We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Joy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Ranked #10 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Ballymena
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolute Joy”
Reviewed September 13, 2010

I do not usually submit reviews but felt I should make an exception for the Berkeley. Location-wise it was a bit removed from the Old Town which I felt was probably an advantage. However it was within walking distance ( 30mins.) or easily accesible using a 1A, B or C bus- the bus stop being just around the corner from the hotel (approx £1 for a one way trip). The room was spacious, especially the larger suite, room service was excellent and cleanliness exceptional. A wonderful breakfast was provided- the usual buffet type + a freshly cooked hot breakfast which was of the highest standard. The hotel's greatest asset is without doubt the staff. In almost thirty years of travelling both in Europe and America I have never felt more looked after. The hotel is a family-run hotel and almost all the staff are members of the family and every single one of them went out of their way to make us feel at home. From the staff in the dining room to those on reception- everyone played their part and all done with a smile.
A wonderful hotel -and indeed it mirrored the Croatian people who we found to be the friendliest people we have encountered on our trips. Add to this the wonderful scenery - it really is a most beautiful area- almost constant sunshine- and it all added up to a most enjoyable holiday experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denprim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    252
    51
    9
    5
See reviews for
109
526
40
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2010

Just back from a week in Croatia where we stayed for three nights in the Berkeley. The location of the hotel is great - only a 10 minute bus ride from the hustle and bustle of the Old City, but near for the ferry port and bus station.

The staff in the hotel were particularly helpful in particular an Australian girl (with fluent Croaian) who was very friendly, gave us good tips on restaurants and took the trouble to enquire had we enjoyed our meal the next day.

Breakfast was buffet or hot breakfast could be ordered. Food was good and service prompt.

Gruz harbour itself does not have much in the way of bars or restaurans but as its so close to the Old City with the frequent bus,this is not a problem.

Overall would recommend the berkeley to anyone of any age.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AchillHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2010

Less than 5 mins walk from the ferry terminal and a fraction more to the bus station, this hotel is a short bus ride from the old town. The staff were extremely helpful and very welcoming, offering us help with maps, free internet and transport advice. The room was spotless and up to 5 star standard. The breakfast was one of the best on our tour of the Balkans. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 501places
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

We have just returned from this excellent hotel. The staff were professional with a personal touch. We were staying in Dubrovnik for a wedding and the staff arranged transport to the wedding and took time to enquire if we had enjoyed the wedding.

The rooms were spotless and the breakfast buffet was extensive. There was also an option to have a freshly cooked breakfast.

Staying at this hotel was a perfect choice for a perfect holiday.

Many thanks to all the staff at the Berkeley.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Good location handy for the bus to the old town. Staff helpful and friendly. Free parking. Great breakfast including cold buffet and hot food cooked to order. Spacious suite, modern and clean.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magsy41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

As a group of 8, the hotel catered for us extremely well. Staff were incredibly helpful and the breakfast was fantastic.

Whilst the hotel is not in the old town - we preferred this. It is very easy to get around from this hotel and with the helpful staff, you will have a great time.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwigirl101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

We stayed for 5 nights. It is an excellent location in Gruz harbour Dubrovnik convinient to get boats across to other islands and a short bus journey, or a 30 min walk, to the old town. The rooms are modernly furnished with everything you could need. The breakfast was plentiful.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamjarnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#17 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,141 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
912 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 68 in Dubrovnik
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 68 in Dubrovnik
894 reviews
1.4 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,783 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa

Property: Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Address: Andrije Hebranga 116A, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#10 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your home away from home in Dubrovnik...Conveniently located in Gruz harbour, the Berkeley Hotel offers 24 modernly furnished rooms and apartments ideal for travellers making a short visit to Dubrovnik as well as those spending more time exploring the area. Our friendly staff look forward to welcoming you to Dubrovnik and are more than happy to assist in any way possible to make your visit to Dubrovnik memorable. Centrally located in Gruz harbour, the Berkeley Hotel is only 2.5Km from the historical Old Town. Our proximity to the main bus and ferry terminals makes it easy to visit all areas of Dubrovnik and the surrounding region. For those wanting to recharge and unwind, enjoy Berkeleys outdoor pool and sundeck area or feel rejuvenated after a visit to the newly opened SPA at the Berkeley; a newly opened boutique spa opened at the Berkeley in 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing