We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, excellent staff in the restaurant and bars. Excellent choice of hotel organised activities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Plaza Histria Pula
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Pula
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel, excellent staff in the restaurant and bars. Excellent choice of hotel organised activities”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Park Plaza Histria in Pula is a great hotel. The people are its greatest asset; especially the people working in the restaurant, pool bar and running various activities for the guests.
If you are Thomson’s “all inclusive” guest, then it is not all-inclusive, you will be charged for using the mini bar, any room service, non-local alcoholic drinks as well as other items, for example milk shake, cocktails etc. In fact the choice of alcoholic drinks is very limited and rather a disappointment.
Airport
Pula airport is a small airport with efficient staff at immigration and customs. As the airport is small, it does not have the docking facilities the passengers have to use the steps. , this is a great experience. It takes about 30 minutes to get out of the airport. Airport staffs are very good and courteous.
From the airport, the travelling time to the hotel is about 45 minutes.
Hotel
The hotel is modern and clean. Beach is five minutes away; however, the beach is rocky rather than sandy. The check-in process is efficient and quick. As “all-inclusive” guest, you are given a wristband to identify you as an all-inclusive guest. This band is your passport to breakfast, lunch, dinner and local alcoholic drinks from the bar (reception and pool).
All the rooms have television, minibar (you have to pay) two single beds and a sofa bed, there is tea and coffee-making facility, however we had to make daily request for additional coffee /tea bag and milk as the maid (room cleaner) was very economical with the supply. Also, the maid did not make the beds, other than to fix the pillows and quilt.
Eating/Drinking
The food and service are excellent – the best aspect is the main buffet restaurant and the pool bar. The reason for this is the people who work are very friendly, helpful and courteous and will go the extra mile to make your meal and experience as enjoyable as possible. Restaurant has variety of dishes and has vegetarian choices. The people in the restaurant ensured that we had choice of vegetarian dishes and were prepared to cook additional dishes to ensure that we had a good meal. Similarly, the people in the pool bar who made regular rounds to ask if anybody needed any drinks, food, etc.
There are a number of restaurants in the resort, however, this are not included as part of Thomson all-inclusive deal as such you will have to pay.
Activities
The main activity is sitting in the sun and relaxing. The seawater is blue/green, it is clean and clear which helps when swimming. The beach is five minutes from the hotel. The hotel has gym, spa, outdoor and indoor swimming pool (filled with the sea –water – no need to go swimming in the sea). The hotel provides a number of activities, from Aqua aerobic to Tabata (high intensity exercise), Pula sightseeing tour, nature walk, cycle ride, vine testing and many more. In the evening there is a live singing by local artists, song are mostly in English. One day a week, you have local musicians who come and sing at your tables.
The other main activity is sitting in the sun and just relaxing.
Sightseeing
The hotel organises a sightseeing tour to Pula as part of the activities mentioned above. The hotel staffs that are very knowledgeable and know all the short cuts to the sites so you can see most of the sites within half a day accompany you. This trip is using the local public transport. The one way cost is 11Kuna per person. I would recommend that you go with the hotel staff.
There are other major sites, which are necessary, these are:
1) Brijuni National Park –It is a national park and has exhibits of President Tito’s personal items as well as photographs of Non –Aligned leaders. Also has animal sanctuary/zoo. This trip is by boat.
2) Ravinj – this is a tourist place. People are friendly and very helpful. Old town has cobbled small streets, which are crowded in the summer periods. Also, I would suggest your wear trainer or something with the grip as all the cobbled stones are smooth.
3) Pula – visit the city as part of the activities mentioned above.
4) There are trips to places in the neighbouring countries, such as Venice, Lake Bled, etc.
I have rated this Hotel as 4.75/5
Hotel Facility – Excellent 5
Hotel Restaurant – Excellent 5
Pool Facility – Excellent 5
Hotel organised activities – Excellent 5
Room/ maid service – needs improvement 3
No Smoking - Very poor 0

Summary
Great hotel, excellent staff in the restaurant and bars. Excellent choice of hotel organised activities. Would recommend the hotel

Room Tip: Sea front rooms gives the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Management at Park Plaza Histria Pula, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are very pleased that you had an excellent stay and that you enjoyed the indoor pool, our rooms, food and service.
On a more negative note, we are deeply sorry for the inconvenience that you may have experienced in regards to the room cleaning service. All of your kind remarks will be shared with our Housekeeping Manager.
Thank you once again for your nice review and when you plan a return please do contact us at booking@arenaturist.com with any enquiries or requests.

Kind Regards,
The Park Plaza Histria Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    643
    445
    117
    17
    9
See reviews for
280
621
25
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Absolutely the best! Stunning location, with the beautiful Adriatic at your doorstep, fantastic facilities, great food and just the best in service from friendly, smiling staff - the pool staff are the best of the bunch, Ana and Ira just making every day even more special. The hotel rooms are large, well decorated, well appointed and have some of the most comfortable beds you can imagine. Live music every night (not always my taste, but in general not bad), great options on on-site restaurants, good food, with options of package or pay as you go. The only slight negative - if you are a Club Carlson member, unlike other Club Carlson venues, you have to present your card every time you eat, otherwise you lose out on the discounts available - only found this out halfway through a 10 day stay.

Room Tip: Rooms in the left wing (sea facing) get hit by the afternoon sun and can be hot during an afternoon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Management at Park Plaza Histria Pula, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Park Plaza Histria for your stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the location, the facilities, our gastronomic offer and most importantly the friendliness of our staff.
Park Plaza Histria has several Food & Beverage points and therefore in order to get benefits from the Carlson membership a loyalty card is required for identification. We would like to wish you all the best and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
The Park Plaza Histria Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We have just returned from a week's holiday at this hotel, which was quite simply stunning and beautiful. This hotel ticked all the boxes for a holiday relaxing in the sun. We were impressed with everything from the views, the room, the food and the drinks! We were travelling with Thomson and have read that some guests were dissatisfied with the service and the range of drinks provided. First of all I have to say that these people who have complained are very mistaken. This was an 'AI package' arranged by Thomson for their guests, it is not an AI hotel. If you want that experience then go to the Caribbean and pay a lot more money for being the only guests on the complex. This is not like that at all. You are paying about £100 extra for a package that includes beer, wine, local spirits and soft drinks, water and coffee. This is a very welcome bonus. We went to a similar HB holiday in Croatia last year and had to buy all of these drinks. It cost a lot more than the AI package and so we were very happy with this option. We had good service and enjoyed everything we could. The staff work 7 days a week and do long hours and mostly serve you with a smile. I liked the fact that we were sharing the hotel and the lovely beach areas with other Europeans and locals and not just Brits. For this reason you have to accept that you cannot be provided with endless drinks and free sunbeds as practically this is not possible for the hotel. By the way this is the only hotel I have stayed in where the manager comes and checks the food and hygiene at meal times. It was always spotless and I did not suffer at all with any stomach problems which can be problematic in AI buffet restaurants. I would highly recommend this hotel. Go and enjoy it! It is beautiful and the staff care about your well being and enjoyment. I would love to return one day. Thank you to the staff for making this such a memorable and enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: All rooms would be good. We had a sea view that looked like the photo from the brochure was taken fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Management at Park Plaza Histria Pula, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very grateful you have found the time to write a review about our Hotel Park Plaza Histria and especially to hear you liked the overall experience. It's with great pleasure that we read that you were impressed with everything; starting from the room to our gastronomic offer and beverage selection.
We all wish you all the best and look forward to seeing you in the nearest future in our hotel!

Kind Regards,
The Park Plaza Histria Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We booked this hotel based on the good reviews and was not disappointed. The hotel was fresh and new, had many cool design elements and was all in all very comfortable. The breakfast was amazing and I wish my tummy had more storage for the yummy food they served. The area and amount of people there was a surprise to me. We have never been on a charter holiday and when we go travelling we often go to less touristy places than this. I prefer places that are less crowded, but I absolutely enjoyed the four days we spend here. The area is approx. a 10 min busdrive from Pula and is child friendly.

If you’re looking for a comfortable and clean hotel near the sea, and don’t mind other tourist surrounding you, I would absolutely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: We had a room with seaview, recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnimalAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Management at Park Plaza Histria Pula, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Park Plaza Histria for your stay and for writting a review about it. We are happy to hear that you found our hotel comfortable, fresh and new. Also, knowing that you enjoyed that much our gastronomic offer is our great pleasure. If you do plan a return in the future, please do reach out to our team at booking@arenaturist.com, and they will be more than happy to assist you further.

Kind Regards,
The Park Plaza Histria Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed between 19th to 26th of July, enjoyed hotel and trip very much. The hotel is situated in a resort so naturally there are some services included in the hotel and some that are then extra via the resort. For example the hotel had a smallish outdoor pool with free sunbeds and towels - but nearby there was a better pool that you could pay for.
The hotel had services of its own, exercise classes, trip to the city etc, that were free to guests.
The only real downside to the whole experience was in the cleaning services - bed not made perfectly, some glasses not changed, forgot to clean one day.. As a partial minus I would also note the english language skills of the reception. You got by, but wondered if things were at times fully understood.
Overall, the hotel and the surrounding resort had so many services to offer at reasonable deals that for the first time in my life I went under budget for money spent during the trip.
Highly recommended, for once one was staying at the best hotel in the area, and not looking at another hotel and wishing you would have booked that instead.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Management at Park Plaza Histria Pula, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased to find out you have enjoyed our hotel with its services. Your comments about the cleanliness and language skills of our receptionist will be shared among the Management team and discuss internally.
Hoping to see you again soon within one of our facilities we send you our best regards!

Kind Regards,
The Park Plaza Histria Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stayed at Park Plaza Histria along with my family for one week (23rd July-30th July) and we are all now in agreement that we ought to have booked for two weeks or ten days! The exterior of the hotel was stunning with gorgeous views of the clear turquoise sea metres from the complex. On entering the hotel lobby to soft, live piano music I was speechless at the wonderful, modern design and high-class look of the lobby/bar/reception area. On the whole, the hotel was perfect- the design of the rooms was really first rate and the beds were exceptionally comfortable and of excellent quality. I cannot fault the cleanliness of the room, the bathroom (which were cleaned daily) or any of the public areas including the indoor and outdoor pools and their facilities, which were amazingly presented. The buffet restaurant was fantastic with an excellent selection of high-quality delicious meals; catering for all tastes with local and international dishes on offer. Another of the many factors that really makes this hotel stand out from the crowd was the staff; every single member of staff that I encountered at this hotel was exceptional! Incredibly polite, courteous and friendly; even when passing in corridors and around the hotel they greeted you with warmth and enthusiasm. Every single thing at this hotel was top-notch and of exceptional quality. The small details really made this hotel, such as the sunbeds and furniture on the balconies being made of wood, not plastic. Overall an absolutely fantastic stay at an exceptional hotel in a beautiful country. Thank you Park Plaza Histria, I cannot praise you enough!

Room Tip: I am in no doubt that whatever room you book you will have an exceptional holiday!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Megan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Management at Park Plaza Histria Pula, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your kind impression of our hotel and courteous & friendly staff. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel in all aspects, from the interior design to the gastronomic offer. Also, it is a pleasure to know that we were able to exceed your expectations.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again for another enjoyable stay.

Kind Regards,
The Park Plaza Histria Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, UK
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a one week holiday to the Park Plaza Histria in Pula (mid July). I read all reviews before we went and took everything into account, however, I did go with a completely open mind and formed my own opinions. Flight from Manchester to Pula was only 1hr 50 mins which was great, Pula airport was small but very efficient in getting us from the plane to the coach transfer which was quite upmarket.
We were the second drop off (only 2 drops on the coach). On arrival to hotel we were greeted by a porter. Check-in was straightforward and quick. Hotel lobby was large, immaculate, modern and very impressive. Room was large, modern and again immaculate. Balcony view was ok, we had a side view of the marina and the front of the hotel.
The grounds/resort complex was large and beautiful. Next to the restaurant there was a large sun deck with tables and chairs/sun loungers/a shaded terrace area. Downstairs, a very large indoor pool, an outdoor pool of reasonable size and sun loungers. There were obvious 'best positioned' sun beds on offer by the pool - like every hotel, you get the 'lounger crew' who are out there reserving their sun beds at 4am... Seriously! 8 sun beds in fabulous positions lay unused with towels reserving them from 8am-3:30pm. Staff were made aware of this but nothing happened... I personally thought that that was unacceptable.
The hotel is located in a fabulous position which showcases magnificent views, the best I have seen at any hotel. There are day beds scattered around the resort. There are cobbled beaches located within a 5 minute walk of the hotel, quite noisey we found, compared to the tranquil setting of the hotel. The yacht club was a couple of minutes walk which is right next to the sea, where you can swim and we did. Very nice and it was sectioned off too - beware of sharp stones etc on the ground/varying depths when in water.
Just along from the hotel are a couple of restaurants/bars. Some nice shops, including a supermarket, most at very good prices. There were approx 8 shops roughly. We didn't go into Pula centre as such, so can't comment.
Entertainment was very good. There was an open air concert with a live band one night when we were there, playing music from every decade - brilliant! A couple of evenings there were some keyboardists playing chill out/relaxing music out on the terrace - beautiful setting. Another night there were 2 male guitarists and a female singer singing acoustic versions of a mixed bundle of songs, again very good. An Istrian food tasting event was on at dinner and another male and female duo played on another evening.
On Friday lunchtime, there was a BBQ. We were personally unimpressed - it was located in the 'garden' sort of section and was swarming with bees as there are loads of flowers etc. There was not the normal selection of food. We ended up leaving there and taking our plates up to the terrace because of the bees.
The restaurant - self seated, plenty of room, very busy at breakfast and dinner. I am a very fussy eater but always found something to eat. There was not in my opinion a massive selection compared to other hotels we have stayed in. The food featured some Croatian delicacies of which I would compare to Ikea food... Ok, but not quite right... Got very fed up with the food very quickly... There was a section that had a 'Thomson' sign on it, I can only assume that that was where the Thomson guests (which we were) were meant to sit etc. Which takes me to some things that Thomson guests are not made aware of when booking the hotel, but should be made aware of in our opinion.
We travelled 'All inclusive' which we always do, clearly a mistake at this hotel. In all hotels we have stayed in, AI means AI, not selected things... On the first day, we went to use the snack/pool bar (ice creams, snacks and drinks) to be abruptly told that we were not allowed the use of the snack bar... We could have drinks (which I will come back to) and that was all. Thomson guests were instead given their 'snack time' from 4-6pm in the previously mentioned garden area, where we could have ice cream and Croatian style cakes. We got used to this, however, it would have been useful to have been told about this prior to booking. Also the 'locally produced soft drinks', were a massive problem. The hotel do not do Diet Coke or Cola Light. They only have Coca Cola and Coke Zero. However, as we were AI, we were clearly not of importance and were given, in my opinion, undrinkable soft drinks. I ordered a Coke Zero and I watched the barmaid pour water then ice into the glass, then half a plastic bottle's worth of Coke Zero (which was lying open when I arrived at the bar!!) into the glass... Another time I ordered a Coca Cola and again I watched as I was given half water/half what tasted like a flat, cheap Coca Cola substitute. The same with Sprite etc. The 'Fanta' was fine from the snack bar but not the lobby bar. I ended up by the 3rd day, going to the supermarket and buying fresh orange juice and asking for a glass with ice from the bar -Something I have never had to do in the past. I also watched a non AI guest asked for a Coke Zero and who was given a glass with ice and a freshly open glass bottle of Coke Zero... Not impressed.
In all my holidays abroad I have never ever had to make a complaint about anything (We are generally easily pleased and very laid back), however, we found ourselves complaining about the staff. Approx half of the staff at the hotel, we genuinely found to be very rude and unpleasant. NOT all staff, just some, particularly at the lounge bar. On a number of occasions, my husband or I politely asked for drinks and we were huffed at, given dirty looks, ignored and on most occasions had our drinks literally slammed down in front of us, to the point of where we took it in turns to order drinks/felt very uncomfortable ordering drinks. The Thomson's rep was fantastic, however, she was able to name the staff members I was talking about... Why has something not been done we asked...
Overall, the hotel looks wise was fabulous, best we have ever stayed in. We would return in a second had it not been for 3 things - the attitude of some staff, the undrinkable soft drinks and some of the slightly strange food.
This review is our honest experience of this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the marina. All rooms come with a large balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank shopaholic83_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Management at Park Plaza Histria Pula, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed review about your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the room’s view, the hotel’s position and our entertainment. What surprise us mostly is that you weren’t satisfied with the attitude and service of certain members of our staff, as we pride ourselves on offering a genuine, individual service to our valued guest’s.

Please rest assured that we have taken preventative measures to ensure that the guest experience in certain areas is improved. Therefore, all of your comments have been shared with the relevant departments for review and further improvement. .
We appreciate that you shared your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Kind Regards,
The Park Plaza Histria Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pula
0.5 mi away
Park Plaza Arena Pula
5.3 mi away
Park Plaza Belvedere Medulin
0.5 mi away
Brioni Hotel
Brioni Hotel
#17 of 31 in Pula
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
763 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oasi - Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Villa Vulin
Villa Vulin
#8 of 31 in Pula
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Histria Pula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Histria Pula

Property: Park Plaza Histria Pula
Address: Ulica Verudella 17, Pula 52100, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Pula
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pula
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pula
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pula
#3 Family Hotel in Pula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Histria Pula 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Plaza Histria Pula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Histria Hotel Pula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing