We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spa&wellness hotel with best breakfast ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Zadar
Certificate of Excellence
Zagreb
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great spa&wellness hotel with best breakfast ever”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Finally a five star hotel in the middle of Dalmatia. If you are going as a couple you will have amazing time as this hotel really gives you the best wellness and spa experience. The hotel is brand new, opened few months ago, furnished with style and with some peaceful touch that you will feel as long as you get there. If you are flying to Zadar this is maybe not the best option as this resort is situated outside of Zadar (around 10km) and you might be bored to just stay in resort, so I would say this is the best option if you are coming by car or planning to rent a car. Since I was there twice (in business and private occasion) I must say that they have a very good conference centre, but for up to 200 people. For that purposes I would only recommend it if you have a conference up to 100 people because they are not well tuned to handle bigger once so far (and make sure that you tell them to have enough food as their normative are pretty small). If you are arriving as a couple you will definitely enjoy it. I prefer standard room or junior suite if you want something very romantic as you will get bathtub in the room with a sea view (senior suite doesn't have that much charm, too expensive for what you get). Breakfast is actually one of the best ever served (much better than in 99% of 5 star chains) and I would definitely recommend it. they serve actually everything you can imagine and have amazing terrace with such a nice view. Prices are pretty high, so if you have a chance to get half board take it because dinner costs around 40 Euro per person and it actually doesn't matter if you don't want appetizer or desert. Even garden rooms have a blink on the sea, so the view from the room is amazing and wellness and spa area as well. You can enjoy outside pool. Two half opened pools (one of them with sea water) and really nice Hammam and sauna area. Definitely a recommendation as well as good masseurs. Hotel staff is very polite and helpful and mainly they speak several languages. This is for sure one of the best hotels in Croatia so far. P.S. pets are also allowed

Room Tip: Standard room is value for your money. If you want more romance and are willing to pay it take junio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gradovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    99
    46
    8
    7
See reviews for
101
296
16
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

The hotel is brand new, all amenities are at the 5 star level, the outdoors area is generous, nice pools, plenty of deck chairs. The hotel is huge and appears more like wellness barracks than an initimate exclusive resort, but that is the matter of taste. The weakest point is the gym (ridiculously underequiped for a 250 room hotel and without an A/C). The beach, if the one deserves to be called the name, offers deck chairs, hammocks and a shower, which is lovely, but an inexpensive boardwalk leading into the water which would obviate the need to trudge through the sea urchin strewn sea bed (impossible without bathing shoes) would be a nice idea.
The workmanship of the hotel is somewhat amateurish (the tiling of the pool, the wires visible behind the elevator door at level -1), and some things are simply the products of ill-design (salty water spilling from the pools outdoors and burning the lawn, or the design of the bath tub which makes it an impossible task to take a shower without flooding the entire place, as well as tiny storage space). It is however alarming that there are for instance ripped out curtains that nobody cared to fix during our 10 day stay.
Breakfast buffet is superb, service in the restaurant regrettably slow and unreliable (and napkins are a commodity). By contrast, the quality of the dishes in the evening is uneven (overcoked pasta for instance) but the service is better.
There are also many lovely little things in the hotel, like having an unlimited number of towels at your disposal at the pool, free candies, free sun protection lotions, nice bathing products and balms in the changing rooms). It is also appreciated that the towels are exchanged at the dinner time, and you may even get an inexpensive praline at your bedside, or you may not, so it is not clear whether the hotel aims at making surprises or it left to the discretion of housekeeping.
Free WI-Fi, nice TV channel selection, very friendly receptionists, bell boys prompt to help you with the luggage +++
There was no questionnaire to provide our feedback - that would have signalized the interest of the managment in making improvents and would have made this review shorter!!!
One has to admit that the hotel is operational for two months only, and it is to hope that the service may reach a 5star level sometime soon.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jelle71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We are spending a 10-days holiday in this just opened five stars hotel and we can't be fully positive about it. The general impression is, more or less,"good ideas but roughly managed".
Generally speaking, the weak point of the hotel is the level of service, too much patchy for a five star hotel.
Rooms are quite clean (common areas like lobby or the main pool a litlle bit less) but housemaids forgot always to replenish the complementary set (I have been waiting for a new soap for two days ......).
Pool opening hour is till 8 p.m. but after 6 p.m. is quite impossible to have a clean pool towel.
Breakfast and, partially, dinner are served on a buffet base: the quality of food is generally good but you have to lucky and find the right moment because personnell do not pay enough attention in replenishing the buffet tables (even if the dinner time is 7pm-9.30pm our suggestion is not to go after 7.30 pm). And you can wait more ore less 20 minutes for a bottle of water or a coffee (expecially at breakfast time) or have breakfast without towels. We don't know if we were unlucky but our experiences at restaurant were a litlle bit "terrifing" including a small incident with steaming oil during the "grill night" .
In conclusion, this is not the less expensive hotel in Croatia and our expectations were, probably, higher. We don't know if we will give Iadera a second chance, we have to think a lot about it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank annalisamalfatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

My wife and I have just returned from a short stay at the Iadela.

The hotel opended on 1.7.2011 and we were the first guests.

The facilities, service, food, rooms and setting were all superb.

Anybody looking for a luxurious holiday on the Croatia Coast will not be dissapointed.

Trevor and Beryl Jones

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank TrevorJones_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zadar
5.4 mi away
Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik
5.3 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana
0.3 mi away
Falkensteiner Family Hotel Diadora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hotel Bastion
Hotel Bastion
#3 of 21 in Zadar
501 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#8 of 21 in Zadar
91 reviews
5.6 mi away
Mediteran
Mediteran
#5 of 21 in Zadar
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera

Property: Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera
Address: Punta Skala BB, Zadar 23231, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Zadar County > Zadar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Zadar
#1 Business Hotel in Zadar
#1 Luxury Hotel in Zadar
#2 Romantic Hotel in Zadar
#3 Family Hotel in Zadar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera is the first and currently only 5 star hotel in Zadar, Croatia. The hotel offers 210 rooms, multiple meeting rooms and 6,000 square meters of wellness surfaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Prestigia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HRS so you can book your Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falkensteiner Hotel And Spa Iadera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing