We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but clean and nice Hotel, great location”
Review of Hotel Scaletta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Scaletta
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Pula
Reviewed October 5, 2008

We stayed in the room with the balcony. Room was very small but adequate and was air conditioned. Very clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. Breakfast was included which had good variety. The balcony had a very slight view of the ampitheatre and was great for helping to dry hand washed clothes. Good location for walking to the old town. Be advised that the desk is only staffed in the morning and early afternoon. They also run the restaurant so check in with them if the door to the hotel is locked. The hotel entrance is up the steps on the side of the restaurant. We ate at the restaurant on the first night and the food was very good. Rooms 1 & 2 are next to the breakfast room and are probably noisy (per other reviews). We were on the second floor and had no noise problems. There is free parking on the street.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kathysonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 120 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2008

A stay at Hotel Scaletta is more like staying at a friend's house - the staff is very helpful and friendly, the rooms charmingly modern. Breakfast is more than adequate, but served in an almost uncomfortably small room. The restaurant is lovely, with good service and a menu that tries (too hard) to please international tastes - some of the dishes were obviously a stretch for the chef (and/or the available ingredients), while others lived up to the menu descriptions. Pula was rather dreary in the rain, but the Roman Arena and other sites were quite impressive - it's a very walkable city and the Scaletta is in a great location.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2008

Very nice people, but while the hotel has very good rating, we experienced some major problems.

First and foremost the hotel does not have a night person which usually would be fine. But... the hotel uses dead-bolt locks throughout the building including the front door! So if the building was on fire, you would have to unlock your room door with a key, then run downstairs and unlock the front door dead-bolt with a key. Totally insane and I am it volatiles fire code.

Also the maid forgot to put soap in the bathroom, but guess what...we didnt need it since there was no hot water in the morning, and brown stuff came out of the shower periodically. Good thing we only spent one night.

Breakfast was good, but when we went to pay the credit card reader wasnt working, so we were told to go to the atm to take money to pay the bill. Why couldn't they just take the credit card number down and 3 digit number code on the back is beyond me.

So, yuck on these terms, but room was nice and clean.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travel555London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2008

This is a nice little Hotel in proximity to the center of Pula and a short walking distance to The Arena. Not a hotel I'd recommend for the beach but ideal for an active few days and enjoying the history of the city. We were there for part of our honeymoon which was consistent with the other guests there who were mostly couples. There was a nice continental breakfast in the morning, responsive, attentive service and decent size rooms. Bathrooms were particularly nice while not being luxurious.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdmosk4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2008

Hotel Scaletta is a fantastic hotel. The rooms were beautiful and very comfortable, the bathroom was pristine and the location is convenient.
The staff were incredibly professional, helpful, friendly, courteous, pleasant and they all went out of their way to help you.
Overall the hotel is amazing value for money.
I had a great stay and will definitely stay there again should I return to Pula.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TheHooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay at this small, family run hotel in Pula. The staff were very friendly, spoke excellent English and most helpful with advice on the sights of Istria. Our room was very clean and spacious with a small balcony off it. The breakfast was very good value, with omellettes cooked for us each day but the dinners we enjoyed in their restaurant were superb! The fish was excellent - we could even choose the particular fish we wanted cooked for us that evening! The staff in the restaurant were very friendly and pleasant.We really highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2KiwisNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2008

A very pleasant and welcoming small hotel with a location just 250 metres from the amphitheatre.
Our room (no 4) whilst not large, was modern and attractively decorated and contained a small balcony which received the afternoon sun.
Breakfast was continental although eggs and ommelettes were available if required.
One benefit of staying at the Scaletta is that guests receive a 10% discount at their rather smart restaurant.
We had a very enjoyable dinner there with excellent and imaginatively presented food.
In summary, the Scaletta is an ideal stop for a night or two and is very handy if using Pula Airport. ( The bus station is a short walk from the hotel - the airport bus coincides with Ryanair departures and costs 25Kuna.)

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pula hotels
0.2 mi away
Amfiteatar Hotel
Amfiteatar Hotel
#10 of 31 in Pula
196 reviews
2.8 mi away
Park Plaza Histria Pula
2.5 mi away
Oasi - Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Milan
Hotel Milan
#9 of 31 in Pula
47 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Galija
Hotel Galija
#12 of 31 in Pula
163 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Valsabbion
Hotel Valsabbion
#5 of 31 in Pula
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scaletta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scaletta

Address: Flavijevska Ulica 26, Pula 52100, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Pula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Pula
Price Range: $89 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Scaletta 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Scaletta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scaletta Hotel Pula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing