We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
FindHotel
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveler rating
32
86
53
25
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
32
86
53
25
28
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 224 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2018 via mobile

Just returned from a weeks stay at Splendid resort Pula. Apartment was nice and spacious and room sea view amazing. Good kitchen facilities although no toaster, kettle or oven!
Bathroom very dated and shower quite small and dangerous to get in/out of. Apartment wasn’t serviced once when we were there although did get fresh towels.

We arrived at the resort around 12pm. Woman at reception (Svetlana or something similar) was very abrupt and not friendly. Not giving a great impression on arrival to our accommodation. We were told we couldn’t check in until 4pm. She didn’t even advise on where we could get food or a drink and we had to hang around waiting for 4 hours! We collected our keys later- she gave us a map of complex. No directions, little help in getting to apartment.
Apartment complex very hilly- not suitable for older people- lots of stairs. My mum struggled with the stairs and this lack of easy accessibility really should be specified in the complex specifications.
Splendid resort only has one small supermarket (open 8-4) and very few places to eat. Not a lot of variety. Buffet option at one place very expensive.
Big big criticisms- 1) having to pay for air conditioning. Never in my life have I stayed in a place they charge for air con!!! 2) charging for sun bed use! 40kuna per day plus an umbrella! Ridiculous!
Overall ok but not fantastic.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
3  Thank LJMGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arena_Hospitality, Manager at Splendid Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us.
We are pleased to know you had a pleasant stay and that you were satisfied with the spacious apartment, the amenities we offer and the beautiful sea view.
However, we would like to apologize for the inappropriate behaviour of some of our team members and having to pay for the air conditioning and sunbeds. Regarding our team member, such attitude is not in line with our standards and please rest assured that your comment will be taken very seriously. Our hotel is usually highly praised for its hospitality and outstanding service; therefore we are very sorry to know that you had a different experience.
With hope to get another opportunity to welcome you, we are sending you our best regards.
Splendid Golden Rocks Resort Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2018

Food is terrible!! I think they use frozen food then microwave it :( after 2 meals we never ate there again. You have to pay for airco in the room 5 euro a day. chair by the pool 6 euro umbrella extra etc etc clean towels every three days no wifi in the rooms . Stayed 12 days it was never cleaned. Ended up renting a car and travelling along the coast

Date of stay: June 2018
Thank leeloo2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Manager at Splendid Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2018

Dear Guest,
thank you for taking your time to share your impressions with us.
We are very sorry to know you were left disappointed with some aspects of your stay. It makes us very sad to know you were not satisfied with our gastronomic offer, as well as with the cleanliness.
Splendid Golden Rocks is a self-catering resort, not a hotel and as such has different housekeeping standards in certain aspects. We are very sorry to know that this misunderstanding downgraded your entire experience.
We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we will take your comments very seriously and discuss them internally as there is always room for improvement.
We sincerely hope that you will reconsider visiting us again so that we can give you the exceptional experience that you should have received on your first visit.
Kind regards,
Splendid Golden Rocks Resort Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2018

nice apartments stayed in c block lovely views over the bay. we went half board lovely food good choice would recomend having half board. lots of steps would not recomend this property to any body with walking difficulties. staff all very nice and very helpful

Room tip: try get c block with lovely views of the bay 3rd floor
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
1  Thank davıd j
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Manager at Splendid Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2018

Dear Mr. David,
thank you for sharing your impressions regarding your recent stay at Splendid Golden Rocks Resort.
It is wonderful to know you had a satisfying stay with us and enjoyed the gastronomic offer and the surrounding.
We are looking forward to welcoming you for another memorable stay.
Kind regards,
Splendid Golden Rocks Resort Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2017

Not really what we signed up for pictures on website we booked with were deceiving as is the name splendid hotel as its not a hotel its more like croatia version of butlins with scruffy chalet style apartments spread over a large wooded area and there seemed to be a lot of school trips there whilst we were there so there was a lot of unruly teenagers running around and messing about particularly in the half board restaurant. Apartments were better than they looked from the outside were basic (as a lot of Croatian hotels can be) but cleanish till you look a little closer. We always say it doesn't really matter as you only sleep in your room but the way this resort was set out if the weather was bad as it was for us over a couple of days there is nothing to do but stay in the room as everything is spread over a large area so had to walk on muddy foot paths with broken steps which were not well lit when it was dark and were pretty dangerous. The day we arrived we were told checkin wasn't till 4pm but the room could be ready earlier to come back at 2.30pm we arrived at 12 noon and it was pouring with rain and the reception area which is a little hut a good few hundred yards from anything was tiny and crammed full of people waiting for checkin as there was no where else to go. The staff all spoke pretty good English and were very helpful. The room was not cleaned the whole time we were there and after running out of toilet roll we had to trek up to the reception to get more as this was not done often enough, after this every few days fresh towels and a toilet roll were left in the main living area but the dirty towels were not taken. We were told this was because it is classed as a self catering resort rather than a hotel however the shop which if you were self catering shut at 2.30pm where as most sites we have visited have had shops open till 10pm which is what you expect for those unexpected bits you may need. The restaurant was okay, the staff were very nice and at the beginning of the week the choice of food was very good but as the week went on the selection got less and less and half way through the week they ran out of white wine what sort of hotel runs out of wine! Also although most of the food was good some of it was not very warm. The pool was nice in a nice area overlooking the sea and also access straight down to the sea from the pool area although most of the beach areas were very rocky and slippery and only found two areas with steps provided. Also had to pay for sun loungers around £3-£4 a day which I thought was very cheeky. The pool was absolutely icy, the coldest pool we have ever been in at a hotel complex we only used it on the one day due to this as the sea was warmer and cheaper. Had a very large TV in the main living area which had over 400 channels on it but only channels we could watch were a couple of news and music channels and when the weather is bad and you are stuck in your room theres only so much news and music you can take so please get more English channels for the many English guests you had. Was pretty cold in the evenings when the weather was bad and the air conditioning/heating again was not free. The showers were pretty quick as the water pressure was very low and didn't stay warm for very long. We didn't take any children with us and didn't look at the sports facilities but all those we did see were not open and the kids club main entertainment area were deserted and pretty desolate.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Manager at Splendid Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2018

Dear Ms. Karen,
We appreciate you taking your time to share your impressions with us.
We are really sorry that some aspects of your stay left you disappointed.
As you know Splendid is indeed a resort, not a hotel and staying in a resort differs from staying in a hotel mainly in the aspects you mentioned.
We want to apologize for the misunderstanding and use this opportunity to invite you to check our official website arenaturist.com where you can find numerous accommodation options in Pula and Medulin which might better suit you.
We hope that despite the negatives encountered, we will get the opportunity to host you again and improve your opinion on our resort.
Best regards,
Splendid Golden Rocks Resort Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2017 via mobile

Ok, so we just got back from this holiday and its was a pleasant surprise. The apartment was well equipped and we had a nice big balcony overlooking the sea. It was clean and easy to live in for a week.

There is a shop selling a range of stuff we found a supermarket just outside that was bigger and had much more choice at better prices, just follow the sign for lidi but you'll find the other supermarket along the way about 2km away worth a look.

The restaurant on site is good with lovely beers and a decent menu and I loved the way they put whipped cream on some dishes. Friendly locals and all speak enough English, you felt safe in the location and its was nice there was a pool to use.

If you use the pool which is lovely get there early as the sun beds in the sun will go quick, if you prefer a sea dip there are many many spots all along to dip into the lovely clear water. The sea was warm and the shores are rocky but this is no issues you'll find there's always somewhere flat to relax. Get some sea shoes to go in and out the water with and I would watch the sea sometimes it can be rough if so best to stay away from the rocky inlets.

All in all a great stay and also if you like riding a bike there was lots of that going on and they are available to hire onsite.

Prices are good to for eating and drinking so get lots of that in if you get the chance and take one of the boat tours they looked real fun you will find a man going along the beach selling tickets.

Well done Croatia

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank Thecroydonway
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Manager at Splendid Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2017

Dear Guest,

thank you for choosing Splendid Golden Rocks and for sharing your impressions on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to know that your stay with us was a pleasant surprise and that we managed to meet your expectations.

It would be our pleasure to get another opportunity to welcome you for another memorable stay.

Best regards,
Splendid Golden Rocks Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews