We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, charming staff”
Review of Hotel Bastion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bastion
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Zadar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The Bastion is a beautiful hotel. The restaurant, lobby and rooms are all decorated very tastefully. Although I will agree with other viewers that the price is quite high, it is in an ideal location - a short walk to everything you will want to see in Zadar. If you have room in your travel budget for a splurge during your Croatian vacation, this would be one of the places to do it.

Fortunately, there are some parking spaces reserved for hotel guests as parking otherwise can be tricky. Once you park, though, you won't need to use your car again for the duration of your stay. The included breakfast is delicious - I can highly recommend the omelettes! I understand dinner is also delicious, but we ate at the sister hotel (Art Hotel Kalelarga) which was excellent. Finally, I found the staff at the hotel to be extremely friendly and willing to help in whatever way they could.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EBradley7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (539)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 539 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013

Definitely agree with the other reviewers that the hotel is perfectly situated in Zadar. You're in a great location, right in the heart of the old city and nothing is more than a 15 minute walk away from the property. Overall we really enjoyed our stay, but I think the price point is high for this hotel.

We were upgraded to a suite upon arrival, which was a lovely surprise. Our suite was spacious, comfortable and had very hip decoration. Despite being located across the street from a popular lounge/bar, the room was perfectly quiet at night.

The lobby of the hotel is a bit odd. It felt cramped and was strangely decorated. The same goes for the indoor part of the restaurant, although this may be a product of the building having previously been a fortress.

Breakfast was quite good, with cold and hot options and plenty of choices. It was also really nice to have the breakfast included with the room rate. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant and were able to sit on the rooftop terrace, which was absolutely lovely (although again, comparatively expensive ).

Overall, we were a bit disappointed by Zadar, but if you're going to be there anyway and don't mind spending the money, you'll enjoy the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The Bastion is ideally situated in the old part of Zadar. The room was comfortable and very well air-conditioned (nice as the late July temperatures were in mid-30s). All staff were helpful and friendly. We had a very good dinner on the terrace - and also at the sister Art Hotel - both recommended. Also, for seafood lovers, try Fosa - a great location and excellent lobster/fish.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in a lovely part of Zadar, with the fabulous Garden bar across the road. Excellent service, lovely rooms, great breakfast - what else does one need? Harbour views from many rooms add to the pleasure of a stay at this hotel. Wellness centre also good, with small gym, and excellent Finnish sauna.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMP070866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I loved this place. Small and classy, it just wants to make you come back for more. Located perfectly-a short walk to the sea organ (less than five minutes) with views overlooking the harbor. The attitude of the whole staff I think set the tone that made me enjoy my stay there so much. Patient, informative, friendly...I can't say enough about how those folks behind the desk enhanced my stay.
Breakfasts were excellent-lots of variety and a willingness to cook things for you if they weren't already set out.
I felt that I could just exit out the front door and walk easily to anywhere I wanted to go in Zadar. The Bastion for me felt safe, classy, and welcoming. I'd stay there again for sure if lucky enough to return to Zadar.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We recently spent three nights here and wished we could have stayed longer. The hotel is very stylish,our room was comfortable and spotlessly clean, and we had a side view of the sea and the ferries.The hotel is built on the remains of a medieval fortress and some of the original walls are incorporated into the building. There are two terraces for outdoor eating and drinking and from the upper one there is a view of the sea. We had two evening meals here and the food was excellent with an emphasis on local produce. The service was very good, the staff could not have been more helpful. It is within easy walking distance of the main attractions--highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Youngtyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Great location in the Old Town, and metres from the ferries to the islands (max 100m). Very friendly reception and restaurant staff. Very comfortable room and bathroom. Breakfast was ok - nothing special. Had dinner in the restaurant on the outdoor terrace - very good. Price reasonable overall.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claverdon_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zadar hotels
6.6 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera
0.1 mi away
Almayer Art & Heritage Hotel
1.2 mi away
Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Niko
Hotel Niko
#3 of 22 in Zadar
333 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mediteran
Mediteran
#4 of 22 in Zadar
328 reviews
1.4 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bastion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bastion

Address: Bedemi Zadarskih Pobuna 13, Zadar 23000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Zadar County > Zadar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Zadar
#4 Luxury Hotel in Zadar
#5 Romantic Hotel in Zadar
Price Range: $126 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bastion 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bastion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastion Hotel Zadar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing