We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent boutique hotel”
Review of Hotel Bastion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bastion
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Zadar
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent boutique hotel”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in a lovely part of Zadar, with the fabulous Garden bar across the road. Excellent service, lovely rooms, great breakfast - what else does one need? Harbour views from many rooms add to the pleasure of a stay at this hotel. Wellness centre also good, with small gym, and excellent Finnish sauna.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMP070866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    150
    34
    8
    5
See reviews for
63
276
15
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I loved this place. Small and classy, it just wants to make you come back for more. Located perfectly-a short walk to the sea organ (less than five minutes) with views overlooking the harbor. The attitude of the whole staff I think set the tone that made me enjoy my stay there so much. Patient, informative, friendly...I can't say enough about how those folks behind the desk enhanced my stay.
Breakfasts were excellent-lots of variety and a willingness to cook things for you if they weren't already set out.
I felt that I could just exit out the front door and walk easily to anywhere I wanted to go in Zadar. The Bastion for me felt safe, classy, and welcoming. I'd stay there again for sure if lucky enough to return to Zadar.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barkway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We recently spent three nights here and wished we could have stayed longer. The hotel is very stylish,our room was comfortable and spotlessly clean, and we had a side view of the sea and the ferries.The hotel is built on the remains of a medieval fortress and some of the original walls are incorporated into the building. There are two terraces for outdoor eating and drinking and from the upper one there is a view of the sea. We had two evening meals here and the food was excellent with an emphasis on local produce. The service was very good, the staff could not have been more helpful. It is within easy walking distance of the main attractions--highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Youngtyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Great location in the Old Town, and metres from the ferries to the islands (max 100m). Very friendly reception and restaurant staff. Very comfortable room and bathroom. Breakfast was ok - nothing special. Had dinner in the restaurant on the outdoor terrace - very good. Price reasonable overall.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claverdon_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

One of the best hotel stays I have ever experienced. Very few times in my life have i experienced "genuine service", where the staff really seams to care about you and your well being. The staff at Hotel Bastion could not have been more accommodating and pleasurable to interact with. This is an upscale, well appointed, modern hotel without pretense. Great location in the heart of old town Zadar (especially convenient if you arrive by ferry). Excellent food, both at the complimentary breakfast and at dinner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
110 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We arrived from an early morning flight well before check in time, but they found us a room and when we decided that was too small, moved us to a suite. Typical of the friendly and helpful service we found everywhere in this hotel. The room was spotless and extremely comfortable, with a view of the ferries right outside, but far enough away not to be annoying. We had no trouble sleeping there, but I would not like to try it when the open air night club across the road is functioning.. The bathroom was very nice, too, and both it and the room had everything expected of a hotel of this standard.
Breakfast was varied and substantial, and the brave could take it on the terrace.

Within easy walking distance of everything in Zadar, especially of the harbour.

The only place to stay, really.

Room Tip: Avoid the front in the summer. The night club across the road makes the room facing it no go areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akathistos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Really nice hotel, friendly helpful staff, great location right in the heart of the old town. We had a five night break here and could not be more impressed with this place, nice decor, helpful staff, nice food and wellness facilities. I would recommend without hesitation.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steeeeeeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zadar hotels
6.6 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera
1.2 mi away
Hotel Niko
Hotel Niko
#3 of 21 in Zadar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
1.3 mi away
Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana
1.3 mi away
Mediteran
Mediteran
#5 of 21 in Zadar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#8 of 21 in Zadar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bastion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bastion

Property: Hotel Bastion
Address: Bedemi Zadarskih Pobuna 13, Zadar 23000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Zadar County > Zadar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Zadar
#2 Business Hotel in Zadar
#2 Luxury Hotel in Zadar
#5 Romantic Hotel in Zadar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bastion 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Bastion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastion Hotel Zadar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing