high (maybe reflecting my personal lack of experience of this type of resorts!)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gascondomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

What can we say about this hotel that you do not already know or read about? We highly recommend it since it is incredible in so many ways! It has amazingly polite staff, ready to jump and serve you in a blink of an eye; clean and bright, modern rooms with edgy but comfortable design; several pools (including the one with salty water and Jacuzzi pool with warm water); costly but nice and relaxing massages, gym and spa treatments (which we enjoyed in for an entire day); delicious food which was in the form of buffet and which was that rich that we tried some things we have never had before in our lives (with lots of cooked meals, on-the-spot meals, desserts, fruits, yoghurts and drinks); amazing view from the room balcony and terrace one can only give himself/herself to, and amenities and surroundings which leave you nothing but in real zest!
However, this beautiful hotel has its shortcomings as well - it is quite distant from Zadar (you need some 15 to 20mins to reach the city by car) which can be a small constraint if you like to be close to urban surroundings and if you need something other than hotel services, but again lots of people love to be isolated from the city rush and Petrcane offers exactly that; the other thing which bothered me was very rocky approach to the sea...the hotel itself is on the island and it offers number of services which one can only imagine but again, my opinion is that one should not go to the sea and swim only in pools - there is nothing better when you dive yourself into frisky sea-salty water! You need to go along causeways which circle the hotel in order to reach the accessible part to the sea, which was quite far from at least our hotel and also very rocky and slippery, practically impossible to go into...they could have built some proper access to the sea, some pier or something so that parents with small children could at least give their little ones the insight into a real beauty and benefits of salty water... I repeat again that their pools are nice and clean and children-friendly but for the ones who want to feel sea water and swim in it, quite an effort shall be applied in order that a real place for sea-swimming is discovered on this gem of an island...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pufna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zadar
5.4 mi away
Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik
5.3 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana
5.5 mi away
Hotel Niko
Hotel Niko
#2 of 21 in Zadar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Falkensteiner Family Hotel Diadora
6.6 mi away
Hotel Bastion
Hotel Bastion
#3 of 21 in Zadar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
5.6 mi away
Mediteran
Mediteran
#6 of 21 in Zadar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera

Property: Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera
Address: Punta Skala BB, Zadar 23231, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Zadar County > Zadar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Zadar
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Zadar
#1 Luxury Hotel in Zadar
#2 Romantic Hotel in Zadar
#3 Family Hotel in Zadar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera is the first and currently only 5 star hotel in Zadar, Croatia. The hotel offers 210 rooms, multiple meeting rooms and 6,000 square meters of wellness surfaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct and TripOnline SA so you can book your Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falkensteiner Hotel And Spa Iadera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing