We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$282
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$101
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Crazy House Hostel(Pula)(Great Value!)
$61
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveler rating
27
66
42
20
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
66
42
20
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbig balconysea waterkitchen equipmentsea viewpool arearoom apartmentself cateringenglish channelsbeach shoeskids clubsun loungerspossibilitiessupermarketcoast
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 173 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2011

The apartement was very nice and fresh. It had new utensils in the kitchen area (not to many). Beds was very hard to sleep in. The AC (have to pay extra) was very good, by mistake we made a fridge of the place one day returning from the rocky beach. Make sure you book the new apartments as there are some in very bad shape. Tv had all you could wish for.

The balconys was large but not very private as the neigburs felt close. Do not pay for sea view as we did for glimps beside a tree. Make sure you are not on ground floor.

The beach is not for small children as it is only rocks and gets deep fast. Water is beautiful. Much better to use the sea comparde to the undersized pool.

Restaurants are ok and very cheap, use the one to the left by the sea. There are still some old Tito styled ugly concrete buildings that look very sad in very bad shape, they should get rid ot those as it effects the feeling of the beautiful coast line.

The supermarket was ok. a bit more expensive but we never went to Lidel in town.

The local bus is a 5 minute walk from reception, it is a cheap and efficent way to get to the old town of Pula.

We had some great days swimming and sightseeing in Pula

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A swedish family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Manager at Splendid Golden Rocks Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your detailed feedback on Resort Splendid! We very much appreciate your inputs and would like to underline how useful your comments are. It is a pleasure for us to read, that you liked the apartment, it's view, the nature, and that you found the many connections to the city centre of Pula where you had the opportunity to see all its ancient sights.
We hope to welcome you in the near future and thank you very much for trusting and recommending the Splendid Resort
Arenaturist management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This place is terrible. The rooms are terrible and the photos are not representative of the place at all. The sea is nice and the restaurants are fine, but overall this place is pretty crappy and a far walk from downtown Pula.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CounterVulture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Manager at Splendid Golden Rocks Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

Dear Guest,
we are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay at our Splendid Resort. We would like to assure you that we will take good note about your comments. We are terribly sorry that our staff didn't inform you on the frequent bus connections to the city centre of Pula with a 5 minutes walk from the reception.
We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future, in Splendid Resort or in any other hotel and resort managed by Arenaturist.
Kind regards,
Arenaturist management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

First, they try to keep your passports in order to check in. The Apartment had a lovely view of a parking area; if we were to sit on the "terrace" we would be looking at the under-carriage of several cars and their front bumpers. The air conditioning unit only works in the main room, so you have to leave the doors open to cool the entire place. Mind you, this is only after you pay the additional fee per night for air conditioning. The pool closes early at 20:00. The restaurant service was poor, but the food was okay. The wi-fi is spotty at best and only out by the pool. The grocery store on the property is significantly over-priced.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bitburg049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Manager at Splendid Golden Rocks Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Splendid Resort on Tripadvisor. We are very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay. The Resort Splendid has more then 200 apartments, and we are terribly sorry that the one that was given to you didn't have a better view. Please, accept our sincere apology for keeping your passport. It is a normal security procedure when we have a big number of travelers checking in. There must have been a misunderstanding with our receptions, who should have explained you that.
We hope to welcome you again in the future, in Splendid Resort or in any other hotel and resort managed by Arenaturist.
Kind regards,
Arenaturist management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

This place shares location and ammenities with the Horizont resort. It appears to be a price segmentation for the same clientele, although Splendid appartments are more modern than the rest. We spent last weekend in this resort. The place is beautiful, or rather, "biutiful".

We booked a big appartment, from 40 to 55 sqm, with sea views. Reality was a 30 m appartment with an 8 sqm. terrace, from which we could spot a line of sea blue over the roof of a building standing in front of ours. For the description and the pictures I expected that a sqm is a sqm everywhere, and that our terrace would be directly over the sea. Not the case.

Second disappointment was the air conditioning. If you want it, you have to pay extra money for it. In the description I got it was written that the room counted with aircon. And it was true... at a price.

Then, the fact that the ward wanted to keep our passports at all cost, until the bill had been paid. I never ever separate from my passport; actually it is not mine, since it belongs to my country, so I should not do that. I also refused to pay in advance, so the ward had to go with a photocopy in the hope that his manager would not yell too loud. The manager appears to be an ogre in the place, since all staff refers to him whenever you ask for anything you expected but is not there for you to take unless you pay extra money for it.

The following disappointment was the swimming-pool. Beautiful in the pictures, and honors reality. The problem is that the water inside comes pumped from the sea, so unless you like cold and extremely salted water in a pool, this one is not for you.

Terrific was the fact that you could not use the sunbeds if not for 8 extra euro/day. First, they charge for them, and then it cannot be for one hour, it has to be for the full day, and you lose your right if you leave it unattended. Since you are there and there's no other way you can relax, you finally pay for it, just to realise five minutes later that if you need to use the umbrella... yes, you got it, 5 more euro. By that time you have paid already a lot: room + aircon + sunbed + umbrella... and of course, you'd like to have a drink, and since you canno t keep your sunbed unattended, there's no other place to have that cold drink than... you got it, the hotel bar.

A propo: no room service in 4 days is something worth mentioning, isn't it?

Let me also remind those who have not explored the area that you will find no single sandbeach in the area. It's all rocks. Yes, from the rock to the sea, and you'd better take nautic shoes with you, a very thick pad to lie on, and lots of sunscreen, since no umbrella can therefore be used.

Finally, the restaurants at Pula are terrible in our experience. You pay extraordinarily high prices for minute fish of dubious quality, plus they will look bad at you whenever you ask for anything special, such as "this fish is raw, can you cook a few minutes longer?", and respond quite inpolitely to requests such as "the oil you gave me for the salad has been used to cook fish before, could you bring me some olive oil?".

Summing up: the most beautiful stripe of Mediterranean coast I've seen since Menorca, but: no beach, low products quality, low hotels quality, and very customer-hostile service.

Who wants to visit this place yet? Just drive down there from beautiful Rovinj, take some pictures, and leave.

And what a waste of hotel management in such a beautiful scenery. A real waste. Simply, "biutiful"

Stayed June 2011

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Javier_19731202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This was terrible. First you think you are getting a great deal on a cheap hotel wit ha nice pool, But EVERYTHING costs. They dont even supply you toilet paper. chairs by the pool are 6 Euro, and the food it WAY over priced..Also no maids, no fresh towels, NOTHING! you will end up spending just as much at other resorts because they make you buy all he things you need from the "grocery market" on site, but it is crazy overpriced and is a full rip off. Even if you want to play table tennis, its 8 euro an hour.. totally crap.. dont bother wit this place.
P.S they only have Wifi in the reception, which is far away from everything.. they are liars about this on their site.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank boosterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Manager at Splendid Golden Rocks Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

Dear guest,
We wish to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write your opinion on our Splendid Resort on Tripadvisor.
We would like to apologize for those services in which we could not meet your expectations Also, we are terribly sorry that you didn’t find all the needed information of the Resort on Arenaturist’s website. For any doubts on the available services, we provide a phone number and a direct email, on which our guest can rely in case they need to.
Please, be assured that your important comments will be taken into account and will help us to continually improve our services.
In the hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you at Splendid Resort, or in any other hotel and resort managed by Arenaturist.
Sincerely
Arenaturist management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews