We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”
Review of Konoba Rafaelo

Konoba Rafaelo
Ranked #17 of 209 Restaurants in Zadar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Our host kept telling us we should try this Konoba but we left it till the last minute and just managed to get a table the night before we left Zadar. We had the beefsteak with mushrooms between two of us since we'd been warned that the portions were huge and they certainly are. The steak when it came was just fabulous, perfectly cooked, the mushrooms were very tasty as were the chips. We also had a green salad and half a litre of red wine (which was also excellent by the way!). The bill was 231kn, amazing value. Service was friendly and competent. We'd highly recommend this restaurant although it really is best to book a table a day or two before.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tilly00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalija S, Owner at Konoba Rafaelo, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear, Tilly00

First of all receive sincere apologies for the delay with the response.
thank you for the time required for review.
I'm very happy that you are satisfied with with the service, food ...
Hope to see you again.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (501)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 162 of 501 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2014

We decided to sit down to dinner. The waitress comes after a second and ask us to be able to have a few more minutes to decide. From there, never comes back. After about 20 minutes we ask a waiter to order. After half an hour of waiting they ask us again if we ordered. We understand that it is' something happened. The waiters are fighting each other, we are waiting for our food 60 minutes. To our protests for three times we are told to wait another 5 minutes .... The food was bad not very good and our evening was ruined.
In the end it was a greeting card in the form of bills .... meat plate 40 euros???
Funny place for miss at any cost!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
12  Thank Tomica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalija S, Owner at Konoba Rafaelo, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear, Tomica L from Split, Croatia

First of all receive sincere apologies for the delay with the response.

I am sorry that you had to wait so much on your food.
Please, if you still have this bill bring it tome next time you're in Zadar.
it is impossible that you paid one meat plate 40Euros !

Until the next encounter sencerely regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Not often these 2 go together, but in case yes. They don't really have fish meals like most of the Croatian restaurants at the seaside and 2 appetizers I didn't get because they said they don't have them anymore, but the steaks are absolutely amazing. Cannot say it's the top of what I've been to so far, but it's definitely one of the best choices in Zadar. Also price/amount ratio is generous.

Recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hajlander1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalija S, Owner at Konoba Rafaelo, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Dear, hajlander 1984

Thanks for your lovely review.
Yes, we are more specialized for meat menu then Fish.

hope to see you again.

best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Good meat, cooked well, generous portions, fantastic price!

We came twice in a week and the steak with mushrooms was incredible.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalija S, Owner at Konoba Rafaelo, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Dear, Katrhyn C from London

Thanks for your review.
Hope to see you again...

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

We came here on a rainy Monday evening and were able to sit on the patio under the awning. The food was fresh and delicious. We could smell the grill from the moment we arrived. Don't be put off by the wait staff...they are friendly but busy and not effusive. We had the lamb, meat plate for one and two beer for about $40. Huge portions and amazingly tasty. We highly recommend this little gem.

2  Thank Tia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalija S, Owner at Konoba Rafaelo, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear, Tia J

Thank you for your review.
This kind compliments give us the desire to be even better
I hope to see you again

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Konoba Rafaelo also viewed

 
Zadar, Zadar County
Zadar, Zadar County
 

Been to Konoba Rafaelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing