We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Canaria
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveler rating
17
6
0
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
6
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsuseful adviceedvardbalconiestaxiaccommodationrovinj
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 25 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Shortly after we booked via booking.com, Edvard (Villa owner) contacted us and asked if we needed any help with airport transfers. After checking out various other options we went with Edvards offer (far cheaper).

Our flight arrived 30 minutes early but our driver was still there in clear view with our name on his board. We were then escorted out to the car park and taken to Villa Caneria in a new air conditioned car.

Upon arrival Edvard came straight out to great us and helped us with our bags to our room.

Our room was spacious enough, with a comfy bed, wardrobe, mini kitchen, dining table and large balcony. The bathroom was a modern fitted suite compromising of sink, toilet and power shower.

After we had settled in we went back downstairs to check-in. This was a straight forward procedure, and Edvard then gave us 2 maps and pointed out the local beach, cafés etc..

Later that day Edvard arranged for a taxi to take us to/from Pula centre, half the price of a regular taxi, 60kuna vs 100kuna. The taxi was waiting for us at the pick up point on time. Again, a modern air conditioned vehicle.

When we had finished our stay and were ready to move on to our next destination, Ljubljana (Slovenia) Edvard stepped in and offered to take us. Our other options were taxi (£200) or a 4-5 hour coach. All Edvard asked for was petrol money and toll money which came to £56. He even got hold of a child seat for our baby. Needless to say I tipped him.

I can honestly say our stay there was fantastic, anything we needed Edvard arranged. He went way above and beyond our expectations.

I have no negative comments about Villa Caneria, you will not regret booking here.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank Kazriina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edvard_canaria, Manager at Villa Canaria, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice comments and for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your holiday and our apartment. Providing excellent customer service is my main priority and I’m happy to know that you notice my efforts. It would be my biggest pleasure to welcome you anytime soon!

Kind Regards,
Edvard Mjeda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We just spent a week at Villa Canaria as we were going to the festival in Pula, we had the best time, Edvard was really great he went above and beyond to make our stay amazing. He arranged our transfers to and from the festival every day, to the airport and transfers for day trips, he gave us a phone so we were able to contact him at anytime to book taxis which were a lot cheaper than the normal rate.
We were also celebrating my sisters birthday while we were out there and Edvard brought a cake and champagne for her Birthday. Truly the best stay and the villa was bigger than it looked on the virtual tour, and was such good value for money can't fault it.
We didn't spend much time in the area but there is a little beach down the road and a couple of restaurants we ate at Oasi one night that was great food and it is just up the road. Would also definitely recommend visiting Venis for the day it was the best!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 140Kristie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edvard_canaria, Manager at Villa Canaria, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review. I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed my hospitality and that you found the accommodation a good value for money. If you plan a return visit, please contact us at edvard.mjeda@gmail.com and I'll be more than help you to assist you with the reservation!
I look forward to welcome you soon!

Kind Regards,
Edvard Mjeda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Villa canaria for 3 nights in late May. The villa itself was nice and the room was spacious and had 2 nice balconies. However, it's located in a very small town with nothing to do. If you stay here, make sure you have a car (or similar) so you can go out during the day and in the evening. The villa is clean and the bed was fine for us. We had a kitchen and a bathroom, which were both suitable. Some of the decoration needs redoing (especially the floors) but this didn't really bother us. But be aware that some of the Lino is a bit lose and you can slip on it.

The local beach is more of a harbour and is dirty because of the boats. We would recommend Medulin or Premantura if you want a beach holiday with a variety of restaurants. However, Istria isn't the best place for a beach holiday.

We found booking a taxi and renting a car through the villa very easy to do. However, it costs quite a lot and would be a lot cheaper if booked online before you arrive (perhaps on a comparison website). We didn't think we would need a car but you do.

In may, lots of things are closed. Which is odd because every thing usually opens in March in the UK. But that's just the way it is. So consider the season.

The staff at the Villa were very friendly and helpful. And we were given useful advice.

The wifi at the villa doesn't work half the time (which may be frustrating if you need to look up places to visit etc).

We would also like to add that the walls in the villa are very thin and we could hear our German neighbours all night long! So perhaps think about the other guests when you stay ;)

Overall, we enjoyed our stay. We didn't find the area very stimulating so probably won't return but if it is your cup of tea, then we can recommend the villa canaria.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rowbow88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edvard_canaria, Manager at Villa Canaria, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for choosing our Villa Canaria for your holidays. I’m pleased to hear that you enjoyed our villa and our spacious room. Also, we would like to thank you for your suggestions about our floor. Please note that we have renovated most of the apartments and therefore most of the furniture (including the floor) is new. If your travel brings you back to Pula, we would be happy to have you once again as our guest!

Kind Regards,
Edvard Mjeda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This apartment is about 5km out of the city, which suited us fine. The city itself is noisy and dirty. This place felt like you were staying with the locals. We checked in and Edvard was there waiting for us. He gave us a map of the surrounding area showing the grocery stores, beaches and restaurants, as well as a city map and told us where to catch the bus into the city. He can also help with car hire if you would prefer. Our room was lovely. Clean bed, large balcony. The main drawback was the fridge was tiny, wihch meant we needed to go and buy food for breakfast each day. Edvard was super helpful, if a little difficult to pin down. He arranged a trip to a winery in Istria for us which was incredible. We paid his driver 400 kuna and it was 10 euros each for the tasting but we didn't have to organise anything. Edvard is super busy and catching him to ask questions can be a little difficult but he will happily give you his number so you can track him down if you need to. If you want to be in the city this is not the place for you, but there are lovely clean beaches and restaurants nearby and I really enjoyed staying there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PixieLady_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edvard_canaria, Manager at Villa Canaria, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your impressions on TripAdvisor. I'm happy to hear that you found our room lovely and that you enjoyed your stay here. Please note that we have change the size of the fridge after reading your review and therefore we would like to thank you for your suggestion.
I look forward to welcome you to our Villa Canaria anytime soon!

Kind Regards,

Edvard Mjeda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews