We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful”
Review of Apartments Petra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apartments Petra
Ranked #6 of 309 Specialty Lodging in Zadar
Belfast
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful”
Reviewed May 22, 2011

I often review my holidays on trip advisor but feel there needs to be an exceptional rating for those places that go above and beyond with their hospitality and this is definatly the case at Apartment Petra.

The warmth we were shown by Ileana made us all feel as though we were staying with family I even shed a tear when we left. She cooked dinner for us, whipped up chocolate pancakes, walked us the the shops, and shared her stories with us. She makes her own cherry brandy and limoncello all grown from her beautiful garden.

The apartments themselves are very spacious and clean and set in beautiful grounds, it tekes 5 minutes to walk to the beach, we ate in Sima the local pizzeria twice and cooked our own barbacue at Petra. There is a great barbacue area and Ileana will provide you with all the plates etc.

So for a relaxed and friendly holiday you cant beat here, thank you Ileana it was a privilage to stay with you.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
57
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2011

We returned home from a wonderful 5 night stay at the Apartmani Petra.

We were pleasantly welcomed by Ileana with a lovely sherry drink and information on Zadar and were treated to drinks every evening.

We were upgraded to a sea view apartment at no extra charge; it was an ultra clean apartment.
We enjoyed the delicious Cherry strudels Ileana prepared for us one afternoon.
We will definitely return to the Apartmani Petra should we visit Zadar again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzy022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2010

I picked this placed based on the reviews I'd read and I must say I was not disappointed at all. Ileana Kolanovic is such a wonderful host. She makes you feel comfortable and welcomed. The apartment was extremely clean, big and had all the amenities one would require during their stay. Yes it was difficult to find the place and it took us almost 30 mins to locate it but if you have a GPS or a phone there's nothing to worry about. Upon arrival Ileana greeted us with her special "Sherry" drink which was truly yummy. She also did not take the money upfront and told us to pay when we leave and just enjoy her place and surroundings. It takes about 10 mins to get to Old Town and I much preferred living in the Borik area (where the apartment is located) rather than in Old town especially since I had a car and parking is expensive outside the Old town gates. The beach is literally 2 mins away and the breeze from the sea is just wonderful. By staying at Ileana's I did not have to worry about parking as she has a pretty big parking accommodation. The price we paid for this place is a steal and I would absolutely recommend living here rather than a hotel. It's like a home away from home.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lajja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

Ileana was very welcoming, with maps of Zadar, restaurant recommendations and her home made cherry brandy.

The apartment was spacious, very clean and had stunning viewe of the Adriatic. Breakfast on the balcony was a particular pleasure.

Only slight downside is its a couple of miles to the old town but this seems standard for virtually all accomodation in Zadar. Plus there is plenty of parking in the town, frequent buses for the short journey or its a cheap taxi (although worth booking on a sat as in short supply).

Would happily visit again.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moods_Notts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leixlip, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

All comments are true. Ileana is the most welcoming hostess I have ever met. She walks with you to the beach, to the restaurant , to the bus stop. She rescued two Irish people who could not find their accommodation; brought them to her apartment to use the internet the walked them to their apartment. A lovely lady. We had a studio. Perfect for two with a lovely view and a fine balcony. Spotless. We highly recommend this apartment.
Remember to bring water shoes, or crocs as most beach areas are stony. hard on the feet but once in the water is warm and clear.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marianflee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2010

Having read previous reviews we had high expectations of Apartmani Petra and we were not disappointed. Ileana is a treasure and exactly the right sort of person to be your hostess.She made everyone so welcome, was always there to answer queries, gave us lots of helpful advice and lots of limoncella. She is such a warm person and she helped to make the holiday.
Apartment 4 had a fantastic view of the Adriatic and we found it equipped with all that we needed. The bedlinen and towels were spotless and there was ample storage space. It was light and airy and the air conditioning was a great bonus as it was very hot at the end of June.
Yes it is about a 15 min walk to the bus stop but the service was good and only cost 13 kuna for a return trip. We used local transport to explore the area and this worked out well. The old town of Zadar was a very pleasant and interesting place. You must buy the ice cream. It is fantastic.
We will certainly return to stay here and renew our friendship with Ieana. One of the best holidays we have had.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALAN_RUTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2010

I stayed in aparment 1 (2+2) and I fully recommend this appartment, Ileana the mos frendly person I found in Croacia. When we arrived she had prepared broschures for us about the city, things to do in Zadar and explained us everything that we needed, bus lines, restaurants, supermarket, bus ticktets, taxi, etc.
The aparment is very clean, in the house there is a computer with internet for the guests (free of charge), the apartment has one air conditioner in the living room. The only thing is that one of the room has a sofa not a bed.
The place is really calm but a bit far from the old town, may be 30 minutes walking. We used bus, the ticket for two persons is 13 kunas. Also for going to the beach can take you 10 minutes walking. But for the price I really recommed this pleace.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sol_azul04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zadar hotels
0.6 mi away
Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik
0.3 mi away
Mediteran
Mediteran
#2 of 21 in Zadar
301 reviews
5.3 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#8 of 21 in Zadar
95 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Nico
Hotel Villa Nico
#11 of 21 in Zadar
70 reviews
1.7 mi away
Boutique Hostel Forum
Boutique Hostel Forum
#1 of 309 in Zadar
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments Petra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Petra

Property: Apartments Petra
Address: Ulica Roberta Frangesha-Mihanovica 63, Zadar 23000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Zadar County > Zadar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 309 Specialty Lodging in Zadar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartments Petra 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments Petra are nestled on the Dalmatian coastline, more specifically in Borik the most attractive and interesting part of the historical city of Zadar. Our apartments are situated in a private villa, located just 400 meters from the shoreline with majestic views of Zadar channel and the island of Ugljan. Borik is a well-known tourist destination with numerous beaches, promenades, restaurants and renowned hotel and camping areas offering an array of sports and social activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apartments Petra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing