We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Ranked #9 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Devon UK
Level Contributor
100 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“A good choice”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The Berkeley Hotel is about a 30 minute walk from the 'old town' which is perhaps a little too far when the weather is baking hot. However, there is a frequent bus service from almost outside the hotel. We chose to take the car but, whilst convenient, it proved to be an expensive option as even though we arrived at 9am there was nowhere to park in the public car parks and the only option was a private car park which cost 35 kuna per hour. Whilst some distance from the old town the hotel is situated near the cruise ship port and there is a very pleasant walk alongside the harbour just a minute or so from the hotel where it was most pleasant to wander during the cooler evening.

The hotel is pleasant enough and a good choice for a stay in Dubrovnik. Our room was very spacious and clean with a comfy bed and excellent shower. We had a balcony with a sea view although the view is somewhat blocked by another hotel directly in front of the Berkeley and the balcony is surrounded by a wall rather than glass so from a sitting position you could see precisely nothing at all which was a shame and rather negated the pleasure of sitting out there.

We found the staff to be helpful and accommodating and the pool, whilst not massive, was large enough to enjoy, with pressured water at one end to give a 'hot-tub' experience. Car parking is in an underground car park adjacent to the hotel but there is a 35 kuna per day charge.

Breakfast was excellent and the best we experienced whilst touring Croatia. As well as the usual buffet selection, the difference with this hotel is that the staff ask you what hot food you want and then cook it to order so you finish up with hot, fresh food rather than an egg that's been sitting on a hot plate for two hours !

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Berkeley and have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    247
    48
    9
    5
See reviews for
106
509
39
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here for a week in may. It is a family run hotel and you can tell, as they do everything they can to make sure you enjoy your stay. The rooms are spacious and clean and I had a view overlooking the pool and gruz harbour where the cruise ships arrive. The breakfast is good with food freshly cooked to your order. The staff were friendly and helpful and could not have done more. There is a small bar in the hotel but you would be sitting in the dining room to utilise it, so never actually saw anyone use it. This was the only negative I found about our time there.

Room Tip: I booked a junior suite which was the same cost as a double room but had more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Effie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2013

When my partner asked if I wanted to come here for a friend's wedding I was very dubious when I heard Croatia. What can I say though, this was an unbelievable place with great views everywhere you look.

The old town is half an hour walk away or 5 mins in a taxi which is a must see day and night. Lapad again is not far away (25mins) walk which has great bar's and places to eat.

The port of Dubrovnik is a beautiful place and would recommend this hotel and city to everyone. Staff were pleasant and helpful an it was clean. This place is a hidden gem. I'm 32 and still like a lively place but this ticked all boxes. Would love to come again!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wozza81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2013

A well placed hotel with easy bus route into the Old City. Clean and comfortable rooms, good breakfast and very helpful staff. The swimming pool, although small, was never crowded and was a great place to relax after a busy day of sightseeing. This was a quiet and well run hotel - good value for a 3* hotel.

Room Tip: You could ask for a room with a view of the port.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahQ4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights. Such friendly and helpful staff. We also had our room upgraded which was nice. Good service with an ok breakfast. The hotel is out of town but only a 7 minute bus ride and buses come every ten minute until 2am so this was not an issue. The pool is very small so don't go there if the pool is a big thing for you. A good basic sweet hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The hotel is not bad... rooms are not wonderful but very clean and comfortable. We didn't see the ones with sea view (maybe are better). The reception was extremely nice, polite and welcoming... Breakfast is good. Location is not very close to city center but there are always bus going to the center and coming back also during the night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giacomo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

First of all I will say I went with 8 friends on a tourist/lads holiday. When we arrived they greeted us in a very friendly manner, asked for our passports and checked us all in at once, which seems a logical thing to do! The rooms are of a good size, and the balconies provide a good view and some fresh air (apart from the extractor fan when the air con is on).

During our stay the staff were more than helpful, as a group we wanted to do a lot of stuff during the day, the staff were helpful in pointing out good places to eat, and also you get a 10% discount if you go to Nostromo down the road, which is a good restaurant. The hotel is very clean and kept well by friendly staff who say hello to you when you see them. Location is only a 30 minute walk to the Old Town of Dubrovnik, so it's comfortable as long as you "lotion up" and keep water on you, refillable when you get to the city for free. If you don't fancy walking then the bus stop is only on the front, 15kn for an hour ticket.

Breakfast is what you'd expect, however we weren't really able to make it as we were out every night, if you're a younger person reading this, Club Revelin and Eastwest Beach Club are where it's at!!! Back to the hotel, it was a great stay, we all had a great time, and can see it being a hotel for everyone.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 3 and 4 have the balcony views looking over the port and the hillside to the North...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MattAgate23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#4 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#14 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,056 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#10 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
2.4 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 67 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa

Property: Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Address: Andrije Hebranga 116A, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your home away from home in Dubrovnik...Conveniently located in Gruz harbour, the Berkeley Hotel offers 24 modernly furnished rooms and apartments ideal for travellers making a short visit to Dubrovnik as well as those spending more time exploring the area. Our friendly staff look forward to welcoming you to Dubrovnik and are more than happy to assist in any way possible to make your visit to Dubrovnik memorable. Centrally located in Gruz harbour, the Berkeley Hotel is only 2.5Km from the historical Old Town. Our proximity to the main bus and ferry terminals makes it easy to visit all areas of Dubrovnik and the surrounding region. For those wanting to recharge and unwind, enjoy Berkeleys outdoor pool and sundeck area or feel rejuvenated after a visit to the newly opened SPA at the Berkeley; a newly opened boutique spa opened at the Berkeley in 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing