We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very very good hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel More

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel More
Ranked #7 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very very good hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

I stayed one week in Hotel More close to Dubrovnilk the week of 15th of August. I had a lovely stay in this hotel and most of all I have to give compliments to the restaurants and rthe food in the evening at restaurant More, it was just amazing if you like seafood and good meat, everything had a nice taste of barbecue and everything I tried was delicious, I recommend especially the Bouzzara Mussels that were amazing. The hotel in general is very well located in Lapad, the bay is beautiful and I recommend it rather than staying all the time in Dubrovnik, it's a bit calmer than Dubrovnik, in August very appreciable. The bay has the most crystal clear waters ever and the sea is truly amazing. You must know that there are very few beaches around Dubrovnik, and the beaches are not special. Almost all the bays are rocky and that's what makes the sea so beautiful as well. The hotel is not far from two bus stops, very cheap, quick and practical way to get to Dubrovnik. I recommend visiting Dubrovnik as it is absolutely wonderful city full of charm, it reminds me in some ways of Italy with this very particular mediterranean flair, so had the hotel. The room was nice, we had not a seaview room but a nice shower, a jacuzzi in the bathroom, good beds, nothing to complain about. The small beach 'concrete platform' is very agreeable especially when you see all around the crowded beaches or the people lying on rocks, you are just happy to have your space and your chair on this small concrete platform. The only critic I could make is that the platform is open to everybody including people not sleeping at the hotel, this is quite annoying I have to say and it doesn't make you feel secure to leave your stuff lying around. I had the feeling there was not really any control but maybe I'm wrong. In any case, nothing happened to me neither to others it seemed.The staff was very kind in general.The cave bar is very special and very cute at night. I appreciated all the facility and only recommend a stay in this hotel. Do not expext 5 star like 5 star hotels in Greece or Turkey that have enormous infrastructures fitting to everyone's need. Here you will be in a small family run hotel full of charm, it's not to compare but for Croatia this is a true 5 star comparing with other infrastructures :D Expect a small infrastructure with some defects (the swimming pool is very tiny and kinda crap for example) but overall it's a very very good hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bourlingueuse1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    187
    44
    13
    5
See reviews for
108
530
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Hotel More was in parts lovely - but on the whole I was disappointed. For me, it didn't live up to its 5* rating - or the price.

The good: the location was beautiful - eating breakfast right by the sea, swimming next to the hotel entrance, and sitting in the jacuzzi at night watching the stars and listening to the waves were idyllic. The bus stop was close and buses frequent and very cheap. The room was comfortable and spotlessly clean - quite small, but fine for just one person. The whirlpool bath was a fun quirk.

The less good: I felt it was missing many small but important 5* touches - the breakfast choice was limited, the towels were very thin, the private beach was a concrete platform with deckchairs (it felt a little like swimming off of a car park), the shower wasn't very high pressure, the tv reception was poor, there were no tea making facilities in the room, and my 'garden view' was a patio, some metal venting, and weeds. I also wondered how much some of the staff cared about my stay (though I must stress that others - particularly housekeeping - were very friendly). Several days in, I told reception staff that there was some sort of insect in my bed that bit me badly each night (though after extensive searching I found no traces of the thing and the sheets were obviously changed each day, so no idea how it kept getting in). They said I couldn't change room because they were full, and frankly made me feel very foolish for even raising it as an issue (which I'd thought hard about for 3 days, not liking to make a fuss). Leaving me a fruit basket the next night was a nice gesture - but it didn't alleviate any of the pain from the bites. I suppose I don't know what else they could have done if they genuinely didn't have any other room for my last 2 nights (though really, no rooms were kept in reserve? I was in quite a lot of pain and wasn't sleeping well whilst waiting for the next bite). But the experience still left me feeling they didn't care too much about my stay. Indeed, when I checked out, they didn't even ask how my stay had been.

I've been to some fabulous 5* hotels, so my expectations might be too high, but this just wasn't the luxury experience I'd expected.

Room Tip: My garden view room did not have a view of a garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights after 7 nights in a small, smelly, noisy, below deck cabin on one of the cruise boats so would've been greatful for anything half decent but we were very spoilt!
We paid an upgrade for a seaview and got a large (almost suite) room with a private jacuzzi on the balcony - very nice. The room was well laid out, clean and spacious.
The cave bar is pretty amazing although the weather was still warm enough to sit out on the quay watching the sun set so we sat there. Drinks were reasonably priced and cheaper than home.
Restaurant was very nice although the service wasn't quite there and there was no break between our starter and main course. Although the food we very nice!!

Room Tip: We paid a pretty reasonable upgrade for a junior suite, well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kenton A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Recently returned from a long weekend in Dubrovnik and we stayed at Hotel More. We received a really warm welcome when we arrived and were also treated to a compliamentary upgrade to a delux suite. Had a great stay here, Cave Bar wonderful and watching sunset from balcony amazing.

Room Tip: Delux suite 601 wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nemoie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Our party of four arrived on 3rd of September, 2012 around 11:00 at night. The very nice and very apologetic front desk person informed us they did not have rooms, strange since we prepaid with a travel voucher. They were professional enough to make arrangements with the Rixos Libertas Hotel for us. They loaded our bags into the hotel limo and drove us to the Rixos. The very personable limo driver also apologized for the inconvenience. In order to ease the pain of the change in hotels, the Hotel More, invited us to lunch or dinner at the hotel (which we could not do), provided transfer service to the airport upon our departure and gave us a gift bag containing hotel polo shirts. A very nice touch!

Once we got to the Rixos, we were taken care of very well. We were very pleased with the arrangements provided. The manager talked to us several times to make sure we were happy. Actually, once we got here we we glad because the Rixos is closer to the Old City so it made it easier to get around.

This is the thing that bothers me...even though I was happy with the final results. I considered the Rixos for my stay in Dubrovnik. They were having a room rate special at the time so it was a good price for the room. But I wanted a small, boutique hotel experience. So I paid the higher Hotel More room rate to get that experience. It seems to me that the Hotel More makes out on the arrangement. Hotel More gave us extras to make us happy but I would of preferred to get my money back.

I gave three stars because the staff was so pleasant and apologetic...maybe there was nothing they could really do and they tried their best to rectify the situation. Or am I just naive!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Powaycathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Hotel More is clean, charming, with friendly, efficient English speaking staff. The breakfasts had choices of cooked eggs to your liking with bacon and mushrooms, fresh and dried fruits, yoghurt, juices, water, sparking wine, tea and coffee however you like it. The views are stunning from the swimming pool and the cave bar. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Pay for a sea view and a room in the main part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here on 2nd Sept, 2012-

I really only have one other hotel in Croatia to compare this to, and that is Hotel Bozica in Sipan, which had better service, better pool and better sea area. However, this hotel was a great base for exploring Dubrovnik- an 8-10 Euro taxi ride each way, and the taxis arrived within a few minutes (summoned for you by the front desk).

We booked very early, and Completely Croatia managed to get us upgraded to the Junior Suite with private Jacuzzi on the balcony, which was fantastic. We went in the jacuzzi every morning and night, and the one day it rained. The suite was roomy and spotless, and the bathroom was luxurious.

Staff were pleasant enough, but never went the extra mile that I expected from a 5-star hotel.They kind of just left us alone unless we asked for anything, which I suppose is good in some ways. When we asked about the side trips, they only had basic information. I would have liked some personal tips, etc. We arrived 10 minutes before the close of the buffet breakfast service on the first day, as we had had no sleep the night before travel. Service stopped at 10:30, and at 10:40, they were clearing everything away. We literally had to gulp down our breakfast and chase the waiters putting away juice, etc. For a 5-star hotel, we felt we should have at least been warned they were going to do this so we could get everything we wanted before we sat down. The breakfast itself was not 5 star standard, either. Runny scrambled eggs that sat out all morning, greasy meat, and stale cereal. The fruit was great, though. Too bad the wasps were all over everything-I would have liked covers on more things, too.

Other negatives:

The pool was very small and freezing cold, even though the days had been 25 C and sunny. We found this surprising. The sea area was too difficult to get in, so we never did. It was a very steep ladder, and I just wasn't comfortable going down it backwards. The other option was walking in over sharp, slippery rocks. It was a shame we couldn't really enjoy the pool or the sea. When we did go to the pool to dip our toes in, both times the towels were not available, and we had to go to the front desk to request them.

Overall, if we hadn't had the suite and private Jacuzzi, we would have been disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snupy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#4 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
0.4 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#3 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
3.4 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel More? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel More

Property: Hotel More
Address: K. Stepinca 33, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel More 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel More is an exclusive five-star boutique hotel situated in the Bay of Lapad, one of the most beautiful locations on the area of the City of Dubrovnik. The hotel view of calming green pines, of Mediterranean vegetation abundant with colors and scents, of the glaring azure sea, of rocky cliffs - those eternal stone guards and memorable sunsets, will astonish any traveler and guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel More reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
More Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing