We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Vodnjanka” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vodnjanka - Trattoria

Vodnjanka - Trattoria
Ranked #6 of 136 Restaurants in Pula
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kastelir, Croatia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Vodnjanka”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Just to clear something up. Vodnjanka is not a brand name. It just means a girl from Vodnjan. The restaurant in Vodnjan, so far as I know, has nothing to do with the one in Pula. They just happen to both go by the same name. The one in Pula is like having a meal cooked by your favourite grandmother. This is the food Istrians eat at home, rather than at a restaurant. Good food, good quality wine selection and inexpensive. I'd eat there every day if it was nearer

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank istracpsboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    69
    18
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Croatian experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We heard about this restaurant in the guide book and it was also recommended by or holiday villa owner. What a fabulous dining experience we had - twice! We went as a group and first time round we had dinner in the roof terrace with fabulous views of the sunset over the rooftops. The house wine was fabulous and us apparently a house blend. The antipasti platter was amazing and had everything on it and all locally produced too. The truffle pate was a new one on us but it did not disappoint. The service was spot on and very friendly. We had a great night. The second visit was mid afternoon and we enjoyed an amazing selection of house specialities with wine if course and whiled say the hours. We would recommend this place to anyone looking for a real Croatian experience. Great value for the money.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scozzieaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great local restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We went to this restaurant due to great recommendations in our Lonely planet guidebook and were not disappointed. It is a short walk from the city center to that neighborhood restaurant, which was full of local people and no tourist trap. They served great Croatian food to reasonable prices, and we had some of the best flavored dishes on our whole trip.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patjens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Vodnjanka from Pula and Vodnjan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

There are two Vodnjanka, one at Pula and one in Vodnjan. My rating is for the one from Pula. The one from Vodnjan the rating would be more than excellent. If you come to Vodnjanka the meal you must is "njoki sa gulašom" and the desert (any) made by Loris. Often they have fish like "sipice na salatu" or similar really tasty and fresh.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stermotich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“average pasta”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

this litle joint is ok if you like pasta.im more of a meat lover so im not rating it good.but for the pssta side it is a good restaurant.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank will k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vodnjanka - Trattoria also viewed

 

Been to Vodnjanka - Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing