We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“highs and lows”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Verudela Beach & Villa Resort
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Pula
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“highs and lows”
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Drove via central Pula. Not easily found - post signposting - if in doubt head to the centre and then head south .Verudela beach resort not clearly marked as part of bigger complex - Punta Verudela. Go through the barrier and turn left up a slight incline towards reception.
The apartment itself was also a little difficult to find.Take the perimeter path if you can as less hilly and fewer steps.
Our appartment ground floor and was 2 blocks back from the sea front. I booked through expedia and the categories were not clearly marked.Would recommend get 'sea-facing' if you can.We were unable to upgrade.The appartment was pretty old fashioned and i suspect had changed little from the 80s.Having said that it was well fitted out with decent sized fridge and planty of kitchen utensiles - no cleaners.Everthing was clean apart from the bed-settee which smelled strongly of sweat.Air conditioning was extra using a pay card.
The terrage was very spacious with agrden furniture and dryer etc.Warning - lots of mosquitos.Everyone we saw seemed to have angry looking bites on their legs.There is a supermarket in the shopping precinct near the reception.staff were really friendly but they didn't seem to have much fresh produce - bread etc.The rest of the precinct was a pretty soulless sort of place.
There was a pool complex c/w cafe and bar and 'entertainment' at night.There are a few bars etc dotted around the peninsula. The Yacht club serves great food at lunch (close at 6pm). The twin bars on the west coast Ambrella and E&D (I think) had great views but indifferent staff who twice wandered off 'forgetting' to bring our change. The food is very basic stuff. The friendliest bar/cafe was the on on the south coast by the lighthouse.This is a great place to watch the sun go down and (2nd week Sept) we had a great bonus of seeing a couple of dolphins here just as the sun was going down.
Best food by miles was the 'Taverna' restaurant at the Histria restaurant.Not that much more expensive than everywhere else but great food and great staff who care.
Overall a low price no frills option.Plenty of scope for doing things on site and great for families though please note there are plenty of cliffs around.Look out for the dolphins and bring the mozzie spray.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TKPUNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Manager at Verudela Beach & Villa Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Dear Sirs,
We would like to thank you for your detailed review of our hotel. Verudela is part of the Punta Verudela complex and therefore ambiguity is often the case when looking for our resort. A new part of the highway (called Istrian ypsilon) has been finished recently and therefore new signs have been put into practice. We hope this will help our guests to reach our facilities.
We are sorry to hear you were unable to upgrade your room, these are things which are very relative and depend on the availabilty on that exact day and we cannot always influence them.
Also we are extreamly sorry to hear that you found many mosquitos. Being situated on the very north of the Mediterranean Istria has got that climate where mosquitos are present. But as you have mentioned not only mosquitos are inhabitants of our pennisula but also beautiful animals like dolphins. We are glad you had the possibility to enjoy such a scenery and thus bring home nice memories from your holiday.
We are also pleased to inform you that renovation works are planned for this complex during the next years.
Best regards,
Arenaturist management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    62
    21
    5
    2
See reviews for
74
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halle, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

My sister and I went on a trip to Croatia between 12/09/2011 - 17/09/2011. She is still a student, so she want to hold the budget as low as possible. We saw the Verudela beach & villa resort first on www.booking.com. It looked very nice, the location, the facilities, the accomodation and the pictures. The revieuws on Tripadvisor where good, so we booked this hotel.

We arrived at the airport of Pula. We had to use the public transport to get to the hotel. I must say that it was very easy to get to the hotel. At the airport, there is a shuttle bus to Pula Kolodvor. This is the place where the most of public busses stops. We red on tripadvisor that the busses 2 and 3 were the right one to the hotel. From Pula Kolodvor to the hotel you have to take bus 2. Bus 3 is the good bus for the other direction (hotel to Pula Kolodvor). You pay 11 kuna for 1 person. The bus stop is named VERUDELA.

The check-in in the hotel was very nice. The reception was friendly, very helpfull, and quick.
When we arrived to our appartment, we were supprised. It was not that big, bus it was enough for two persons. I would mention that we reserved an appartment for 4 persons, but we think it is a little bit small with 4 adults. In the app. we had a little kitchen with the most of the things we need. The bathroom was also small, but good enough for us. In the bedroom, the only thing that was a little bit negative where the hard beds. It didn't disturbed our sleep, but at the morning we had a little bit of pain at our back. The appartments are close to the sea en in the nature.

During the 5 full days we stayed there we had one time they came to change the towels. The only thing I think they forgot was the toilet paper. The last day we had almost a problem. :-)
The facilities: there are a few restaurants, a little supermarket and shops nearby the reception. At the evening/ night there is a night club nearby. The resort has 2 big pools. Positive: in September there were not too much people. Negative: the steps in the pool were dirty and the lighing chairs were not free. There is an animation team for adults and kids. At the evening there was a karaoke, dancing, ...at the pool.

Conclusion: a good place to stay for young and old. Also perfect for families and friends. It was verry good for the money that we payed. We would deffenitly go back to this resort. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Tamara011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Manager at Verudela Beach & Villa Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Dear Mrs, Miss,
We are very happy and pleased to hear you had spent great time in our hotel and especially the fact that you would recommend it as a good place to stay with a balance between the price and the quality. It is our pleasure to say we also take every critic very seriously and try to use it in order to improve our service. As per the cleaning and toilet paper you should have asked for some directly on our reception, we are sure our staff would have helped you. Until we see you again in one of our facilities we send you our best regards.
Arenaturist management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Just back from this resort.

All in all had a really nice time, resort is pretty big with lots of hotels, restaurants and swimming pools. It is more expensive than downtown Pula but I suppose convenience costs.

Lots of places to swim, no sandy beaches, it's all rocks or pebbles, didn't bother us but may bother some. Snorkelling was pretty good.

Apartment was ok, clean, good shower, not much in the way of cooking facilities (3 electric hobs), beds were quite hard and the 'pillows' not up to much. No kettle, but for tea you can just run hot water through the coffee maker that's provided, take your own teabags!! I ran out of Tetleys and couldn't find any UK brands on site. We went for a sea view and are so glad we did!

Our fellow holiday makers were nearly all German, only met 2 other UK parties in the week we were there, so don't expect much socialising, pretty much all the locals speak English tho' so no worries there.

Pula is well worth a visit in the day and the evening, special mention to the ice cream parlour 25 metres past the historic arch going towards the forum square, the servers in there do 'cocktail bar' type tricks with the ice cream, very entertaining. Last bus goes back to Verudela at 2240, we made a lot of use of the bus service, including a trip to Rovinj (well worth it, especially the church), buses go from the bus station every hour.

Went on a boat tour on our last day and personally was less than impressed, we went on the boat 'Ana' - they take you on a trip around the Bryoni Islands and drop you on on of the islands then pick you up later, it's nothing special although the snorkelling was good. Lunch on the boat was very poor value and drinks on the island were very expensive from the only outlet there (about £1.70 for a coke) so take your own picnic would be my advice.

All in all I'd go back no problem, but I'd like to fly with someone other than Ryan Air - £40 for 15kg of luggage is outrageous in my opinion.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobbieEly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Manager at Verudela Beach & Villa Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Dear guest,
We thank you for you review and are very glad to hear that you had a great time whilst staying in our resort. The town of Pula is indeed worth visiting for many reasons, whether we talked about beautiful nature, stunning landscape sceneries, crystal clear sea perfect for snorkeling (glad you enjoyed that) but as well historic sites together with a rich cultural heritage.
Our staff is making their best effort to help our guests in whatever might be their needs and every positive critic about that encourages them in order to continue doing so.
We are sorry you didn't enjoy your local boat trips, unfortunately they are mostly handled by private owners and we cannot do much to improve the service
Hoping to see you again in one of our facilities we send you our best regards.
Arenaturist management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

We have just returned from a very enjoyable trip - staying at the Verudela beach resort. As there wasn’t a huge amount of info on TA I hope this may help.

On arrival we had been advised that the Taxi would cost approximately twenty pounds, when speaking with a taxi driver (slightly rude) I was told that the fare would be nearer thirty pounds. After a very brief discussion and again being told it was impossible to get to Verudela for less than thirty pounds we opted to get the bus into the centre.

The bus was only a few pounds (11 Kuna I think) and took about twenty minutes. On arrival we then jumped into a cab and was charged just 100 Kuna to get to the resort. You can jump on a 3 or 2 bus for another 11 Kuna, but as we had just arrived we were unsure of where the busses went from.

On arrival the reception gave us our key, then gave some rather vague directions to get to the apartment. I think 90% of guests arrive by car - so the hotel may not use to be giving directions for guests that are walking, anyway after approximately a twenty minute walk with suitcases (and a few wrong turns) we arrived at the apartment.

The apartments were off a nice size with everything you might need. Air Con was extra but we opted to sleep with the windows open and, this was fine in June.
The only negative is that we didn’t see a maid during the time we were there, I think that they may only clean the apartments once per week.

There are a few restaurants on site that cater well if you like pizza and pasta dishes. We ate in a restaurant on the sea front in Verudela called Ambrella - the food and wine were good, however, we had a rather nasty shock at the end of the meal - being informed that the restaurant didn’t accept debit or credit cards. As we had no cash, I had to walk a round trip of nearly an hour to find an ATM and withdraw cash, whilst the restaurant kept my partner as “insurance” This could have been avoided if the reception would have informed you that the restaurants do not take credit cards, or a brief mention on the menu!
Anyway don’t let that put you off just take cash.

In front of this restaurant you can hire a couple of beds an umbrella for approximately 90 Kuna for the day, but the beds do not come with mattresses and none are available for hire?? Perhaps it’s just me that likes to lay on a comfy bed??

Other average prices both in the town and resort are:
Fish 250 Kuna
Mussels 50 Kuna for half a kilo
Pizza 40 Kuna
Pasta 50 Kuna
Beer 20 Kuna
Wine 80 Kuna a litre
Taxi from Pula - Airport 120 Kuna
BTW you can go into the hotels for a breakfast which was about 50 Kunas pp. The best we found was the Histria.
Overall a nice short break, and would defiantly return some day.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank topcat1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Manager at Verudela Beach & Villa Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Dear guest,
We are very delighted to read you review and would like to thank you for all the useful information you have given for those who might be our future guests with similar necessities as yours.
Taxi drivers are private companies in Croatia and our hotels do not have direct contracts with them but there is a possibility to email the hotel before arriving and asking about various and best options when it comes to transport to our hotel.
Cleaning service is as you realize a one time per week in our apartments whereas in hotel rooms it is more often than once a week. However, there is a possibility to have your apartment cleaned more than once a week upon payment. Thank you for the notice about hard bed and swimming pool mattresses, we will definitely take that into consideration before opening for the 2012 summer season.
Hoping to see you soon in one of our hotels, camping sites or apartments we send you our best regards.
Arenaturist management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

we were situated in two bedroom apartmant. it was clean and very nice. Furniture and everything in apartmant is quite new. We had a big balcony park view, but we were very sorry we didn't pay extra 6 euros and book an apartmant with sea view,
Resort is very big, like a little town, and you have evrything you need in it. There is a big grosery shop, little suvenir shops, resorans, bars, tennis corts....
Dogs are wellcom, you have to pay 10 euros per day which is too much, but.....
We realy like it, and it is a good place to come back

Room Tip: take a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Custa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Manager at Verudela Beach & Villa Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Dear guest,
We thank you very much for your positive review of our facility and hope we will be again your hosts when coming to Croatia. Apartments with a sea view are indeed worth every extra penny paid. As per dogs it is upon payment because it requires additional cleaning of spaces since the pet and non pet areas in our hotel do not exist.
Hoping to see you again in one of our hotels, apartments or camping sites we send you our best regards.
Arenaturist management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This was our first trip to Croatia and we knew nothing about Istria, the region in which this complex is situated. Our trip was partly to attend a wedding and also as a holiday. It is a wonderful area with some spectacular scenery and crystal clear seas. We stayed in an 8 person villa with 2 bathrooms and 3 bedrooms, a fourth room doubled-up as a further sleeping/living area. At best this is adequate accommodation for only 6 people, and four would be preferable. The accommodation is definitely no more than 3 star, so correctly rated. Clean and in a wonderful location and extremely convenient for Pula town itself, as buses run frequently from just outside to complex gates. It has lots of facilities for families, divers and if you want a relaxing time. We got a deal on cost, and we would not have been happy to pay the going rate which seems extortionate given the basic nature of the villas. However we had a great time, loved the courteousness and friendliness of the Croatian people and will definitely go back, although maybe not to this particular complex.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank gericUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2010

We travelled from Stanstead to Pula and stayed here 3 nights/4 days and it was not long enough!!! It is located near a wooded area right next to the sea. It was hot enough to wear shorts and swim in the sea in October! Absolutely beautiful with beautiful scenery, good food, nice people and not too many English :-) Apartment had a nice balcony to eat breakfast looking at the sea. Nice hot shower and nice modern bathroom. The pub/restuarant near the bus stop was good value (you must try the croatian mixed grill and the calamari - not sure about the risotto which was a bit undercooked), nice beer and great deserts relaxing location : staff were so chilled did not even bother us unless we asked them for something.

Town is nice with nice harbour area and the Arena - we also ate in the forum area which was around £4 for calamari + sides (yes had it twice it was so good here) - drinks a bit more expensive in forum with coke same price as beer. Beers come in 1litre or 1/2 litre here so be careful lol.

We have been to plenty of places in europe and the world but this really was stunning - If you want a nice break away from the hassle of london/work/rat race etc where you can have a few drinks, sit by the sea, eat good food and see some stuff but in a place that has not yet been totally discovered, this is the place to go.

Coach goes from airport to hotel and back quit easily .........

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank madmaxjedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pula
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Histria Pula
0.2 mi away
Park Plaza Arena Pula
0.7 mi away
Splendid Golden Rocks Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Brioni Hotel
Brioni Hotel
#16 of 31 in Pula
256 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Vulin
Villa Vulin
#7 of 31 in Pula
41 reviews
5.6 mi away
Park Plaza Belvedere Medulin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verudela Beach & Villa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verudela Beach & Villa Resort

Property: Verudela Beach & Villa Resort
Address: Ulica Verudella 11, Pula 52100, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Pula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Verudela Beach & Villa Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The idyllic peace and tranquility of Verudela Beach, harmoniously set amidst pine trees and medicinal Mediterranean plants, transforms your holidays into a delightful experience surrounded by nature. Most Croatia holiday rentals offer a splendid and soothing view of the sea and are located at Punta Verudela resort just a few steps from Mediterranean vegetation and a seafront promenade. These holiday apartments in Croatia are the perfect Adriatic destination for families with children and all guests who want to enjoy the sun, sea, entertainment and the various facilities of the Park Plaza Verudela holiday resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Verudela Beach & Villa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verudela Beach And Villa Resort
Verudela Beach & Villa Hotel Pula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing