We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fully deserves it`s high rating!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Parkgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fully deserves it`s high rating!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2010

Just returned from 4 nights at the Berkeley and could not have asked for more from this hotel.A modern building in a nice quiet location and convenient for travel into the city or to the islands.Lovely rooms and very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caroleandkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    246
    48
    9
    5
See reviews for
106
499
38
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
135 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2010

Having read the reviews on Trip Advisor, I was fairly confident that this would suit our needs for a 4 night break in Dubrovnik. We weren't disappointed. We had a lovely view of the sea from our balcony and were able to watch the cruise ships come and go. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful. The place was spotless. Our room a really good size with free use of a safe and a fridge-a big bonus and rare these days even in 5* hotels! The breakfast was simple but adequate, but bit disappointed no pastries available as indicated on menu. The mattress was a bit soft for my liking, but that's a minor point. The bus stop into the old city was only a few minutes walk away. We would definitely recommend this hotel and Dubrovnik is such a lovely place to visit.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynneybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2010

My wife and I recently stayed at the Berkeley Hotel for four nights. The hotel is modern and tastefully furnished in a minimalistic style and the rooms are very well equipped to include air con, TV ,fridge, safe, hair dryer etc. The hotel only provides breakfast which is well presented and certainly adequate for the majority of guests.The hotel is situated off the harbour in a quiet back road and is convenient to bus stop to the Old Town and to many restaurants around the harbour. The harbour is busy with ferries to the islands and visits by the many cruise ships that arrive daily.The hotel has its own car park which is free to customers.This hotel is family run and Katerina and her staff go out of their way to ensure all your needs and comforts are met. Airport transfers are available and also yacht charter. We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and hope others will enjoy their stay as we did.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2010

Stayed at the Berkeley hotel for 7 nights in May. Staff very helpfull and pleasant. Room was a good size and cleaned every day.
Breakfast was good with both hot and cold, good quality food. The waitress in the dining room was very nice.
Located near the cruise port. Just round the corner from the bus stop and only 10 mins to the old town. 2 or 3 bars / restaurants close by.
All in all a good place to stay but if we were to visit Dubrovnik again we would stay in the busier Lapad area.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripper-York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
105 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2010

After reading the accolades already written on here, I was wondering if it was too good to be true, but it really is superb. The hotel and particularly the family who own and run it, have created a quite extraordinary place. The atmosphere is so welcoming; it really felt as if we were staying with friends, nothing was too much trouble for them.

Designed and built to their exacting specifications, no detail has been left to chance. We had a standard double room which was a very spacious and had a full size fridge, which was useful. The king size bed was extremely comfortable and the pillows are bliss! The walls are thick so there is no noise from adjoining rooms, even when you are in the bathroom. The air-con is good and quiet and free and the room was kept spotlessly clean. There was loads and loads of storage space and the shower was lovely, with complimentary shampoo, gel and hand wash.

The stars of the show are the family. The manager, Katerina and her younger sister Eva speak fluent English, having grown up in Australia. They coped with our endless questions tirelessly and gave us really good advice. Free internet access and car parking made life easier too.

The breakfasts are superb, as well as the usual sorts of continental style food, your eggs are freshly cooked to order. Even in some 5 star hotels the scrambled eggs are tepid and congealed, so it was a real joy to eat piping hot eggs with all the trimmings. Our “waitress” was so kind, she chatted to us about where we were going and had gone each day and suggested places for us to go, where to park for free etc.

We ate at the local restaurants every evening and certainly couldn’t complain about the standard or the cost of the meals. Our favorite was the Hotel Gruz Restaurant at Pionirska 4 (the first one after the hotel with yellow awnings and says Pizzeria outside); their pizzas are delicious, better than many I have had in Italy.

A trip northward to the Peljesac peninsula is a great day out. I would allow about 6 hours there and back, which includes frequent stops to view the oyster beds, vineyards and fishing villages and the windsurfer’s beach at the top.

One word of warning, if you hire a car which is a good idea, be very careful about the speed limits. They all drive like maniacs, so we were a bit over-confident and got stopped by the Police for speeding on the road between Mali Ston and Dubrovnik and had to pay an instant fine in cash Kunas! It is as well to keep 300 – 500kn in the car with you, should you be unlucky.

I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and I wish them the continued success which they richly deserve. In fact we wish we could pick up this hotel and take it to everywhere we go!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bellamanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
303 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2010

We stayed for a week at the Berkeley Hotel at the end of May 2010. The hotel is modern and a bit lacking in character but it is excellent value, clean and the service was very helpful and friendly.
Our room was sufficient for us as a touring base. A bed, shower/toilet and the usual furniture. The room was spotless and equipped with air conditioning.
The breakfast was served in the dining room and offered a basic selection of hot and cold food - basic but good and nicely served.
The staff were very helpful and always had a tip when we were venturing out for the day.
The hotel is out of town at Gruz, which is the port area of Dubrovnik. There is a great bus servcie from the port bus top ( about 150m) to the pile Gate of the old City of Dubrovnik. The buses numbers 1A, 1B, 1C, all run the route and one comes every 10 mins.(they run until about midnight) the buse fare is 20kuna one way or you cn buy a 24hr ticket for from the kiosk in gruz for 25kuna.
This was a great spot to stay and if we go back to dubrovnik we will certainly stay there.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Walton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2010

Read all the reports prior to visiting and found the hotel as described. Before writing this report, decided to re-read some of the negative previous reports and found some of them confusing. All I can say is that we must all be different. The hotel was good value for money, not cheap and not expensive, just a fair price. The staff were without exception helpful and friendly. The local buses convenient and reasonable into the old town. There were places to eat in the vicinity although admittedly not that plentiful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and found the fact that it was a 10 minute bus ride away from the old town, quite good. We were able to walk along the harbour front in the evening enjoying the location and slight breeze. We would recomment the hotel to friends.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank melpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#17 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#10 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#4 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
2.4 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa

Property: Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Address: Andrije Hebranga 116A, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#10 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your home away from home in Dubrovnik...Conveniently located in Gruz harbour, the Berkeley Hotel offers 24 modernly furnished rooms and apartments ideal for travellers making a short visit to Dubrovnik as well as those spending more time exploring the area. Our friendly staff look forward to welcoming you to Dubrovnik and are more than happy to assist in any way possible to make your visit to Dubrovnik memorable. Centrally located in Gruz harbour, the Berkeley Hotel is only 2.5Km from the historical Old Town. Our proximity to the main bus and ferry terminals makes it easy to visit all areas of Dubrovnik and the surrounding region. For those wanting to recharge and unwind, enjoy Berkeleys outdoor pool and sundeck area or feel rejuvenated after a visit to the newly opened SPA at the Berkeley; a newly opened boutique spa opened at the Berkeley in 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing