We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feeling at home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Apartment Sonja

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Apartment Sonja
Ranked #1 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Pula
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Feeling at home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Nice rooms, beautiful terrace, very clean bathroom (to share) and a personal service. They also have airco and a kitchen you can use. Even do your laundry! what else can you ask for?
They picked us up for free from the ferry too!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lodeba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
21
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

This hostel is amazing, very clean, great location and possibly the best customer service I have had (hotels included).
We were collected from the airport by Alex (the owner)'s father (including an onward transfer to the next village) for a very reasonable E15. Both Alex& his father were very friendly & Alex was very forthcoming with information and tips without us even having to ask.
The hostel is only small, with 3 double/twin rooms but there is plenty of space including 2 outdoor terraces. There were lots of little extras that show how much pride Alex takes in his hostel such as complimentary shampoo, hair dryer, anti mosquito plugs etc.
We had a great trip in Pula, largely off the back of Alex's recommendations. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VisitorL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in the Yellow room (en suite) and it was superb. The room is a great size with lots of storage space. The bathroom (which is just outside the door and locked) is well equipped with a lovely shower. You share the hostel with two other private rooms, with a shared living space, balcony and kitchen area - a great surprise when we arrived as I forgot it had a kitchen.

It really allowed us a base to work from and to come and go as we pleased, especially with it's central location in Pula and offered us the best of both worlds of accommodation. The kitchen is really well equiped with everything you could need, and all organised in room colours so you know what's what and with a good sized fridge which is great if you don't plan to eat out much. The WiFi was also great for keeping in touch and heading back to look up places to eat locally.

We arrived late Sunday night and Aleksander met us from the coach station which was really very kind and eased our worries of getting lost trying to find it. The next morning he went through with us local things to see, good restaurants (all of which were very good) and good beaches we could go to. He was keen to answer any questions we had and really made us feel very welcome. I even emailed them a few weeks in advance with some questions and Aleksandar was very helpful and friendly in answering them before we even arrived there.

We saw a couple of other people when we stayed but were never disturbed by them. Despite the central location it's very quiet and secluded and we both slept very well. The balcony is lovely in the evenings with seating to watch the Swifts circle over head and just relax.

The great thing we found was almost all of the local amenities were within a 15 minute walk of the hostel allowing us to go out for a bit, then pop back for lunch without disrupting the day. There's a pub a 5 minute walk away, with a small supermarket also 5 minute walk away with the main gate into the tourist town the other side of the road.

Aleksandar's Father even took us to the coach station one morning after recommending we visit Rovinj and helped us get the tickets and everything sorted which was lovely of him, really did not have to but shows what friendly hosts they are.

Perhaps the best thing was the cost, we ended up just inside the low season and paid about 32 Euro a night for the both of us which really is fantastic value.

The only fault I can find is that there was no corkscrew that I could find and the kettle was slow to boil. When they are the only issues, it shows this is such a great place. We will almost certainly end up here again. I cannot recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
303 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this little gem for 4 nights at the end of May. We will definitely be coming back at some point. Booking was easy and simple online with Aleksander. His father runs the hostel and we arranged for him to collect us at the airport and drop us back when we left. This cost 15euro for 2 people return, so an absolute bargain! There are only 3 rooms at this property and when we stayed we didn't see anyone else. This was perfect for us, but if you're looking for a busy hostel this isn't for you. There is a kitchen and internet to use. The property is so clean and comfortable with a lovely terrace to sit out on. When Aleksander's father visited each morning, we would have a chat with him - just lovely. The location is very central and close to the Ribarnica and lots of cafes, restaurants, bars and shops. Pula is relatively small anyway and everything is walkable, but if you fancy a late night out it is nice to be able to walk home. The price was excellent value and we loved it. We will definitely be coming back to stay when we next visit the gorgeous city of Pula. Thank you so much!

I should probably point out, that two rooms share a bathroom and we had the room with a private bathroom. It is located just outside of the bedroom door - always clean and with simple toiletries.

Upon arrival you will be given maps and a multitude of information on where to visit and how to get there. Wonderful service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Alexander was a great host, very friendly, went out of his way to make our stay comfortable. The Hostel consists of 3 rooms, 2 share a bathroom and one bedroom has a private bathroom (not ensuite). We had the private room, but we were the only ones there that night anyway.

The room was spotless and the apartment was very well stocked and looked after. There is Wi-Fi and a computer provided as well.

The Hostel is centrally located, only a stone's throw away from Giardini Square and a Roman gate into the old part of town.

Room Tip: I'd recommend the room with a private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank squeetie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pula hotels
2.3 mi away
Park Plaza Histria Pula
2.4 mi away
Park Plaza Arena Pula
0.5 mi away
Hotel Scaletta
Hotel Scaletta
#10 of 32 in Pula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Oasi - Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Amfiteatar Hotel
Amfiteatar Hotel
#8 of 32 in Pula
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boutique Hostel Joyce
Boutique Hostel Joyce
#8 of 138 in Pula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartment Sonja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartment Sonja

Property: Apartment Sonja
Address: Trierska Ulica 5, Pula 52100, Croatia (Formerly Hostel Sonja)
Location: Croatia > Istria > Pula
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Pula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartment Sonja is situated in downtown in a quiet, peaceful street (Trierska street no.5) in town center, which is one a minute walk away from the town square Giardini as well as from the Roman monuments 'Golden Gate', 'Twin Gates', 'Coloseum', fortress 'Kastel'. 100 meters from the apartments there are cafes, shops and City (green and fish) Market. We offer our guests excellent privacy, because we have only private bedrooms in our apartment. Bedrooms areas are between 15 and 25 m2 and have a common passage way situated in the middle of apartment.Each bedroom has A/C, satellite LCD TV and access to internet (Wi-Fi). Two bedrooms have a matrimonial bed and one bedroom have two twin beds (plus one spare bed).Apartment has a kitchen and dinning room (common room) with computer which guests share as well as a terrace with table and chairs for each room separately. Apartment has 2 bathrooms with a washing machine which the guests can use for free.Blue room is twin room with capacity of 2 persons plus 1 person (twin bed) 25 m2. There is an extra bed to be placed on the guests request . Room includes A/C, satellite LCD TV, internet access (Wi-Fi). You will have to share the kitchen, dining room (public room) with computer, and the bathroom which is for use with room for two people. The rooms also have table and chairs on the terrace and you get free of charge use of the towels, linens, laundry.Green room is a double room with a capacity of 2 persons (matrimonial bed) 16 m2. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Apartment Sonja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing