We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hassle”
Review of Brioni Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brioni Hotel
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Pula
Roma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hassle”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

The good and the bad. First the good, the hotel itself is located on the waters edge. It has nice views of the sea and is set in a pine tree ara. Parking is ok but most of it is first come basis, parking is shared with other hotels from the same overall company. There is a lack of real parking so you have to park under pine trees, on dirt ect. The hotel is old, furnitures really have seen better days. A big issue with many people is that there are no air conditioners in the room although by opening the door you get a nice breeze from the ocean. There is an indoor pool and a small child depth pool outside. The beach area is only rocks along with a small area that the hotel made. There is no sand so do not expect it. Breakfast is good and has a nice mix. Hotel desk staff are friendly. Changing of towels is only once every 2 days. Elevator is about the size of a small broom closet so take the stairs. Location is overall not bad, ere is nice scuba diving of shelves in the area as well as alot of hotel sponsored water sports. Now the bad part. The security they employ at the entrance of the hotel road are incompetant to say the least. They will refuse you entrance if you do not have a car pass, this includes when you are trying to check in and do not have sucg pass. Only way to get past the guard is to leave your car outside (good luck finding close parking) and thenwalk to the hotel and check in, then walk back to your car with the pass and drive in. The guard will refuse to call the hotel to confirm you are a guest. Add this to the fact that there are no guarded parking for most of the area (none by this hotel) and e fact that the parking area is dimly lit places some hesitation on recommending this hotel, overall the stay was ok. Trip was an advanced trip to check area for diving with club but after hassles with entrance will find another more accessable place as leaving thousands of euro of gear unattended in a car just to walk to hotel to get a pass does not appeal to my club

Room Tip: Do not come to this hotel if you need air conditioning or expect a sandy beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Franco018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Manager at Brioni Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Franco,
We would like to thank you for choosing to spend your holidays with us at Hotel Brioni and for taking the time to write and to share your opinion on Tripadvisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel views and that you experienced unforgettable diving excursions. However, we are extremely sorry to hear that you experienced some misunderstandings with the security guards outside the hotel. To guarantee a parking place for all our guests and for security reason it is not possible to enter the hotel parking without a pass. Usually this problem is solved easily if you are not traveling alone, so that the other member stays in the car, but we understand that it may be quite problematic for a solo traveler. We assure you that your important comments will be forwarded to our management team, and this particular case will be discussed with the security staff in order to prevent that such inconveniences occur in the future. In the meantime, we hope that you will give us another chance to serve you.
Best regards,
Arenaturist Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    89
    73
    33
    25
See reviews for
48
113
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Versoix, Switzerland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Nice hotel, friendly, the service is of good quality, even if the rooms are a little dated, and need to be updated. It is mainly a family hotel, indoors and outdoors swimming pools, 2 minutes walk to the beach, and great views!!!!!
Breakfast was good, a large choice of cold and hot dishes to choose from, dinner is a buffet style, with drinks included, also nice selection of hot and cold dishes.

All in all a nice to stay, to enjoy some relax, sea, sun!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JC-Delage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Manager at Brioni Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear JC-Delage,
Thank you for having chosen the Hotel Brioni for your holiday in Croatia! We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and its services and that you decided to share your nice experience on Tripadvisor.
We would like to wish you all the best and we look forward to welcoming you back at the Hotel Brioni!
Best regards,
Arenaturist Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
326 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

This is a dated hotel from the 1970's but everything worked and the view of the sea from the balcony was great. Actually, there is plenty of room in the standard double with 2 wardrobes and a vanity complete with small chair in the bathroom. Everything worked and that is all you can ask for. The restaurant serves good buffet meals with lots of choices and a wonderful terrace for enjoying the view of the water. For the price, this is not a bad choice in the Pula area.

Room Tip: Ask for a western facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christmas2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Manager at Brioni Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having chosen to spend your holiday at the Hotel Brioni. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the meals at the buffet very tasty and variegated. We are glad that you liked the terrace and its view and we would like to thank you for reccomending our Hotel Brioni as a good choice for a holiday.
We hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the future, in Hotel Brioni, or in any other hotel from our portfolio.
Best Regards,
The Arenaturist Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
122 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

This Hotel would have been "THE place" during the 60s and 70s.
Excellent staff and service and good food. Dinner was buffet style and only about $20 AUD a head including wine and beer.
Breakfast was included and quite substantial range of hot and cold food.
Wifi only in the Foyer area which is a nuisance but fast and free.
Very dated decor and tired carpets etc.
Lighting is retro and interesting.
Tired Hotel but clean, and good friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TestBed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Manager at Brioni Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Hotel Brioni. We are glad to read that you found our staff very friendly and the service excellent. Also, we would like to thank you for sharing your positive experience on Tripadvisor. We are sure that your valuable comments will help us to improve our service, and will help the future travelers to better choose their stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back at our Hotel Brioni in the near future.
Kind regards,
Arenaturist management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
130 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

This place is all about the location - the beach is right behind the hotel and is worth the stay here. As per other reviews, the rooms and hotel are quite dated. As well, the rooms are small and in need of some serious renos. You don't stay here for the accomodations, you stay here for the beach...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2travelingbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Co Antrim
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed here for one night. We had read all of the reviews so booked this hotel whilst being fully aware it needing updating etc. but as long as it was clean we didn't mind.
On entering the Hotel Brioni, it's like stepping back in time! Nothing has changed since the 1980's, it was bit surreal! We paid extra for a sea-view and yes the view was nice, but the room was very disappointing. Aside from the decor, the beds were creaky and uncomfortable and the carpet (yes carpet) was very grubby. There was also a very over-powering smell of floral disinfectant! As people have previously mentioned, there is no AC in the rooms and due to the heat, we had to leave the patio door open when we went to bed - unfortunately our neighbours sat out on their veranda talking loudly until the early hours. We had a very restless nights sleep.
Breakfast the following day was average - normal selection of breads, cereals, ham, cheese etc along with some hot food. There is a nice area outside to dine if you so wish. The hotel is located in a very scenic location and a short walk takes you down to the shore. With regards to parking, there is very limited parking directly outside the hotel but we never seen one free space during our stay and had to park a few minutes walk away. I probably woudln't choose to stay in this hotel again unless is underwent a serious re-vamp! It has alot of potential, shame that improvements have not been made.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJ76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Manager at Brioni Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Hotel Brioni. We are glad to read that you enjoyed the hotel view and the surrounding area of the hotel. However we would like to apologize for those services that did not reach your expectations. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable comments and suggestions which we will consider for improving our services.
We hope you will give us another chance and will visit us in Hotel Brioni, or in any other hotel from our portfolio.
Best wishes,
Arenaturist management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pula hotels

Tata, Hungary
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

This hotel is old and since nothing seems to have been changed since the 1960s, it actually looks sort of retro now, which I don't mind. What I do mind, however, is that while it has a huge lobby and big hallways, the rooms and bathrooms are tiny, the beds are creaky and there's no AC, no fridge or minibar. When it's 38 degrees in your room it's not much fun to be stuck with lukewarm drinks for the night. The scenery around the hotel is very nice, however, there is no parking! Upon arrival, we were told by the receptionist "to park anywhere". This meant that we were driving around for a long time until we finally found some parking (in front of another hotel, which I'm sure was happy that we used their parking lot). Another big problem was that despite what the receptionist said, the hotel beach is _not_ suitable for children! It's rocky with deep water. Luckily, we found a public pebble beach nearby, which was nice, if crowded. The biggest problem with the hotel, however, is the price. If the hotel uses 60s standards, the prices should be similar, too... Not to mention that since the hotel doesn't seem to have a double + extra bed option, with my five-year old, we were forced to pay for a "triple".

Room Tip: With experience from two different secions of the hotel, all rooms seems to be very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiduj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Manager at Brioni Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are writing to sincerely thank you for having chosen the Hotel Brioni and for taking the time to give us your feedback on Tripadvisor.
We are glad that you appreciated the surrounding of the hotel and that you easily managed to found the paved beach of the Hotel Brioni and the pebbly Ambrela beach nearby.. However we are sorry to hear that your stay was unsatisfactory. We take all the feedbacks very seriously constantly considerating the valuable comments of our guest in order to follow them and improve our services.
We hope to have the chance to serve you once again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Arenaturist management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pula hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Plaza Arena Pula
0.5 mi away
Park Plaza Histria Pula
0.6 mi away
Splendid Golden Rocks Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Adrion Aparthotel
Adrion Aparthotel
#9 of 31 in Pula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
1.1 mi away
Oasi - Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Horizont Golden Rocks Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brioni Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brioni Hotel

Property: Brioni Hotel
Address: Ulica Verudella 16, Pula 52100, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Pula
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Pula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Brioni Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Brioni Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brioni Hotel Pula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing