We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$339
$302
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$192
$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$123
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveler rating
27
66
42
20
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
66
42
20
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbig balconysea waterkitchen equipmentsea viewpool arearoom apartmentself cateringenglish channelsbeach shoeskids clubsun loungerspossibilitiessupermarketcoast
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 173 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2012

When we originally got our room keys and went to the room, I was going to put everyone back in the car and leave. The room was terrible, small dark, tiny windows, just horrible, but after a little complaining we were upgraded to one of there apartments. Now these things are in a class of there own. If you want views of the sea, they just don't come better than this. We had a 360* view of an amazing sea, the apartment was spacious but the belcony was huge, ideal for BBQ's. The complex is exactly what you would expect for a cheap resort so don't expect much. The pool is really nice, food and drinks are good, wifi is also good in the restaurant. The entertainment was laughable but our kids liked it so that's all that matters. All in all it was a cheap holiday and served its purpose well, we will be going back. One thing to add is you do have to pay for everything (air condition in apartment) but ther is an Aldi's around the corner :). We have been to Istria a few times and it's a beautiful place, well worth a visit though over the years the center has gotten over run by shops selling fake LV and Burberry stuff (they honest and genuinely believe it's real, to the extent that it's really not that much cheaper than the real stuff:)), which is a shame as its a stunning place.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

Dear guest
Thank you for your nice review of our Resort Splendid. We are glad that you and your family found an apartment that better suited your needs and that you enjoyed in the sea view and family barbecues. We are happy that your children enjoyed the entertainment in the resort. We care a lot about our young guests, and many of the activities organized are especially designed for them.
Also, we would like to thank you for the nice comments on our region. We agree with you, Istria is a brilliant peninsula with stunning nature and we are all trying to keep it that way.
Kindly let us inform you that the little shops in the city center have nothing to do with our Resort. However, we are extremely sorry they made you believe that the well known brands you mentioned were original, because everybody, (including the seller) knows that they are fake and we invite you not to buy fake because it is illegal. Unfortunately the problem with fake bags is present in all Europe, and we hope that the EU law will soon do something to protect these industries.
We would like to wish you all the best and we look forward to welcoming you back at the Resort Splendid in the nearer future.
Kind regards,
Arenaturist management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Unfortunately they lost our passport and we had to spent one day at the police station to get the necessary papers to be able to leave the country.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Etser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Manager at Splendid Golden Rocks Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Dear guest,
It is our commitment to provide our customers a quality service; therefore we apologize and welcome your important comments which we will consider to prevent similar cases to occur in the future.
We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you at the Resort Splendid.
Kind Regards,
The Arenaturist management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Well placed for travelling around - a short bus ride to Pula(bus at end of road).and then buses round the area (to Rovinj, Fazana, Premantura, Vodjnan, labin etc). For local and suburban services buy a travel card (35 kuna) then reductions on every journey (6 kuna instead of 11 for zone 1) - search Pulapromet for details.

Need to be fit as up and down round site and a 5 minute walk to reception. Expensive supermarket on site but others in local area within 15 minute walk (or bus to Pula!)

stayed before in Horizont but by booking an Apartment D with sea view was worth extra monies - panorama of bay where we watched electrical storms one night but more regularly just enjoyed sweep of sea and sunsets! Toilet rolls and no renewal of towels but more than made up for by the view and having breakfasty on large balcony.

Apartment comfortable but have to pay for ac - we used the close the curtains in day open windows in evening to keep apartment cool.

Kitchen has hot plates and coffee maker - no microwave or kettle - but it was adequately supplied and made tea by boiling water in pan!

Beach in front of hotel was rocky but still enjoyed swimming there.Views make up for rockier coastline. Beach shoes recommended as you are otherwise forever dancing on rocks. But lovely beaches (still rocky but more gentle) just a bus ride -26 via premantura - away at Kamenjak, which is highly recommended. Safari Bar- but note 4 km walk there and back unless you hire bike - highly recommended on end of Kamenjak peninsula.

Room Tip: Sea views good!!
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank S.E.4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Manager at Splendid Golden Rocks Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

Dear Guest,
We are writing to sincerely thank you for having chosen the Splendid Resort. It was a pleasure to have you stayed with us, and we are happy to read that you were satisfied with the resort, its location, and the services. Thank you also for taking the time to give us such a detailed feedback of your stay on Tripadvisor. We are sure it will very much help the future travelers that will decide to come and visit us. We are glad that you had the time to discover the Kamenjak natural park and that you are now recomending it.
We hope to receive you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Arenaturist management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We spend 13 nights at Splendid Resort in late juli and start august in a type M apartment, First, the apartment was perfect. About 85 squaremeters and two bathrooms. Big fridge but sparse kitchen equipment. No toaster or oven or even microwave. Fantastic view from both the bedrooms overlooking the bay just south of Pula. And a very big balcony as well. All the furniture was very Ikea like, but it was new and functional. But the beds was very hard so beware of sore backs.
The Pool area was way to crowded and it was very small, but it didn't matter to us because we prefered the coast anyway. I mean who would like to pay around 10 euro each day for at sunbed and listen to very loud polka (read:discomusic), when you could have your own private rock just beside the most beautiful crystal clear water and listen to the waves hitting the rocks.
The whole area are very hilly, så if you have trouble with steps or generally are in a physically bad shape don't even think about staying here. We had over 200 steps from the pool area to our apartment.
You have to drive to everything, both shopping and dining. Yes they do have a local supermarket and some places to eat but believe me, you don't want to spend your kuna there because they are overpriced and the portions doesn't match what you can get outside the resort. The are some great restaurants out there where you can fiil your stomach for a very little amount of money. So if you don't mind walking a lot of steps or pay for basically everything beside the air, this place could work for you.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BrianHammer71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Manager at Splendid Golden Rocks Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for having chosen to spend your holidays with your family at the Splendid Resort and for taking the time to write this review on Tripadvisor. We are very glad to hear that you found the apartments comfortable and that you appreciated the nature, especially the rocky beaches with its relaxing wave sound. However, we are terribly sorry to hear that you found the bed a little bit to hard. We hope that this inconviniente won't prevent you and your family to stay at the Resort Splendid in the future.
Sincerely,
Arenaturist management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

good apartament with 2 rooms / big kichen with everything you need / you have to pay for ac / biggg balcony with tabel and chairs / sea view / excelent in the morning to enjoy the coffe that u make...pool is with sea water .... u have to climb for swim but if u walk 20 min u find one good beach. very good value for the money / is ok if u came with one car - is parking in the front of the room. THIS IS NOT LIKE A HOTEL .... IS LIKE APARTAMENTS WITH SELF CATERING. I congratulate mysef for this choice.....

Room Tip: It is not a hotel .... is a selfcatering suite
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MoraruAlexandra21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Manager at Splendid Golden Rocks Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your review of your stay at the Splendid Resort. We are very glad to hear that you have had an enjoyable stay with us and that all the services provided corresponded or even exceeded your expectations.
We would like to thank you for recommending us and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon!
Kind regards
Arenaturist management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews