We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay”
Review of Villa Julian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Julian
Ranked #11 of 296 Specialty Lodging in Zadar
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed for 7 nights in September. As per previous reviews a delightful place to stay. Good sized room, very clean and a large very comfortable bed. The walls are quite thin to you can hear people in adjoining rooms but reading other apartments this seems to be common in Croatia.
Small pool but big enough for a refreshing swim. The location is perfect for Zadar. 10 - 15 mins walk to a bus stop which takes around 10 minutes into Zadar. Diklo is within walking distance and they have good quality bikes for hire. Some restaurants also within walking distance. Breakfast was delightful. The girls who serve breakfast are great fun and very helpful.
If we return to Zadar we will definitely stay here.
Thanks to Dario and all the staff.

Room Tip: Go for a superior for more room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jurassic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    34
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
41
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

After travelling around Thailand for two weeks in 2012, my boyfriend & I were looking to do a cheap week away somewhere & liked the fact we didnt know much about Croatia - nor do most, so thought it would be off the beaten track and less touristy than most places in Europe. We also researched on things to do such as visiting the National Parks and found that Krka & Plitvice were both in driving distance to Zadar, which is why we chose this area. Due to the fact its not that touristy, there are not many hotels but mostly apartments & villas. When we booked we were dubious as to whether or not it would be suitable due to the low price for a weeks BnB stay (£453) however when we arrived we were blown away. When making the booking I had requested that we had a seaview room with balcony, this meant we seemed to have the best room in the block top floor with huge balcony looking out to sea. The room was very clean, modern and far from what we were expecting. The owners were great and picked us and another English couple up from the airport (around 15/20min drive away). The owner Darius gave us some information as we drove through the main town area and advised where we were best to go at night etc. Ariana the wife was super friendly as were all staff at Villa Julian. One downside was the breakfast options were exactly the same every day. Eggs or Cheese & Ham with rolls. Me not being a big fan of either often went to the local supermarket for yoghurts or fruit. The Villa Julian is around a 40minute walk from the main town of zadar and maybe 10mins from some more local restaurents and pubs. We very much enjoyed our stay and would definately recommend for a budget friendly traveller.

Room Tip: Request for sea view room & to stay in the main block (orange building) there is another block w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The room was a pleasant surprise stop along our way, bed was great waking up to the birds in the garden was so nice. Plenty of living space. The couple that worked there were so gracious and could not have been more helpful. The breakfast was very good. We had great wifi in the room and it was very quiet. I loved it and want to go back and stay longer.

Room Tip: We had a first floor room because of our heavy luggage. It was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilberttraveler56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Could not ask for more, by staing in Villa Julian all our expectations has been exeeded. First of all we have been picked up by Dario from the airport that saved us a lot of time. Than we have been greeted by one of two absolutely lovely ladies and have been given a lovely specious and prefectly clean apartament with the sea view. Loved it:)
Breakfast - served in the garden again by exeptionally kind ladies. Everything has been kept simple, stylish and clean. Delicious food, generous portions, fantastic coffee.
Area around the Villa is very safe, there is a great local bar - 5 min.walk as well as there is an easy access to Zadar town centre 10 min walk to bus stop. There are also restaurants around, local shop and bakery.
The pool area although small is very relaxing, the pool itself very clean.

Overall we would like thank to all Villa Julian staff for making our stay very pleasant experience. All the time we felt welcomed and looked after.
We would reccomend Vila Julian to our freinds and family and if ever back to Zadar can not imagine staing anywhere else:)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanaManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The positivies - Super clean place outside of city centre.
We took a two bedroom appartment which was big and nice for the price we paid.
Adriana and the other staff are super friendly. Standard but great breakfast.
Free airport pickup and Airport drop for only 20 euros.

The negatives - The only negative point of the place was the wifi. there was no connectivity in the room. there was some in the lobby - however the signal was too weak.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank powerpuffgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Although in a largely residential area Villa Julian is a real find! We had a superior room on the 2nd floor,which had a fabulous view over rooftops of the sea and the island beyond. The season was not yet underway but on a couple of nights all the rooms were taken. The room was clean and large with a sitting area, where an excellent breakfast was served in the morning, and a bedroom area. Dario and his staff speak very good English and were able to give very helpful advise on where to eat, where to go and where to catch buses. The pool area is small but attractive. Sadly the water was too cold for us to make good use of it. The Villa is somewhat out of Zadar, but there is a frequent bus (costing 10 Kunas) about 10 minutes walk away. However, you can walk along the lovely promenade into Zadar which takes about 45 minutes. All in all a good place to stay.

A couple of tips
Visit Nin - one of the prettiest places you could visit
Sime Restaurant - very nearby and good food and service. If you're lucky you might catch sight of the Zadar basketball team! You'll know them when you see them!

Room Tip: Beware there is no lift so you might want to request a room on the ground floor if you have young ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taylors94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed one night at the Apartmani Julian. Originally booked a 2-bedroom apartment, but were given two separate 1-bedroom apartments by the very friendly and kind landlady. The B&B is in a very nice part of town: quiet, felt safe, and the owner recommended a great restaurant nearby (best of the trip.) While I found my room generally nice, it lacked toilet paper and most amenities. The other member of our party said his room had a strange odor and various things were broken. However, the owner was very responsive to everything, breakfast was brought individually and was very tasty, and in general, I thought that everything here was fine. The real problem was the fact that I was asked to pay cash upon check-out, which I wasn't prepared to do. With fewer "surprises," this place would be really just the best.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eab2124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zadar hotels
0.7 mi away
Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik
0.1 mi away
Mediteran
Mediteran
#4 of 21 in Zadar
287 reviews
0.7 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#9 of 21 in Zadar
85 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Niko
Hotel Niko
#2 of 21 in Zadar
308 reviews
1.4 mi away
Boutique Hostel Forum
Boutique Hostel Forum
#1 of 296 in Zadar
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Julian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Julian

Property: Villa Julian
Address: Ulica Hasana Kikica 13, Zadar 23000, Croatia (Formerly Apartmani Julian)
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Zadar County > Zadar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 296 Specialty Lodging in Zadar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Julian 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VIlla Julian was built in 2003 and from the beginning has acquired a good reputation. The Villa has 8 units, 4 standard double rooms, 3 large double rooms and 1 suite. Property is located in the western part of the city calld Borik which has a long tradition of tourism. It is only 10 minutes walk from the sea and local beaches. The neighborhood has plenty of restaurants and bars and shops. The city center is easily accessible by public transport. We offer private or group excursions with our boat or a comfortable ride on our jet ski. All rooms at the Villa are modern and equipped with all the standard needs. Breakfast is served in our garden by the pool or in your room upon request. Our friendly staff with me will do our best to make your stay as comfortable and fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Villa Julian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing