We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVELY RESTAURANT” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gina restaurant

Gina restaurant
Ranked #83 of 145 Restaurants in Pula
Price range: $32 - $95
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, European, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Leek, Staffs
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“LOVELY RESTAURANT”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We found this restaurant following recommendations in Lonely Planet. The service and food were excellent. Not much choice for vegetarians ( like me ! ) but they happily fulfilled my request for main course items not on the menu. The waiter ( owner I think ) also helpfully pointed out that my choice of vegetable soup was made using ham bones to make the stock - so I chose the tomato and rice soup, which was lovely.
Do not miss trying the home-made lavender ice cream with hot fig sauce - DELICIOUS !!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank oscardog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    47
    20
    17
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed the location overlooking the ocean. The decor was beautiful and was matched by well presented and delicous food. Considering all of this the price was very reasonable.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best value for the money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

My wife and I visited this restaurant for the first time, and we were totally thrilled.Gina is a small restaurant, but beautifully and tastefully decorated, with a nice view of the sea.Food was very tasty.My wife ordered homemade pasta with shrimps, and I started with pasta with fresh black truffles, and both were delicious.Then fish fillets in wine and aromatic plants sauce for her,and for me shoulder steak of Istrian beef in green pepper sauce.It was great! In the end,we ordered lavender ice cream, and chocolate mousse, both was so delicious, specially lavender ice cream, it was one of the best desserts in my life.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank aldo6ira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
304 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Incredible food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We ate here at the end of May and made a special journey out to Stoja from Pula just to eat at this restaurant. The weather was warm and so we sat outside at the front of the restaurant. Sadly, the road was noisy and there wasn't really any atmosphere out the front. Inside the restaurant however, the décor is beautiful.

Prices: For us this was a real treat and quite expensive; we wouldn't however, have got the same level of food and wine at home in London for the same price, but compared to other restaurants in Croatia, it is pricey.

Service: Initially, the waiter was quite stand offish and rude; it was like he thought we were not his usual clientele and that we couldn't afford it! By the time we left though, he was great, gave us a grappe type drink whilst we waited for the bus back into Pula and pointed out where to get the bus and the times.

Food: incredible! Warm fresh bread served in a little treasure chest! Lovely house white that was very reasonable. For starter we ate the crab ravioli (just divine!) and my husband ordered a pasta with prawns that were so fresh. My main meal consisted of some sautee potatoes, ratatouille and pilchards, that were delicious. They were wrapped in ham and stuffed with cheese - just so yummy! Hubby had something similar: chicken wrapped in ham and stuffed with cheese. For dessert we ate the semi freddo and figs that was outstanding.

If I came back to Pula, I would definitely jaunt out to this restaurant to eat. The food was very good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibiu, Romania
1 review
“Great food, lovely atmosphere, but expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

The restaurant is really lovely with a cozy atmosphere. The food was really good and fresh. Of course we had the lavender semifreddo and it was exquisite. The only problem was they don't accept any card payment.. which honestly is odd nowadays. After all was a fantastic experience, although a little bit expensive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Takac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gina restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing