We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa Ivana Exceeded Expectations and Left Us With Great Memories”
Review of Villa Ivana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Ivana
Ranked #14 of 296 Specialty Lodging in Zadar
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Villa Ivana Exceeded Expectations and Left Us With Great Memories”
Reviewed September 3, 2010

In our recent travels to Zadar in beautiful Croatia, we stayed at Villa Ivana and it was outsanding, we highly recommend it.
It is a proud family run businsess in every respect. This is evident in the cleanliness of the well equipped rooms eg. small refridgerator, stove, dishes , cutlery etc.
Wholesome breakfasts are provided in a quaint and again spotless kitchen/dining area overlooking a manicured garden. A particular feature of our suite (the Paola suite)was a balcony with amazing views of the water, old town and the islands. Location wise it is a pleasant seaside walk to old town.Finally we were particularly impressed by the friendly and attentive interaction we experienced from each family member. They are knowledgable about attractions, restaurants etc. and more than willing to make arrangements or suggestions.
Your trip to Zadar will be enhanced by staying here.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue_and_Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    16
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
59
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

Booked a very last minute trip with accommodation based on trip advisor reviews ... and they weren't wrong. The owners are fantastic hosts who provided us with tips on local transport, places to visit and restaurants which allowed us to make the most of our 5 day trip to Zadar. The accommodation itself is spotlessly clean, well equiped and perfectly located opposite the beach and a 5 minute walk to the bus stop, supermarket and a couple of bars and restaurants. The breakfasts were substantial and beautifully presented. The rooms were airconditioned, double glazed and had shutters so you are guaranteed a very comfortable, undistrubed nights sleep - but do set your alarm if you need to wake at a particular time as nothing else will wake you up!

Great to have the sunbeds and sunshades for the beach ... it is a stoney beach, so bring - or buy locally beach shoes, then enjoy swimming in the lovely clean clear water with views across to the old town.

Zadar feels a very safe and friendly town with a lovely atmosphere - a place that people of all ages can enjoy. You can choose from museums to night spots or simply walking around the old town soaking up the atmosphere. Eating out was a pleasure, lots of choice and very good value for money - never feeling we had paid over the odds.

Enjoyed cocktails at the "Garden" (opposite the Bastillion Hotel in the old town), lovely open air bar on top of the old walls over looking the harbour .... still wondering who owns the yacht with the helicopter!!!

Zadar had lots to offer and a lovely atmosphere ... just hope not too many people discover it .... a special place. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjangell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2010

My partner and I stayed here for two weeks in July 2009, which was a little unusual as I think most people pass through on shorter stays.

Zadar itself is a lovely old town with plenty of restaurants and bars, a great market, and lots to do. It's also an excellent base to explore the islands as it's a busy ferry port.

Villa Ivana exceeded all our expectations. Our room was fabulous, with a little balcony overlooking the beach, just across the road. It was spacious and cleaned every day. The included breakfast was also excellent.

The owners provide loungers and parasols -free- for use on the beach. They are a lovely couple, proud of their town and country and very helpful. Right from the start they were excellent - greeting us with a drink on the rooftop terrace even though our flight was late and we didn't get there until 11pm.

The position is excellent - right on the beach with a great view across to the old town and handy for the frequent buses. If you walk, you can cut your journey by taking the little ferry across into the old town. It leaves from a jetty opposite the old town.

We also saw Jose Carreras in an outdoor concert in the main square. Magical.

I couldn't recommend Villa Ivana, or indeed Zadar, highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derekmck13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2010

A real little gem, just across a small street directly on the sea. The owners have taken great pains to create a beautiful environment, extremely comfortable bed, creative inlaid flooring, interesting hardware and wonderful balconies. There's also an inner courtyard with vegetable garden and seating under a trellis. The owners could not have been more lovely, gracious and helpful. Just a short drive from the old town.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastCoastTraveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2010

Myself and my parents have stayed at this villa on numerous occasions and are always very impressed. The owners are very helpful and friendly. The rooms are spacious, clean and nicely presented with beautiful balconies. Its location is outside town but taxis are cheap or there is the local bus but its quite nice and relaxing being outside the town anyway. Breakfasts are very good and freshly made to order. Overall an absolutely wonderful experience is to be had staying at villa ivana.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevie2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2010

We arrived in Zadar with Ryanair and it was just a short trip by taxi to the hotel located directly on the sea in Puntamika. The owners (husband and wife) are incredibly helpful and friendly and gave us all the directions before we left London. Once at the airport they advised us to use the tourist taxi LULIĆ (the price is cca. 140 HRK/20 Euros from the airport to the Villa - cca. 15 km, 20 min - and 20 HRK from the city center - cca 3 km, 7 min by car) as other taxis charge up to 200 HRK. Otherwise if you are in the town already you could decide to get bus number 5 to Puntamika (the Villa is a 3 min walk from the last stop).

We decided to book a studio with terrace and sea view at a very reasonable price which included a large continental breakfast, sojourn tax and free wi-fi (although the connection is not very strong and reliable!). We could not have chosen a better room! What a view!!! You can see the old town just in front of you and the Uglijan island. And the summer breeze was a relief from the very hot weather! The studio is spacious, clean and comfortable and can be booked for up to 3-4 people (preferably 2 adults and 1 or 2 kids) - it has a kitchenette, bathroom with hairdryer, a sofabed, tv, telephone, minibar and (very important) air conditioning. The owner also went as far as let us choose the studio we preferred as they are quite different.

For the beach (which is just across the road) they provided two sunbeds and a parasol, included in the price. Beach towels however are not provided but you can use the sunbed cushions. The Villa is on a pebble beach and it's not crowded this time of the year so there's plenty of space.

The hospitality we received at Villa Ivana does not compare to any other place we have been to! On the day we arrived they gave us a map of the city, useful tips on where to go, how to reach it and restaurants suggestions for the area and the old city. They also managed to put an extra decoder in our room so that we could watch the world cup match as our team was playing the next day!!!

On the day we were due to leave they called us a taxi and let us leave our luggage there while we enjoyed our last day in the old city.

All in all a very friendly, happy and relaxed atmosphere which I would recommend to all the people I know! Will definitely go back again and again and again.

I would only recommend you avoid the period of the moto festival (apparenly one of the biggest in Europe from what I have been told) which takes place at Puntamika once a year normally in June. But if you like this kind of thing, then join in!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luciaptr75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2010

We stayed two couples for 2 nights. We found it by chance. Nice people , very clean, 10 meters to the beach. About 25 minutes waling to the old citiy of Zadar. Good Breakfast.

Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dannyec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zadar hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Niko
Hotel Niko
#2 of 21 in Zadar
310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik
1.2 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#9 of 21 in Zadar
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana
0.8 mi away
Mediteran
Mediteran
#5 of 21 in Zadar
287 reviews
5.5 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Ivana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ivana

Property: Villa Ivana
Address: Obala Kneza Domagoja 14, Zadar 23000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Zadar County > Zadar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 296 Specialty Lodging in Zadar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Ivana 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Ivana is situated in Zadar, in the tourist area named Puntamika. The villa is placed near the very seashore, where is also to be found a large beach.Villa Ivana disposes of accommodation capacity consisting of 4 studios, 2 rooms and 1 suite, and therefore covers the capacity up to 20 persons.Beside above-mentioned, the villa's offer also includes the reception, coffee bar placed on the terrace viewing the sea, spacious garden, and the hall for breakfast-service (included in the price of staying for the night). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Ivana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing