We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Mountain of food at a reasonable price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Konoba Rafaelo

Konoba Rafaelo
Ranked #14 of 181 Restaurants in Zadar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Barbecue, European, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
carlisle
Level Contributor
132 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Mountain of food at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We returned one year later, but sensibly ordered one main meal(meat platter) to share. Again a mountain of food and very tasty if a little basic.We had to queue for a table this time but it was worth the wait.Lots of good tasty basic food in a nice setting,the waiter we had was very informative and helpful.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank donnaCarlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    121
    35
    15
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Not cheap but value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We arrived late at 11.30pm on a friday, no problem getting food. Ramsteak (biiiiiiiiiiiig) and fried calamares (only ate half) where nice, also french fries where too much but very nice!

Not crowded (30/08) and quiet location, nice terrace.

Tip: order one meal for two people

Helpful?
Thank Joa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Third time not as good...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Our first two times here (last year) the food was good and of course the portions huge. This time we were a bit disappointed but maybe we did not order well. The first two times here we had grilled chicken, calamari, and a special fish soup. All of it was good and memorable and we recommended the Konoba to friends. On our visit this year we ordered the mixed grill on suggestion of the waitress, and it was a huge platter, but the meat had very little flavour. It looked and tasted like a mound of indifferently cooked chicken and pork. A large plate of french fries came with it and they were great. A local friend later told us we would have been very pleased with the grilled steak, and that it is in fact his steak place. On atmosphere: we ate on the great terrace outside with lovely view of water and boats. However there are often families with boisterous and loud children, and that particular kind of noise might bother some people. We heard some people complain, but the staff felt they could not do anything as the family is local and they are regular customers. For a more relaxing meal maybe it might be better to go later in the evening, if that means there might be fewer children. We did feel our waitress was nice and our food came quickly even though the Konoba was busy.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank suzannetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pula, Croatia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“This is below all standards for food in the world”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

When you enter into this tavern seems to work illegally.Odd tourists who share food are main guests,and in the corner eating local mobsters.The atmosphere is poor,waiters are miserable and they are uncultured.And the food is inedible, totally rubbish.Turn around and go elsewhere

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
21 Thank barbara m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

absolutely the best value of money and value in whole zadar area...the food is great and for 70-80kn you get portion that is big enough for 2 people so most of people pack their food for later...

also their food tastes great and you can even watch their barbacue chef making it just few meters from your table...

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tom f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Konoba Rafaelo also viewed

Zadar, Zadar County
Zadar, Zadar County
 

Been to Konoba Rafaelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing