We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable”
Review of Konoba Batelina

Konoba Batelina
Ranked #7 of 164 Restaurants in Pula
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Memorable”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

A taxi driver mentioned this restaurant to us, but said we might struggle to get a reservation. We immediately rang (on a Monday) and were offered a table on the Wednesday which was perfect. This is a small cosy restaurant with charming staff. The food served is what has been caught that morning. We started with a mixed selection of starters: carpaccio of white bream, octopus salad, puree of conga eel with anchovies, sardines, red mullet, shark and mackerel confit, shark liver with onion marmelade. All absolutely divine. We then had a bowl of mussels, clams and Noah's Arks (a local speciality, like a large mussel but with more texture and flavour), followed by scorpion fish. Again, all absolutely divine. We had a large carafe of house wine with this. We were expecting the bill to be huge and it really was not. Would love to return there if ever we are in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    46
    14
    9
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Serbian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Didn't disapoint”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

My boyfriend and I, visited this restaurant because of a friends recommendation when they were visiting Pula. They talked so well about the restaurant, that as foodies, we decided we had to go to this restaurant. I made a reservation a month ahead.
Konoba Batelina didn't dissapoint!
It was a little hard to find, since there aren't signs on the streets and its a closed door restaurant.
The atmosphere is wonderfull, very cozy with a beautiful porch.
We went on the waiter's recommendations, based on what we wanted to eat: a cold started fof a broth filled with different mussels and bread; a warm crab and octupus soup with one of the best polenta I tasted; grilled shark fillet with vegetables and a desert of fig with Porto's wine and whit mousse with vanilla biscuits and homemade wildberries cheesecake. All acompanied with white house wine and water. It was perfect!

The cost/benefict of the meal is excelent. We paid around 70€ for the two of us and it was worth every cent.

One of the best meals I had abroad.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarinaADavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“heaven in my mouth”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

shark liver pate with onion jam is amazing, as well as the fish pate. all the starters are divine, to say the least. fish is fresh, and u can choose from several different types of fish, that are brought to you on the plate :) we ate beautifully grilled fish, that was just the righ amount of tasty, salty and crunchy.
fish stew and dessert (chocolate cake with white chocolate mousse and almonds) were also amazing.

we are surely coming back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nnn274873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
520 reviews
373 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Maybe it was an off night”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We went to this place because of recommendations. We drove an our from our hotel with high expectations. We liked the main metal door with the fish design in it and started smiiling. We met the people who seemed very friendly and were seated. The chef came out to greet us and also seemed very kind and friendly. Our waiter was a smiliy professional. Than the food came...
The mixex appetizers were ok at best. The shark liver pate was nice as was the octopus salad with eggs. The raw red mullet was also fairly good. The rest were just normal,nothing special presentations of home style cooking.

We went for the lobster pasta busera as it was in season. We hoped for a nice piccante pasta with lobster. What we got was mediocre at best. For the main course we have selected a beautiful fresh rock fish. The fish was moist, not under or overcooked but the whole thing was not appealing or in any way pleasing the senses, in short pretty flavorless.

I hope we just had a day when nothing came out well for them.
This is pretty much the first time when I was in an otherwise pleasent place with staff that really seemed very kind and sincere, yet the food and the whole experience quite a bit a disapointment.
Good luck.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank SharingIsCaring2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rovinj, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

This is one the best seafood restaurant in Croatia. The quality and freshness of the ingredients is the best you can have. Their cooking is simple yet very very tasty. This is the place if you want to try some "forgotten" and "modest" fishes prepared with no compromise leading to a possibility to get new delightful tastes in you mouth. Highly recommended if you are a serious foodie. The place is pleasant and warm and when you enter you feel immediately at home. The chef David is great character. Bravo!
If you want to eat here book in advance, because the place is small and very popular.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grandemagnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Konoba Batelina also viewed

 

Been to Konoba Batelina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing