We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid hotel, great location”
Review of Hotel Bastion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Bastion
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Zadar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed two nights and loved the location in old town. Everything is walkable. And with the right room, you overlook the ferry harbor and can watch the boats come and go. The hotel is small with a pleasant bar and nice dining room, with a lovely patio for drinks and dining. The location could be noisy in season, right across from a popular nightspot.
The rooms were dark, and the colors made them seem old fashioned and out of date. The lighting, particularly bedside was inadequate for reading. While the bed was comfortable there was no room for clothes and luggage storage. A disappointment. The bathroom was large with bath and shower, tho the shower was hard to use given how it was located on the long side of the tub. Breakfast was alright tho not great, lacking in fresh fruit. The staff was uniformly helpful, professional and pleasant. I debated whether to give the hotel a 4 rating but the lack of storage and lighting keeps my rating at an average

Room Tip: Facing the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chicago60604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (544)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 544 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful boutique hotel situated in a great position being near the harbour and in the old town. The staff were very friendly and professional. A lot of effort has gone in to decorating the hotel, it is very sympathic to the heritage building and matches superbly. Rooms were well appointed and very clean. Dinner and breakfast were excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Bastion

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cellito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Characterful hotel in the old city - a great location. Our room had a side view of the water which was nice (a front view would have been better but we needed 2 beds not one). Loved the inner non-rendered ancient stone wall. Room very dark unfortunately but otherwise fine. The staff were very helpful and after an initial minor hiccup which was sorted out quickly (they had no record of my emails and confirmations for a room with a 2nd bed) we got helpful maps and directions to go off and explore. Breakfast was also good. And the Kastel restaurant was fabulous!!

Room Tip: ask for room with sea view - our side room was a little dark (but the rain may have played a part in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nellamay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is an awesome hotel if you love cigarette smoke. Evidently the management allows people to smoke wherever they please. I encountered smoking in the dining room during dinner time, lobby and smelled smoke in my room first thing in the morning, There are plenty of no smoking signs which I am guessing is a requirement by law but not enforced or followed.
Rooms are small but nicely appointed.
Wish I could give higher marks but the smoking issue is very hard to deal with.
American guests beware !

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SSxon777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We spent 2 nights in this boutque hotel and had a comfortable, quiet room. Rooms were not luxurious but quite lovely. Our room overlooked the outdoor cafe, which I imagine would have been noisy in season. Breakfast was fine, not sumptuous. The staff was knowledgable and friendly. We walked everywhere and kept returning to the sea organ, which is unique and amazing. I am not sure what one would do with a car because streets are narrow and did not have much parking.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, not overlooking outdoor restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mxalpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This boutique hotel is situated in the old town and cleverly incorporates one of the bastions of the old walls. All the sights of the old town are within easy walking distance. However, the first room we were given looked out over the rundown neighbouring building and the rubbish bins belonging to a neighbouring bar and it was very noisy. We had to insist quite firmly before we were
moved the following night to a seafront room. Both rooms, although not large, were attractively decorated and well appointed but we felt it was wrong to charge the same price for the noisy room with no view. We found the food in the Kastel Restaurant was excellent, some of the best we have found in Croatia. We ate outside on the little terrace on the actual bastion which is raised and has a lovely view over the water towards the newer part of town.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MLL79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Nice hotel, centrally located in Zadar, near Sea Organ and in old town. The staff was extremely friendly, they were fantastic. Lovely bedrooms, very confortable and clean. Good breakfast.
Hotel a little more expensive but still good value.
Not good wifi internet, it doesn't work adequately in room.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robertoleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zadar hotels
0.1 mi away
Almayer Art & Heritage Hotel
1.4 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana
6.6 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mediteran
Mediteran
#3 of 22 in Zadar
329 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Niko
Hotel Niko
#5 of 22 in Zadar
335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Apartments - Integrated Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bastion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bastion

Address: Bedemi Zadarskih Pobuna 13, Zadar 23000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Zadar County > Zadar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Zadar
#3 Luxury Hotel in Zadar
#5 Romantic Hotel in Zadar
Price Range: $131 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bastion 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bastion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastion Hotel Zadar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing