We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well Located”
Review of Amfiteatar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amfiteatar Hotel
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Pula
Sydney
Level Contributor
247 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Well Located”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Our stay was comfortable and the service was excellent. Wifi was flakey at best. Breakfast was again pretty average. The room we had looked out onto an awful apartment block typical of the communist era. Still it is next door to the magnificent amphitheater and an easy walk into town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydneysida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    77
    32
    10
    8
See reviews for
14
96
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
98 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

I think the most important thing is what am I paying for?
Pros: the location is good in pula although a busy road that leads Into the town.
Cons: 1. A lady staff! Said this when I asked: sorry I understand I was late in reserving for a hotel car park and it's full. Is there an alternative?
She replied: oh.. You. Can park your car at the carpark along the road it cost 4 kuna per hour.
I replied ok( went out to machine found machine spoiled. Went bk to hotel receptionist)
Er.. The machine is faulty and also for 100 kuna a day. How do we pay 100 kuna with coins?
She replied: oh, you can just park without paying and get a ticket that cost 100 kuna.. Anyway the hotel one cost 75 kuna per day.
I replied: ok

Next moment as we parked and walk into town. Found parking with security and cost 60 kuna a day.....

I rush back to my car but got a fine already( it's a fine!!!!!)
I went to the receptionist again.

Erm how do you pay for the ticket then?
She replied: ANYWHERE!! ( as If I am a Croatian. ) I asked again anywhere? She replies yes anywhere.

What kind of standard is this?

2. Normal room with thin pillow and really can't call the self hotel..
3. Wifi took some time before finally logged in.
4. Breakfast was normal( as per most bnb )

If a choice is given ( was a weekend everywhere nearby is Packed!! )

For the price I would get an alternative. Don't understand
What's with the rating.. ( ANGRY )don't ask me how I paid the fine, and stupid idea for parking like that.

Rating *

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jervis_shen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pula hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Nice people ,great size and designed room, comfortable. Their restaurant serves nice food, the breakfast is sufficient. Just next to the Amfiteathre.The mini bar is not filled, some items are missing, but as we only stayed for 1 night, we were not bothered.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2711070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
173 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

The hotel is pretty much average in every way. Rooms are new and clean but small. The "seaview" is more like parking lot view with the sea in the distance. Bed was hard and staff were nice but didn't always seem to know what they were doing. Food at the restaurant was also average. if you want to stay right in Pula it's an okay choice but maybe a little pricy for what you get.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaseBanun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
Level Contributor
96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We visited Pula for a conference in May, for which accommodations were spread throughout the area. There are more elaborate hotels, but for our needs, the Amfiteatar most fit the bill. It is true, the hotel would avoid many complaints by describing the view more accurately. We stayed in a room with a "seaview" for six days, and then in a room on the top floor which had no window, simply a skylight. "Seaview" is an exaggeration of what one sees from the front side of the building. Even so, it definitely beats "no view." But one can walk across the street to a pleasant little park, and if and when the screens from the construction on the beach come down, it will be easy to experience the sea up close and personal.
That said, the hotel is very clean, the staff delightful, and the outdoor restaurant is first rate. Truffles abound in this area - and the restaurant has a delicious truffled pasta at a price that would be hard to find in most places. The breakfast was good, though choices were limited. Bananas go fast! The wifi problem might be disturbing if it is essential. It was not available on our floor the entire time we were there, but people could access the internet in the lobby. In an emergency the computer at the desk could be used, but the staff could not always do without it. But these are minor matters. How often can you walk out your door and see a glorious Roman amphitheater a block away? And then wander in the opposite direction among other Roman ruins in a jewel-like setting. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahMacDillon_2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed at the Amfiteatar Hotel for two nights in Pula, bookending our tour of Istria.

The first night we were assigned to a room on the small side but entirely adequate for going to sleep and waking up. We were given a wifi code - wifi worked poorly in the room but was fine in the lobby, so I toted the computer downstairs when I needed to do work. The bathroom had good water pressure, the room was clean.

When we returned at the end of our trip, we were given a room on the 3rd floor with skylight style loft windows (nice decorative touch, woken EARLY in the morning by the streaming light) and with a defective shower. The bathroom and bedroom carpet ended up soaking wet, but it wasn't a huge nuisance. The wifi worked better in this room.

The rooms were quiet, the continental breakfast very extensive, and the hotel in general quite modern and attractive. We were given a passcode for the front door to enter/exit during off hours - the code did not work, unfortunately, and I ended up stranded outside the hotel early one morning after a sunrise stroll (wasn't kidding about the skylights!) until a staff member came to my rescue. The front desk is not staffed 24 hours/day.

Its a very nice hotel - its just not an excellent hotel. The location is fine, the rooms were clean and I would recommend it for short stays. It just needs a little tweeking.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nycreba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
227 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We visited croatia for 10 days, flying into dubrovnik, busing to split, and driving from split from split to Istria--Motovon, Rovinj, and Pula and visiting small towns enroute, and busing to Venice from Pula., see prior reviews for motovon and rovinj and tips. This hotel is less than a year old, sleek and modern, with art decoish style rooms and decor, wifi, an elevator,and a roomrefrigerator. The restaurant is said to be one of the best in PUla-we had a coffee on the patio and ate at a pleasant small konoba in the old town, ?Orfige?,a 7 minute walk from the hotel . The amphitheatre, is as well preserved as Rome but smaller, is 50 steps away and the old town, as noted, is a few blocks. Pula is worth a visit for the coliseum. We needed to overnite there to return our Avis car and get the 510am bus to Venice that stops in front of the .amphitheatre, But for this fact, we would have stayed in more charming Rovinj a 3rd night.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pula hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Scaletta
Hotel Scaletta
#10 of 31 in Pula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
2.6 mi away
Park Plaza Arena Pula
2.5 mi away
Park Plaza Histria Pula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Oasi - Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Hotel Galija
Hotel Galija
#12 of 31 in Pula
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pula City Point Rooms
Pula City Point Rooms
#19 of 31 in Pula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amfiteatar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amfiteatar Hotel

Property: Amfiteatar Hotel
Address: Amfiteatarska Ulica 6, Pula 52100, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Pula
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Pula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amfiteatar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Amfiteatar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing