We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Happy days!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Berkeley Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Berkeley Hotel
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Kirkbride, Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Happy days!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We have just spent four very happy days at the Hotel. The apartment was first class, had a sea view and was ideally situated for our purposes, being near the Port. The breakfast was excellent and cooked to order. The staff on Reception, namely Iva, Maria, and Kristina along with Mariyena in the breakfast room, could not have been more helpful. Thank you ladies for making our stay even better!!!

Room Tip: We were in room 22, which is a one bedroomed apartment with a put-u-up bed in the lounge. Very spaci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    244
    48
    8
    5
See reviews for
105
497
37
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Our stay at the Berkeley Hotel was great. The staff were very helpful and kind. The room was large and clean. The breakfast was very good and the hotel was close to a market and the bus stop. Our adapter broke and the staff was kind enough to lend us one.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank g5luder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

The hotel is in a good location close to bus stops and away from melling crowds of tourists. Enjoyable walk into old town 30 mins. Staff very friendly and helpful---special mention to Maria, Eva and front of house lady in breaklfast room. breakfast very good, good choice and cooked to order. Rooms with good space and bathrooms very well equiped Would definitely return

Room Tip: WE were on first floor with outside terrace---no problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sut2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

I booked the hotel primarily for its location, price, and its parking. It was close enough to walk to the old town part of Dubrovnik, though we took a bus there (reception sells tickets, and the bus lines are on the waterfront street just a short walk away). We walked back that evening, though the sidewalks were not continuous for the entire journey. It was much more convenient than being out on the Lapad Peninsula. There are some restaurants by the waterfront as well (we ate at one the second night after returning from Montenegro).

Very nice room. Ours faced the street, which meant our balcony had a view of the water and sunsets (even from just the second floor). With the doors and shutters closed, it was not noisy, even with scooters buzzing up and down the street. We walked to the nearby Konzum supermarket for some groceries, which we stored in the room's reasonably-sized refrigerator.

Breakfast (included with our room) was more than we expected. While they had the usual continental breakfast buffet, they also made eggs to order (fried, scrambled or omelets) at no extra charge.

We never attempted to use the hotel's pool. I did not realize parking was paid, but it was not expensive, and we were in a city, after all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RogerOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Berkeley is located well away from the old city, around a 30 minute walk or a 5 minute ride away, which suited us fine and we enjoyed our two night stay here.

We had a Studio Room which was huge and the room had a very modern feel to it, the view of the sea was a bonus. The hotel has a nice pool, although the water was pretty cold and it doesn't open until 10am!
Breakfast was very good, with a cooked option available.

The staff are friendly and were helpful when we needed taxis, directions etc.

The hotel has free wifi but they issue you a username and password, and you have to enter these every few minutes as the connection keeps dropping (it was the same on all 3 devices) which got pretty annoying after a while.

Overall we had a nice stay and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HA_SWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Spent a wonderful week at this hotel as a base for exploring Dubrovnik and surrounding area. The staff were excellent - welcoming, friendly and helpful. Our second-floor room was spacious and clean, with large balcony and great view over the harbour. Good breakfast - choice of continental or cooked to order (nicely cooked eggs and omelettes).
Good location convenient for buses (choice of services into town either to Pile gate or Ploce gate/cable car station). Also handy for Gruz ferry port and bus station for visiting islands and other areas.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mahonia2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limavady, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
228 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We spent three nights in this hotel in mid September. The staff were excellent; most helpful and informative. Breakfast was also excellent, not the normal 'continental' variety, but cooked on demand.
The medium sized pool was very welcome after a day spent in the Old City

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Talan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#5 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
1.5 mi away
Neptun Hotel Dubrovnik
Neptun Hotel Dubrovnik
#11 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#17 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,983 reviews
2.4 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Hotel

Property: Berkeley Hotel
Address: Andrije Hebranga 116A, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#10 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkeley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your home away from home in Dubrovnik...Conveniently located in Gruz harbour, the Berkeley Hotel offers 24 modernly furnished rooms and apartments ideal for travellers making a short visit to Dubrovnik as well as those spending more time exploring the area. Our friendly staff look forward to welcoming you to Dubrovnik and are more than happy to assist in any way possible to make your visit to Dubrovnik memorable. Centrally located in Gruz harbour, the Berkeley Hotel is only 2.5Km from the historical Old Town. Our proximity to the main bus and ferry terminals makes it easy to visit all areas of Dubrovnik and the surrounding region. For those wanting to recharge and unwind, enjoy Berkeleys outdoor pool and sundeck area or feel rejuvenated after a visit to the newly opened SPA at the Berkeley; a newly opened boutique spa opened at the Berkeley in 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Berkeley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing