We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Splendid Golden Rocks Resort
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Pula
Norway
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

The hotel is part of a vast complex. The cheapest rooms seemed crappy. We had an apartment with sea view, and this was the right choice. Modern and fresh apartment. Beatiful location by the sea with saltwater pool. Be aware - there are LOTS of stairs.
You are not within walking distance to Pula City, but bus stop is close by, and taxi is cheap.
There were cleaning and new towels only once a week.

Room Tip: Book an apartment with a sea view. Air condition is not included in price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flemmono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Manager at Splendid Golden Rocks Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Flemmono,
We wish to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen to spend your holidays with us and for having written your feedback on the Resort Splendid on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to read that you found our apartments modern and fresh and that you enjoyed the sea view.
We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you very soon!
Best regards,
The Arenaturist staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    61
    36
    18
    12
See reviews for
89
16
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heerlen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

The apartment was fine and the location was beautiful. But all the stairs were not that great..
What we also didn't like that much, was the fact that there was no service the whole week we stayed in the apartment (no cleaning, no new towels, no shampoo/showercream..). Also the fact that we would have to pay extra (about 7 euro per day) for air conditioning was disappointing to us. In my opinion, those kind of things should be included when you're staying in a 'resort' or 'hotel'..
Also the food was quite disappointing.. There wasn't much variation and you didn't have much choise.. And also, often some products were not there anymore and the staff didn't complement them..
Overall it was an 'okay' stay, but I will never go back there again..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littlemouse1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Manager at Splendid Golden Rocks Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear littlemouse1986
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Resort Splendid. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the apartment and its location.
We regret, however, that the meals did not reach your expectations. Please know that we constantly evaluate the menu in our effort to provide a variety of quality food items.
Please note that a detailed description of all the services included in the price, are present on our website.
In the meantime, we hope that you will give us another chance to serve you.
Best wishes.
The Arenaturist staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pula hotels

Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

When we originally got our room keys and went to the room, I was going to put everyone back in the car and leave. The room was terrible, small dark, tiny windows, just horrible, but after a little complaining we were upgraded to one of there apartments. Now these things are in a class of there own. If you want views of the sea, they just don't come better than this. We had a 360* view of an amazing sea, the apartment was spacious but the belcony was huge, ideal for BBQ's. The complex is exactly what you would expect for a cheap resort so don't expect much. The pool is really nice, food and drinks are good, wifi is also good in the restaurant. The entertainment was laughable but our kids liked it so that's all that matters. All in all it was a cheap holiday and served its purpose well, we will be going back. One thing to add is you do have to pay for everything (air condition in apartment) but ther is an Aldi's around the corner :). We have been to Istria a few times and it's a beautiful place, well worth a visit though over the years the center has gotten over run by shops selling fake LV and Burberry stuff (they honest and genuinely believe it's real, to the extent that it's really not that much cheaper than the real stuff:)), which is a shame as its a stunning place.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Splendid Golden Rocks Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear guest
Thank you for your nice review of our Resort Splendid. We are glad that you and your family found an apartment that better suited your needs and that you enjoyed in the sea view and family barbecues. We are happy that your children enjoyed the entertainment in the resort. We care a lot about our young guests, and many of the activities organized are especially designed for them.
Also, we would like to thank you for the nice comments on our region. We agree with you, Istria is a brilliant peninsula with stunning nature and we are all trying to keep it that way.
Kindly let us inform you that the little shops in the city center have nothing to do with our Resort. However, we are extremely sorry they made you believe that the well known brands you mentioned were original, because everybody, (including the seller) knows that they are fake and we invite you not to buy fake because it is illegal. Unfortunately the problem with fake bags is present in all Europe, and we hope that the EU law will soon do something to protect these industries.
We would like to wish you all the best and we look forward to welcoming you back at the Resort Splendid in the nearer future.
Kind regards,
Arenaturist management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Unfortunately they lost our passport and we had to spent one day at the police station to get the necessary papers to be able to leave the country.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Etser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Manager at Splendid Golden Rocks Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear guest,
It is our commitment to provide our customers a quality service; therefore we apologize and welcome your important comments which we will consider to prevent similar cases to occur in the future.
We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you at the Resort Splendid.
Kind Regards,
The Arenaturist management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Well placed for travelling around - a short bus ride to Pula(bus at end of road).and then buses round the area (to Rovinj, Fazana, Premantura, Vodjnan, labin etc). For local and suburban services buy a travel card (35 kuna) then reductions on every journey (6 kuna instead of 11 for zone 1) - search Pulapromet for details.

Need to be fit as up and down round site and a 5 minute walk to reception. Expensive supermarket on site but others in local area within 15 minute walk (or bus to Pula!)

stayed before in Horizont but by booking an Apartment D with sea view was worth extra monies - panorama of bay where we watched electrical storms one night but more regularly just enjoyed sweep of sea and sunsets! Toilet rolls and no renewal of towels but more than made up for by the view and having breakfasty on large balcony.

Apartment comfortable but have to pay for ac - we used the close the curtains in day open windows in evening to keep apartment cool.

Kitchen has hot plates and coffee maker - no microwave or kettle - but it was adequately supplied and made tea by boiling water in pan!

Beach in front of hotel was rocky but still enjoyed swimming there.Views make up for rockier coastline. Beach shoes recommended as you are otherwise forever dancing on rocks. But lovely beaches (still rocky but more gentle) just a bus ride -26 via premantura - away at Kamenjak, which is highly recommended. Safari Bar- but note 4 km walk there and back unless you hire bike - highly recommended on end of Kamenjak peninsula.

Room Tip: Sea views good!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank S.E.4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Manager at Splendid Golden Rocks Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are writing to sincerely thank you for having chosen the Splendid Resort. It was a pleasure to have you stayed with us, and we are happy to read that you were satisfied with the resort, its location, and the services. Thank you also for taking the time to give us such a detailed feedback of your stay on Tripadvisor. We are sure it will very much help the future travelers that will decide to come and visit us. We are glad that you had the time to discover the Kamenjak natural park and that you are now recomending it.
We hope to receive you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Arenaturist management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roskilde, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We spend 13 nights at Splendid Resort in late juli and start august in a type M apartment, First, the apartment was perfect. About 85 squaremeters and two bathrooms. Big fridge but sparse kitchen equipment. No toaster or oven or even microwave. Fantastic view from both the bedrooms overlooking the bay just south of Pula. And a very big balcony as well. All the furniture was very Ikea like, but it was new and functional. But the beds was very hard so beware of sore backs.
The Pool area was way to crowded and it was very small, but it didn't matter to us because we prefered the coast anyway. I mean who would like to pay around 10 euro each day for at sunbed and listen to very loud polka (read:discomusic), when you could have your own private rock just beside the most beautiful crystal clear water and listen to the waves hitting the rocks.
The whole area are very hilly, så if you have trouble with steps or generally are in a physically bad shape don't even think about staying here. We had over 200 steps from the pool area to our apartment.
You have to drive to everything, both shopping and dining. Yes they do have a local supermarket and some places to eat but believe me, you don't want to spend your kuna there because they are overpriced and the portions doesn't match what you can get outside the resort. The are some great restaurants out there where you can fiil your stomach for a very little amount of money. So if you don't mind walking a lot of steps or pay for basically everything beside the air, this place could work for you.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BrianHammer71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Manager at Splendid Golden Rocks Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for having chosen to spend your holidays with your family at the Splendid Resort and for taking the time to write this review on Tripadvisor. We are very glad to hear that you found the apartments comfortable and that you appreciated the nature, especially the rocky beaches with its relaxing wave sound. However, we are terribly sorry to hear that you found the bed a little bit to hard. We hope that this inconviniente won't prevent you and your family to stay at the Resort Splendid in the future.
Sincerely,
Arenaturist management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasov, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

good apartament with 2 rooms / big kichen with everything you need / you have to pay for ac / biggg balcony with tabel and chairs / sea view / excelent in the morning to enjoy the coffe that u make...pool is with sea water .... u have to climb for swim but if u walk 20 min u find one good beach. very good value for the money / is ok if u came with one car - is parking in the front of the room. THIS IS NOT LIKE A HOTEL .... IS LIKE APARTAMENTS WITH SELF CATERING. I congratulate mysef for this choice.....

Room Tip: It is not a hotel .... is a selfcatering suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MoraruAlexandra21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Manager at Splendid Golden Rocks Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your review of your stay at the Splendid Resort. We are very glad to hear that you have had an enjoyable stay with us and that all the services provided corresponded or even exceeded your expectations.
We would like to thank you for recommending us and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon!
Kind regards
Arenaturist management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pula hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Plaza Histria Pula
0.7 mi away
Park Plaza Arena Pula
0.6 mi away
Brioni Hotel
Brioni Hotel
#17 of 31 in Pula
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Horizont Golden Rocks Resort
0.8 mi away
Villa Vulin
Villa Vulin
#8 of 31 in Pula
45 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pula City Point Rooms
Pula City Point Rooms
#16 of 31 in Pula
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splendid Golden Rocks Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Golden Rocks Resort

Property: Splendid Golden Rocks Resort
Address: Ulica Verudella 6/B, Pula 52100, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Pula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Pula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Splendid Golden Rocks Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The surrounding rocky coast is on agentle incline to the sea, and many of the apartments at the Splendid Golden Rocks Istria afford spectacular views over the Adriatic Sea, as well as over Pula's charming seafront promenade - Lungomare. The Splendid Golden Rocks resort is idyllically situated in the popular area generally known as 'Podstinje' or 'Golden Rocks' in Croatia. The Splendid Golden Rocks Croatia resort attracts families in particular, because of its child-friendly policies, and perfect seaside location. At the hilltop of the tourist complex is Fort Bourgignon, which dates back to the Austro-Hungarian period, and is a magnificent example of architecture and history which guests find fascinating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Splendid Golden Rocks Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Splendid Hotel Pula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing