We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“If You want eat fish with sea worm...” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Milan

Hotel Milan
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Milan
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Pula
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If You want eat fish with sea worm...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

From 13th to 17th of February we were in Pula for business.
On the 15th of February, I've made reservation for dinner in the restaurant of Hotel Milan.

We ordered scallops (excellent) and than fish (turbot, I think). But I had a big surprise discovering something disgusting in the fish. I told the waiter. His reaction: 'oh that's a sea worm'. No apologies, as if that's normal. But for us it was not normal at all! We were quite shocked, didn't order anything else and left. Also at that moment no apologies.
We are very displeased by this and like to warn other customers.

Inge M.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank Inge M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    19
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
19
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
129 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

This hotel is owned by a family and also has one of Pula's finest restaurants. We stayed in this hotel for two nights. The staff was extremely helpful and accommodating.

The hotel itself needs a renovation, though. For the price one would assume that the standard of the hotel would be higher. The rooms need makeovers, as they are quite worn and old looking. Also, the beds are too soft. Otherwise the rooms are clean and tidy.

We had requested a non-smoking room, but our room initially reeked of old cigarette smoke. Fortunately, after keeping our windows open during the first day, the smell subsided.

The breakfast is excellent! The staff presses juice from fresh fruits if you want. The buffet is generous with yogurts, cheeses, ham, muesli, nuts, spreads, melon, fresh fruits etc. And the cakes they serve are scrumptious.

Even if you don't stay at the hotel, make sure you try the restaurant if you're in Pula. It is excellent with a wide variety of fish, pasta, lobster, etc. The wines are great and don't miss the cakes they serve as dessert!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

Stayed here after checking the reviews on Trip Advisor and wasn't disappointed. Good rooms and friendly staff. 5 minute drive into the centre of Pula. The restaurant was amazing and the quality of food was first class. If you weren't staying at the hotel and would still check out the restaurant

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KevinaKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwalm
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Located between the old city of Pula in Istria and a couple of beaches.
Hotel Milan is a surprise. The design of the hotel is special.
Great rooms but the restaurant is a MUST DO.
They have a great reputation and are mostly fully booked in the week-ends.
Incredible wine card.
We paid 100 eur pro night for a double.

Room Tip: Don't go in week-ends or season
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FilipBeelprez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Milan for three nights in July and have absolutely nothing bad to say about the place. The food in the restaurant is excellent (we learned that the family run Hotel was up until quite recently only a restaurant, and that the hotel function was added later), the staff is extremely friendly and very service minded and the rooms are modern, clean and well air conditioned.
The only slight minus is that the hotel is situated a bit off-center, but a taxi from the hotel to the town square takes 10 minutes at the most and costs about 50 kunas.
I can warmly recommend staying at Hotel Milan and if you do, I strongly recommend buying the hotels/restaurants own bottled olive oil - it's to die for!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mia_Stockholm_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2010

I stayed here for 4 nights.
The rooms are not that big, but big enought.
Beds are a bit too hard, but again this is a personal feeling.

The service is very good. People are willing to help and are very friendly.
The food is great.
Close to the little city of Pula, that is really romantic.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsLilyV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2009

The family run hotel is in a rather bland 60s building. Inside is comfortable, straightforward and faithful to the time of construction - but in perfect condition. I would't mind having the same decorator do my home, it is a pleasure to the eye. The paintings would do justice to any good gallery.

The service is impeccable and the restaurant is excellent. The only inconvenience is the distance to downtown, slightly too long to walk more than once but there are buses and taxes are not expensive either.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erkkit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pula hotels
1.7 mi away
Park Plaza Arena Pula
1.8 mi away
Park Plaza Histria Pula
1.9 mi away
Oasi - Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Villa Vulin
Villa Vulin
#7 of 31 in Pula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Valsabbion
Hotel Valsabbion
#5 of 31 in Pula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
1.3 mi away
Amfiteatar Hotel
Amfiteatar Hotel
#10 of 31 in Pula
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Milan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milan

Property: Hotel Milan
Address: Ulica Stoja 4, Pula 52100, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Pula
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Pula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Milan 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Milan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing