We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Quaint Hotel”
Review of Hotel Bastion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bastion
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Zadar
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Quaint Hotel”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Stayed overnight here on a business trip. Reception staff was very helpful and friendly. Room was large, quiet, and clean. The sea is just a short walk away. The breakfast the next morning was very good with a nice variety. Indoor and outdoor seating was available. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    163
    36
    8
    6
See reviews for
70
294
15
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We arrived w/out a reservation,( since our stay at the previously mentioned Ethno Houses Plitvica Lakes had no wifi), again, traveling off-season seemed to work to our advantage as there were but a handful of guest sharing this perfectly located and very comfortable hotel within easy walking distance of everything, parking was also included as was an enormous buffet breakfast, front desk extremely helpful from directions to weather info, turning us onto this terrific weather sight out of Norway (yr.no)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clif4nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel is very nice and cosy. Staff is helpful and give u perfect attention, very nice and tasteful breakfast. the hotel is at excellent location near sea organs and only few minutes walk from main vibes in town. The overall feeling - great :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Savrsena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

We had lovely three days in Zadar. Our base was H.Bastion. We decided to go there because of the location and SPA. Must say that object is decorated with perfection, staff is very nice and helpful. Room was good as whole hotel also. Spa is little bit small but relaxing. We haven't been to restaurant "Kastel" but the breakfast was "royal good".

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pucac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

A very classy, modern, and exquisitely renovated hotel in Zadar. Near the west end of the old town, as it juts out west into the harbor. The service was impeccable and the breakfast was excellent. This hotel is so well located in Zadar, and just down the street from Kornat, a great fish restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_Schunhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Staff were friendly and helpful. Great restaurant and had a lovely outlook out of our room.
Recommend spending some time in the spa. Close to all the restaurants in the old town. Located opposite the best bar in Zadar

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We wanted to get from Dubrovnik up to Plitivice via car. We couldn't figure out whether to stay in Split or Zadar. Ironically, the Rick Steve's book doesn't even include Zadar. It only took half an hour in Split to help influence our decision; it is a huge industrial city filled with graffiti and towering memories of a communist era.

We drove on to Zadar and picked Bastion based on both T/A reviews and a note on the Frommer's website. Our room was clean, quite and comfortable. We were only about a two minute walk to the famous shoreline where you could hear the music of the ocean.

We ate dinner at the restaurant and began a prolonged discussion with both the waiter and the front desk person about Croatia, the war and how hard it hit Zadar. The city went two years w/o electricity or water and the feelings are intense and close to the surface.

We found the Croatians to be worldly, well educated and extremely comfortable w/their English. This night and our long conversations was one of the most poignant of our trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SBPinotFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zadar hotels
6.6 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera
1.3 mi away
Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik
1.4 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mediteran
Mediteran
#2 of 21 in Zadar
301 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Kolovare
Hotel Kolovare
#10 of 21 in Zadar
377 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#8 of 21 in Zadar
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bastion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bastion

Property: Hotel Bastion
Address: Bedemi Zadarskih Pobuna 13, Zadar 23000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Zadar County > Zadar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Zadar
#2 Business Hotel in Zadar
#4 Luxury Hotel in Zadar
#5 Romantic Hotel in Zadar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bastion 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bastion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastion Hotel Zadar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing