We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golden Retreat”
Review of Villa Triana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Triana
Ranked #15 of 318 Specialty Lodging in Zadar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2011

We arranged for the transfer from the airport which was punctual with a friendly driver, though we'd suggest taking the bus from the town back to the airport which is considerably cheaper and easy to find. We were greeted by Triana, the owner, who was very friendly, spoke good English, and was more than happy to answer any questions. Our room was on the top (third) floor with a beautiful view from the balcony of the sea and the notorious Croatian sunset. The room was cleaned every day (except the dishes) with fresh towels and soap. It looked just like the pictures on tripadvisor (though an even more golden look), but the kitchenette is rather small yet sufficient enough. There is a reliable bus service into the town, but it is actually not far to walk and it is a scenic route. We recommend this cute hotel for a romantic long weekend.

Room Tip: You can request a specific room when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IsaCri12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 108 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2011

Villa Triana is a lovely waterside villa. The villa is directly on the water, and the views are stunning. The back garden has a pool and seating area which looks out onto the water. It's a great place to sit at sunset and enjoy a glass of wine. The "beach" on the water consists of concrete slabs/walkways/ledges. You can sit on the concrete and look out on the water (which is rocky/pebble bottomed). There are also small concrete piers that you can sit on. We were there in early April and the water was too cool to wade or swim in, although we did see a few hearty souls out for a brisk swim.

Our room shared a fully stocked kitchen with the room opposite us on the ground floor facing the water, which was very convenient. If you'd like your room cleaned every day, simply hang a sign they provide you with outside your door. Otherwise, your room will not be cleaned without you requesting it. Our bed wasn't terribly comfortable - a rather thin mattress and one pillow each. Not the best night's sleep, but it was adequate. The bathroom we had was enormous with a spa-bath. The bedroom was a good size with a window that looked out onto the water. Fast, free Wi-fi was available in our room and everywhere throughout the villa. Breakfast is available at an extra cost, but we never opted for it.

The owner and the staff were incredibly helpful and knowledgeable. They offered us great information on transportation and sightseeing, and provided us with maps and specific directions on how to get places. Their expertise was much appreciated. They allowed us to store our luggage the day we checked out since our flight wasn't until late in the day. Overall, the staff was extremely accommodating, helpful, and kind.

Villa Triana is in Diklo, which is outside of the old Zadar centre. In good weather, it's a lovely walk along the water to the old centre, but at a leisurely pace it took us an hour and a half to walk to the centre from the villa (you have to wind your way around piers and parks which extends the walking time). However, the bus that goes into the centre stops directly outside the villa, and it's a cheap, easy and fast (10 minute) bus ride into the centre. In addition, taxis in the centre are plentiful, and it's an inexpensive taxi ride from the centre back to the villa (22-30 Kunas). It was never a problem to travel from the villa to the centre, and vice versa. Since we were there in off-season, many of the restaurants in Diklo were closed. However, in high season, you'll find plenty of restaurants in the area without having to travel to the centre. There's a lovely waterside cafe/bar a couple doors down from the villa with an outside deck, and another smaller waterside cafe/bar a couple doors down in the other direction. There's an ATM and good sized market ("Market Toni") a couple doors down (in the same set of buildings as the cafe with the outdoor deck) which stocks all the essentials.

Unfortunately, Villa Triana was undergoing renovation and landscaping in their back garden/pool area while we were there. It made for a dusty and noisy visit during the day. We were unable to take full advantage of the back garden area since construction was taking place during the day, and the pool was not yet open. The jackhammer outside our window made sleeping in one morning (and taking a nap one afternoon) unpleasant, if not impossible.

We rented a car (through Sixt in the Zadar centre; great company) for a day trip to Plitvice Lakes National Park. It was about a 1 1/2 - 2 hour easy drive. We highly recommend this trip - it is the most beautiful park either of us has ever seen. Turquoise and green lakes surrounded by waterfalls; just breathtaking. Villa Triana also offers excursions to the park if you prefer not to drive. There's also a public bus that goes to the park, but after much research on Tripadvisor, we decided we'd prefer the independence of a car. We read about problems some people had in catching a return bus from the park to Zadar, as sometimes if the bus is full it won't stop at the park. We were there off-season and probably wouldn't have had a problem, but the car made the whole trip easier.

Room Tip: Try to book a room in the back on the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahcf0915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

first of all, the location is outside town. So if you dont have a car, you use public transport which is a bit cumbersome. But other side you have nearby everything you need to. Very close to the lovely beach, but in season there is too crowdy. If you have a car you can leave it on the street, what is a bit dangerous couse thief. You can also pay 10 E per day for secure parking ! Apartment are very good equiped and in good condition, but it cost. You pay twice more than the cheapest apartment in a town.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisek101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Villa Triana is a perfect place to enjoy a break. Good services and advices for trips.
We were recommended The house of Siam, a perfect place for a Thay diner and a massage (€30 an hour) My wive and I enjoyed the relax atmosphere and the quality of both the food and the massage. By arranging that at the reception of Triana, you will be picked up for free by the the owner of the House of Siam. Also perfect is Pizzaria Cime,
a 15 minutes walk from Triana.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ger075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2010

We recently returned from 3 nights in Zadar, staying at Villa Triana. The villa was great (room 23) - aircon, tv, kitchenette (very small just 2 hobs and sink), shared fridge etc. Also free wifi or a shared computer can access internet in reception. The private balcony and the views from it/ room were amazing as this place is so close to the sea.

Only downside was the room wasn't cleaned during our stay, this was fine as we were only there 3 nights but may be annoying for longer trips.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller1983Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

Beautiful villa situated right on one of diklo's beaches, atm and supermarket a stone throw from the apartment with cafes and bars dotted around. Bus leaves every 55 past the hour and 20 past the hour, and the bus stop is a one minute walk. The people in the villa are very helpful with organising taxi runs, maps, excursions, clean towels/linen, things to do in Zadar and are willing to help, they made us feel at home and safe.

A ten min bus ride to the old town of Zadar and only 20 kuna in a taxi (around £2.30) and the reception are willing to call for you. Quiet at night and always sure to get a beautiful spot on the beach.

Overall a briliant stay, there were 3 of us, ages 21 looking for a good nightlife and relaxation. Villa Triana was so helpful in giving us information and welcoming us to Croatia.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caughtthetravelbug21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

Simply put, great villa, great staff and a great location. It's equally excellent for couples chasing adventure or seeking seaside relaxation.

Before we arrived, the staff at Villa Triana were already so helpful! Daniella provided info on airport transfers and organised a scooter to be ready for our weekend. We arrived and for the price paid, were impressed by the marble interiors and finish of the room.

Room 24 was air-conditioned, very secure, well decorated and comfortable. Equipment in the room included wardrobes, drawers, a coffee table and TV. The room had its own balcony with a stunning view of the Mediterranean and it's perfect for a sunset vino.

Within 5 minutes walk of this 'apartmani' are cafes, a bakery, a cash machine, a food market, a nightclub and access to watersports at the nearby Falkenstein resort. This 'apartmani' is a short drive or bus ride from the Zadar centre so the area is quiet.

In terms of top tips:
- For exploring the coast, you can rent scooters nearby at Terra Travel (only 200 kuna pd)
- For amazing seafood, Niko's Restaurant in town serves fresh caught delights
- For natural sights, take a tour to Krk Waterfall and enjoy a real shower and scenic views
- For kid-like fun, your girlfriend can ram you in a dodgem car at the nearby mini-circus

Villa Triana treats its Guests as real hosts should. If you need advice, bookings or other assistance, don't hesitate to ask. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank metcalfem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zadar hotels
0.5 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana
4.9 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera
0.6 mi away
Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#10 of 22 in Zadar
106 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mediteran
Mediteran
#4 of 22 in Zadar
328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Gravic
Villa Gravic
#3 of 67 in Zadar
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Triana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Triana

Address: Kreshimirova Obala 41, Zadar 23000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Zadar County > Zadar
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 318 Specialty Lodging in Zadar
Price Range: $52 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Triana 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Triana , recently renovated , is located on Diklo beach, a famous seaside resort only 5 km from the center of Zadar.Villa have swimming pool . All rooms have private bathroom,air conditioning, free WIFI, balcony with view of the sea, TV SATV. A lush garden surrounds the villa offering spacious areas where guests can relax. The villa is the perfect base for a vacation with infinite potential: pristine nature, wine and food, tours and culture, numerous local archeological sites and natural park ( Kornati Island, lakes of Plitvice, Krka waterfalls, canyon of river Zrmanja...). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa Triana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing