We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and location slightly let down by service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Plaza Histria Pula
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Pula
Certificate of Excellence
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel and location slightly let down by service”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We spent a week in this hotel from 16-23 July. The hotel was apparently renovated around a year ago and is of an extremely high standard of decor and cleanliness. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom facilities were great and we had a lovely view of the marina from our balcony. We went all inclusive through Thomson and whilst I could not fault the food, in particular the meal we had in the gourmet Istrian taverna, which was beautiful, I did feel that as the hotel has only recently started doing all inclusive, and that most of it's guests were half board, they struggled to know how to deal with the all inclusive guests. I've stayed at a similar hotel in Greece and the staff constantly brought us drinks, ice creams, cold flannels etc, but here we were largely ignored and had to hunt down a waitress to get a top up of poor quality pop or cheap and weak local beer and wine. This sounds like we didn't have a great time, which is far from true. The location was perfect and we enjoyed a day trip with Thomson to Rovinj which I would highly recommend, and also a walking tour of Pula from the hotel's entertainment staff. This trip was free save for the small cost of the local bus and the two hotel tour guides were very pleasant and knowledgeable. The hotel provides evening entertainment which was a bit hit and miss and had a "Eurovision" element to it, but a 5 piece male band singing in Croatian was suprisingly beautiful. We also enjoyed a couples massage at the spa which again I would highly recommend. If the hotel hires a few more staff (and gets a few of their existing staff to cheer up a bit) and realises that all inclusive guests are just as important as half board guests, albeit we have paid up front for drinks, this would be a 5 out of 5.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bawhorsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Management at Park Plaza Histria Pula, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the location, the high standard of decor and cleanliness as well as the room.
Above all the remarks that you have raised, we are most shocked to read that members of our staff were inattentive in any way, as we pride ourselves most highly on the level of service that we provide.
Your feedback in regards to the local wine and beer, the amenities and the service have been made known to the relevant departments, and they will be using it in order to make positive improvements wherever required.

Looking forward to seeing you anytime soon in our hotel!

Kind Regards,
The Park Plaza Histria Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    445
    117
    17
    9
See reviews for
279
620
25
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We recently returned from 14 days, and would agree with most of the previous comments made , 're the 'all inclusive' .....that seems to be what lets it down. There definitely needs to be more staff to serve drinks- not only for all inc, but also for those that are paying but simply have to wait too long for anyone to serve them! We saw people attempt to get served and they gave up and left, which from a business point of view obviously isn't good. Lunas bar is a beautiful space but never staffed, so you were never able to make use of this facility. Room service needs to be standardised...occasionally things were not replenished such as milk and shower gel, which I feel could easily be rectified. Mini bar was not included in the all inc package either...other friends that have been on these sorts of hols tell us this is most unusual. Plus points....on the most part staff are very good...as another review stated, Ira from the beach bar and Dean are excellent- really hard workers, professional and lovely. Treatment in spa was ok, but it was cut short by 10 mins. The indoor pool was fab- big, quiet most of the time, so great for exercise laps or just to cool off. The room was beautiful, we had great views. The hotel is spotless , food had good selections, just a shame there wasn't more outdoor space to enjoy the meals..these seats were always fought for! I really hope that Thompsons and the management will take these comments on board as it is such a lovely place , I would certainly return and would love to see the few negatives turned into positives to complete the overall experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ann o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Management at Park Plaza Histria Pula, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed review about your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you found our staff professional and lovely and that the room, food and the indoor pool were also to your liking. In regards to your comments, you may rest assured that actions are put in place for improvement in the areas concerned as the hotel management is constantly looking into areas of improvement to better serve our valued guests.

Thank you very much once again for your constructive feedback, and for staying with us at the Park Plaza Histria.

Kind Regards,
The Park Plaza Histria Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nadege75
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2013

But I'm still there...waiting for the end of the week to tell you if the situation is better....not sure.
Problems in this hotel is...service from the reception !

From the beginning of the week I had lots of “NO“ or “it's not possible“ at the reception.
Can I have a Better room ? NO
I reserved a queen bed, can I have what I reserved for ? NO
Maybe during the week ? NO
Do you have a map of this resort ? NO
Do you have a charger ? NO

If you need anything, this place is for you !

And...buy the way...I think that for the price I'm going to pay this week, I can expect to have my room kleen every day...no ? Is that to much to ask ?

Can I have 20 % of discount at the end of the week ?...


For the rest, hotel is nice, big, rooms are well design, nice choice of pictures every where.
Pool is really cool, with a view ! Staff of the pool is very nice.

Breakfast is also nice, with a nice staff too.

Location is ok...but If I had to choose now, I'll find a hôtel in Rovijn. Better location in Rovijn, much nicer town too...An other time maybe.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nadege75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Management at Park Plaza Histria Pula, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Park Plaza Histria for your stay and for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. First and foremost, we must apologise for the concerns you have raised. It is quite surprising to read that our staff wasn’t helpful and that they weren’t able to serve you in the right way. Anyhow, please note that all of your remarks don’t reflect the high standards of our hotel. Rest assured that we have discussed this with the concerned department for immediate action.
We look forward to your return for a greater experience.

Kind Regards,

The Park Plaza Histria Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Just arrived back from 7 lovely days in Croatia. We could not fault the cleanliness and location of the hotel, and most of the staff were really helpful and friendly - hats off to Ira, Anna and Dean, who worked their socks off, give them a gold star! Beware of Ljubljana in the lobby bar, if you're 'all inc' it's more like 'all excluded'. We tipped the other staff for good service, needless to say she didn't receive any kuna from us. Bad attitude.
The drinks were very limited as other reviews have said, and compared to other all inc we've stayed at , it did feel more like full board. No lunchtime snacks for the kids, ice cream limited to between 4 and 6. Having said that, none of us starved !
The all inclusive option needs work here, but I would love to return in the future.
Ps. If you plan to swim in the sea, there are lots of sea urchins so take surf shoes with you.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Management at Park Plaza Histria Pula, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found most of our colleagues helpful and friendly. Please note that we don’t have an employee named Ljubljana. In regards to the all inclusive offer, we will take all of your suggestions on board and discuss them internally.
We hope to see you anytime soon in our hotel, hopefully for another greater stay!

Kind Regards,
The Park Plaza Histria Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

went on a 1 week all inclusive holday with thompsons. great hotel great location great staff, but not an all inclusive hotel some bars you had to pay,ice creams you had to pay, and one one allowed in the a la carte restuarant but offered a different menu to the paying customers made you feel a little uncomfortable,but overall a good holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lozhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Management at Park Plaza Histria Pula, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location, staff as well as the overall hotel. Your feedback about our Food & Beverages offer will be shared within our team. You may rest assured that the hotel management is constantly looking into areas of improvement to better serve our valued guests and therefore we welcome all of your suggestions. Looking forward to see you anytime soon in our hotel!

Kind Regards,
The Park Plaza Histria Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Myself and my wife stayed here for a week break at the start of June 2013. The hotel itself I could not fault. The presentation of public areas such as the pool and reception where excellent and the rooms where chic and well presented. Other facilities such as the Spa (had to pay extra) and the gym where also second to none I have seen all the over the world. The hotel is located some way out of Pula itself however a regular public bus service is available off site (around a 5minute walk to the front gates). The hotel also forms part of a larger complex which seems to be aimed at Croatian travellers and within it contains a range of shops and restaurants.

The food in the hotel, in my opinion, was excellent. Plenty of range and always fresh when we ate. I must stress though, no conventions etc where on during our stay which may explain other reviews. One gripe was the drink situation which the tour operator could be as much to blame as the hotel. With it being the first year of all inclusive only a small range of drinks (beer, x1 vodka,x1 rum and x6 brandy) where on offer. For some reason my wife couldn't have vodka and lemonade despite both lemonade and vodka separately been available on the all inclusive. Equally annoying was when I purchased international brand spirits outside the AI menu, I was charged a further £3 for half a coke instead of them using the available all inclusive mixer.

Lastly we came to the hotel to totally relax and spend time together (we are early 20's) which we achieved. That said some light night time entertainment would have been nice. Both me and my partner enjoyed our stay at the hotel and would definitely recommend to friends and family. A final few touches and experience in the all inclusive would make it second to none in Croatia and I found the staff to be an asset to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MStephenson18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Management at Park Plaza Histria Pula, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Park Plaza Histria for your holidays and for taking the time to write a detailed review. We are glad to hear that you have had a pleasant stay and that you found our hotel chic and well presented. Having said that, please note that we offer as part of the all inclusive offer all the long drinks as stated in the brochure. Unfortunately we are not able to offer additional cocktails and long drinks if they are not included in the offer such as vodka lemon.

Once again, thank you for your kind remarks. We all look forward to seeing you in the future in our Park Plaza Histria!

Kind Regards,
The Park Plaza Histria Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel and like many of the reviews it is a beautiful 4 star hotel, spotless in all areas, very good food, comfortable rooms and has fantastic views across the verudela peninsula. Here's the BUT...as a inclusive guest there is not a lot of variety of drinks you can have and more to the point were you can have them ! same for the place's were you eat, it seems you eat most of your meals in main buffet restaurant there is two other restaurant's but you can only eat there once per stay and even then your given a limited menu to choose from. We spoke to the hotel manager who is very approachable and seemed happy to receive feedback from guest's, he explained the inclusive package deal to us a lot clearer than the Thomson rep did. It is a limited all inclusive deal and although there was a BUT I would still give this hotel a 5 star rating I think it is Thomson who need to make this limited all inclusive deal more clearer on there web page, I'm sure they have but in small print.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank liverpool0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Management at Park Plaza Histria Pula, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and for your recent stay with us. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the comfort of the room, the view across the peninsula as well as the quality of the food. In regards to your comments about the all inclusive offer, we have shared them with our Food& Beverage Manager.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel!

Kind Regards,
The Park Plaza Histria Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pula
0.5 mi away
Park Plaza Arena Pula
5.3 mi away
Park Plaza Belvedere Medulin
0.5 mi away
Brioni Hotel
Brioni Hotel
#17 of 31 in Pula
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
761 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oasi - Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Villa Vulin
Villa Vulin
#8 of 31 in Pula
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Histria Pula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Histria Pula

Property: Park Plaza Histria Pula
Address: Ulica Verudella 17, Pula 52100, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Pula
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pula
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pula
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pula
#3 Family Hotel in Pula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Histria Pula 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Park Plaza Histria Pula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Histria Hotel Pula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing