We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Zadar
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We spent 6 days last summer with our 3 Kids in Hotel. Perfect. Beautyfull location, nice service, beautyfull pools and wellness. Our kids could go to the nearby Falkensteiner Hotel with all the animation they needed. The quality of swimming is very good.
We definitly can recomand this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kronplatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    102
    46
    9
    7
See reviews for
104
303
16
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Hard writing this review some parts of this hotel are superb and yet more is poor especially at these prices.
Last year we stayed at the Kempinski in Istria and it was better, felt more permanent and had more staff especially when the staff numbers dropped sharply one Monday when all the students went back to college etc ...
We stayed for 11 nights and at no stage did the "meet and greet" manager ever speak to us or even show any inclination to do so, whereas the German speaking contingent didnt have this issue.
Be under no illusions this is an Austrian hotel aimed at German speakers the television has precisely three channels in English - all business related ( so much for relaxation ...) there are no English newspapers however spare a thought for the Russian visitors who didnt even get the menu's in Russian despite there being a lot of them at the hotel....
The bathrooms are wierd - the toilet is in a cupboard and an "Ikea" one at that and the curtain instead of wall to cover the bathroom doesnt really work and the only seating in the room was a temporary bed against the wall where the tv is and the bed, but then perhaps they know the tv isnt worth watching ...
The entertainment was decent quality but got instrusive and tedious every night and often ended after 23:00.
The food when it was good was superb especially the "egg chef" at breakfast but there were too many times when it was of inconsistent quality even at the same serving and the half board forces you to eat in one restuarant but not in the beach bar; which is just silly and reinforces my view the hotel is run for itself and not customer convenience.
The good parts : the beach and the pools are immaculate and not crowded and simply very relaxing. The free iced coffee and fruit that was brought around was a treat but the absence of staff meaning we had to go to order food / drinks isnt 5 star. However Croatia was experiencing water shortages and we saw bush fires less than 30km from our hotel, so the waste of water from the swimming pools was unacceptable - hotels need to be good citizens as well.
But escape from the hotel and take a walk down the coast road to the village of Petrcane and eat there and you wont be disappointed, although you are some way from Zadar (but then you knew that !) its worth going and then take a ferry to the islands but do not expect to go to salt lake on Dugi Otok and find yourself all alone - you wont be, as at least 5 boats were there when we were - dont bother walking down once in through the gate to the donkey sanctuary stop and sit beside the shoreline in splendid isolation.
Overall had this hotel not self - proclaimed itself a 5 Star and thus charged lower prices; we would have been very satisfied but a 5 star hotel is concierge level of service and the decor felt temporary and in places, admittedly outside the hotel, unfinished; this hotel is a long way from that.

Room Tip: further away from the "centre" of the horseshoe - less noise, better views but a longer wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Flipper2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This was a divine place. When you arrive they have prosecco or a non-alcoholic drink for you, and quickly and pleasantly check you in (while you have your drink and maybe sit on a comfy white sofa in the foyer). The rooms are beachy-contemporary, bright, spacious and super comfortable. Bathrooms have special spa soaps and amenities, and there is both a shower and a separate bath tub. Rooms have huge balconies with gorgeous sea views. The hotel is very large, and the property has lovely beaches (clean water) with chaise longues, discretely placed outdoor showers, and hammocks. There is so much space you have tremendous privacy and peace if you like. There is also a beautiful outdoor pool with stunning views, and ample sunning and relaxing space next to it and sprawling around it and down the paths to the hotel's own beaches. There seemed to be many spa features (which we walked past but did not use) and another glamorous indoor-outdoor pool. The restaurant bar by the pool has an almost California feel to it: it's contemporary, stylish and relaxed, and the lunch we had was great. We selected a fish to be grilled, and made a plate from the high-quality salad bar. They had all the touches, including fine olive oils and special mixes by the chef. You can have a healthy and delicious lunch in a gorgeous environment and really relax and enjoy the views.
Dinner downstairs was a treat with outdoor terrace seating, an enormous and good buffet and live music perfect for watching the sun set. It was a sparkling experience. Breakfast was another good meal with an extraordinarily large selection of food including a chef making to-order eggs and omelettes. The hotel is on a large property a bit away from Zadar, but perfect for a beautiful contemporary resort experience with plenty of spa amenities/options, good food and excellent service. The guests were varied: some "beautiful people" types of all ages, executives, honeymooners and families with adult children. (I saw only one family with young children, possibly because they have another property nearby which is designed as a "family" resort.) A note: there are long wide hallways and if you do not want to do a lot of walking to get to your room, make sure to tell the staff when you check in. I could imagine for some that might be a consideration. We would love to return to this hotel for a special treat to relax and swim and eat well and enjoy the atmosphere!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzannetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

I have never experienced a hotel with a service like this. You can say you expect this from a 5 star hotel but it has just that little bit more. The personnel is extremely attentive. The receptionist guided us to our room and gave a short explanation. The rooms are spacious and are special thanks to the open badroom. The colors are carefully choosen to give you that "at the beach" sensation. Breakfast is very good and has everything you would expect. Warm plates are made "à la minute". At dinner you get the same sensation of being attended personally. We will definitely come back to this hotel whenever we get the chance.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JohanJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I stayed here for two nights during the conference. I guess this is the best hotel I've ever experienced. I was also somehow lucky enough to be upgraded to Junior Suite. It looks astonishing! Impeccably clean, well thought design, first class amenities, the smell… Everything was perfect. I’m not sure about practical usefulness of room-integrated bathroom, but it sure looks great! The only annoyance in my room was a poor WiFi signal.
People that I came in contact with were all very kind and professional. You get the feeling that they all really like their work. I only briefly visited huge Spa area, but from what I've seen it is a place where you can easily spend couple of hours just discovering it, even if you are not a Spa-loving person.
Frankly, price of all this is out of my personal budget, but maybe an anniversary weekend in low season might fit it :)
It’s definitely worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rozmanp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

My partner and I had a wonderful stay here, and it gave us a great chance to unwind. we were there just for 3 days and certainly could have stayed longer, which we did consider.

The rooms are beautiful, spotlessly clean, and there was always turn down service. The technology was good as well, with a wireless keyboard available (free from reception) to use the TV to access the internet! fantastic feature to be able to relax in bed with the keyboard on your lap to use the internet on the TV screen. Booked the sea view room, and had the view at the end of the U shape which overlooked the water. great room, nice standing on the balcony, but having the shower in the room next to the bed was a bit annoying

The food at the beach restaurant was wonderful! The grilled fish was fresh, and tasted great! I recommend to try this restaurant. the spa/sauna was really spacious with lots of room to relax. Nice welcome drink on arrival. Breakfast was also wonderful.

but while this stay was good, and if you are looking for a great hotel and a place to relax in the area, I would say go there! but if you are just looking for a great resort somewhere, and that is the purpose of your visit, and have flexibility in the location I would try somewhere else. Great hotel! but I have been to better "leading" hotels and resorts, and unlike some other places I would excitedly go back to, would probably plan not come back here for a resort holiday, I would try something new, somewhere else. Lovely stay.... but not in my list of most memorable stays

Some of the small touches that are not of course essential but are expected from this class of hotel are some of the things you notice,
nobody offered to help with our bags to the room, or even a trolley to put them on.

we were at the beach restaurant and came within opening hours (9:30 pm, kitchen is open to 10pm) , and many tables were spare, but the person who greeted us told us that maybe they could not serve us because we had no reservation, and he would have to find out if the chef was still willing to cook for us.... after he said yes, we were seated and our new waiter was nice... (also the food fantastic!!) but this greeting was not pleasant or the standard I expect, especially in a resort where it is some distance to town, (taxi 170 kuna each way) to leave to town to eat at a restaurant. on this note, make sure you have everything you want if you dont have a car, because it is not so close that you will want to run back and forth (and the shop on site is very very limited).

Also it looks like there are many fitness activities, one or two per day, but I think they are a waste of time and dont advise doing them. I did the stretch class it was just 15 mins!! ... a bit of a waste of time even getting dressed for it. in my opinion better they don't offer it than make it so short, I imagine that the yoga etc were also just 15 mins, so looks only good on paper that they have it, but they might as well not.

The spa/sauna area was lovely, and plenty of rooms, spent alot of time here. The hot stone benches in the Haman room were really nice to relax on. but the water jugs etc in the relax room were always empty, and the old glasses and empty waters, and nut/fruit trays with just the crumbs, gave it a used old feeling, everything should seem fresh and nice put more water jugs if necessary. and have staff top these things up. a couple of times there were no clean towels, and staff were difficult to find without leaving the area to go upstairs. (there seemed to be plenty of staff in other areas of the hotel, but not in the spa area). outdoor/indoor pools were nice, not something to get excited about, however but watching the sunset in the pool was stunning! if you can you should wait there for sun down. Nice clear view as it goes down over the sea. This was beautiful!

it was a nice design to have the shower and tub in the room at the side, but a bit impractical in terms of the floor getting wet when you open the shower door to get out.( our room was not like the online pictures where it is at the back, but instead the bath and sinks were on the side next to the bed)

Check out time of 11am is also unreasonable especially when check in is so late.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ms_Vasco_Pyjama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Erlach, Austria
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2012

For us it was the last couple-holiday as we will get our first baby in December. It was a very nice stay there! The hotel is very clean and modern. The W-LAN network also worked in the garden - never had problems!
The personnel is very friendly, a lot of them spoke more than 2 languages. Also the wellness services are of top quality, done by friendly and competent persons.
The rooms are a very blue, including already the bathroom with blue and green flaggings. But I loved the transparent shower!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaR631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zadar
5.4 mi away
Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik
5.3 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana
0.3 mi away
Falkensteiner Family Hotel Diadora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hotel Bastion
Hotel Bastion
#4 of 21 in Zadar
510 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#8 of 21 in Zadar
95 reviews
2.6 mi away
Zaton Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera

Property: Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera
Address: Punta Skala BB, Zadar 23231, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Zadar County > Zadar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Zadar
#1 Luxury Hotel in Zadar
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Zadar
#2 Romantic Hotel in Zadar
#3 Family Hotel in Zadar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera is the first and currently only 5 star hotel in Zadar, Croatia. The hotel offers 210 rooms, multiple meeting rooms and 6,000 square meters of wellness surfaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Prestigia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falkensteiner Hotel And Spa Iadera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing