We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very nice hotel. Friendly staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Scaletta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Scaletta
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Pula
UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel. Friendly staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel in an excellent location close to the arena. Spotlessly clean, cood sized rooms. Free wifi and plenty of tv channels. Good breakfast with plenty of choice. Eggs cooked to order.
I had room 2 which was facing the road. This did lead to a bit of noise disturbance. The steps up to the hotel weren't really an issue but i didn't have much luggage.
I would stay here again.
I don't know why they use the hostel-bookers site for online booking. This is definitely a hotel not a hostel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank timttrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    48
    19
    4
    4
See reviews for
5
55
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I were in Pula for one night only and stayed in Hotel Scaletta as it was close to all the sights. The location is excellent, the Roman amphitheatre is a few steps down the road and the other sites are within walking distance. The hotel rooms are just standard, however the staff are very friendly and were very helpful with our requests.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnitaGale B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My wife and I (middle-aged US academics) stayed here in mid-June 2013, and it turned out to be an excellent choice. The hotel is just a 5 minute walk from the bus station, and a 5 minute walk in the other direction to the coliseum. It's about a 10 minute walk into the center of town, which is just the right distance if you're looking for quiet, because there's often public entertainment (very loud PA systems) in town and in a large open space near the coliseum, so if you were any closer you might have trouble sleeping. Ask for a room at the back of the hotel, away from the street, and you won't hear a thing at night. The hotel itself is perfectly adequate--clean, modern, well taken care of. But what's really special about this hotel is the staff. They were terrific while we were staying there (esp. with advice about restaurants), but they also helped out quite a bit over email in the weeks beforehand, when we were planning the trip. They gave us accurate and useful tips about buses, ferries, and various other things. Pula was just a short stop-over for us, but the Hotel Scaletta made it a really enjoyable one.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back, away from the street, are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Room was excellent, well decorated and had a great bath.The room was by far the best value for money in all the hotels stayed in in our weeks visit to Croatia. So good that we stayed an extra night there, due to this and its situation and locality to tourist sights.. While the breakfast was adequate, other facilities were not too good. There was a mini-bar which was never restocked and no bar was available - maybe as our visit was in April and thus out of season.. As pointed by other reviewers, the stairs leading to the front door could be a problem. All in all, armed with what we now know, we would willingly use the hotel again

A word of caution about visiting Pula: out of season, all restaurants on Sunday night were closed, except for a McDonalds.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Solange W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The company for which I working for is always using this hotel and we are very pleased with the service. There are numerous advantages of this hotel ... some of them are family atmosphere that is literally like you're in your house,then position of hotel where you are standing 50 meters away from the Roman amphitheater, 50m from the sea, simple you are in the middle of everything in beautiful small and very old Pula town ...near of excellent food, history, fun...
You simply must come and be convinced of the advantages of this hotel and friendly staff that relates to you like a member of their family ... very nice experience ...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Milan_Hrvacic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denman Island, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We spent one night in Pula on our way south to some of the island in Croatia. We walked there from the bus station and found it quite manageable. The biggest problem was the steps up from the road to the entrance. This hotel was a pleasnt suprise. It was very modern with a bright art deco room and a beautiful bathroom with a tub. It was a great location very close to areana. Resteraunts were a problem and I had booked this hotel because it had a resteraunt. When we arrived we found it was closed.
The staff we exremely helpfull and friendly.
In the morning the breakfast was great and they actually cooked us fresh scrambled egg!
If you ar a light sleeper try to get a room at the back as the road can be noisy even with the double glazing.

Room Tip: In the back to avoid the road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cgdayson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The hotel is a small family-run hotel and is well-located being within 5 minutes walk of the bus station and 2 minutes from the Roman amphitheatre; the train station is about 10 minutes way. A slight disadvantage is that the reception is up a flight of steps and there is no lift in the hotel.
My room was of a good size, with two single beds pushed together, a small table, an easy chair, a writing table with chair, on which was laso an LCD tv. The toilet and shower off, had just a shower cubicle, rather than a bath/shower. There was also air-conditioning and a mini-bar.
Breakfast was buffet-style, but hot food, such as scrambled or fired egg was served on demand. There was a choice of cereals and breads.
Staff on reception were friendly and helpful.
I found this a charming hotel, would stay there again if I were ever to be in Pula again and would strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pula hotels
2.8 mi away
Park Plaza Histria Pula
0.2 mi away
Amfiteatar Hotel
Amfiteatar Hotel
#10 of 31 in Pula
3.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
2.9 mi away
Park Plaza Arena Pula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Galija
Hotel Galija
#14 of 31 in Pula
3.5 of 5 stars 129 reviews
2.5 mi away
Oasi - Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Villa Vulin
Villa Vulin
#7 of 31 in Pula
4.5 of 5 stars 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scaletta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scaletta

Property: Hotel Scaletta
Address: Flavijevska Ulica 26, Pula 52100, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Pula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Pula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Scaletta 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Scaletta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scaletta Hotel Pula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing