We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very Helpful Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Berkeley Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Berkeley Hotel
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very Helpful Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed here in early November 2012. The staff were very friendly, and helpful - recommending places to visit and eat. The room was very spacious & clean, with a view of the harbor. It also had a small kitchen with a cooker, wash basin, and fridge which was very handy. It's about 20-30 mins walk from the old city, but there are some excellent restaurants near by. Would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Larry_Ketang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    232
    44
    7
    5
See reviews for
103
479
35
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Clean, comfy, quiet, and handy. The reception staff speaks beautiful English. The woman that served breakfast inquired about are trip and was genuinely interested about it. Wonderful establishment I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonesmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Returned on Sunday from a 7 night stay at this lovely hotel. All the staff were so friendly and helpful; nothing was too much trouble; we were staying in one of the studios on the top floor and had fantastic views of the cruise harbour in Port Gruz and so were able to watch all the comings and goings from our balcony in the evening. The rooms were immaculately clean; the bed very comfy with fresh towels and bed linen provided on a very regular basis. All the staff were so helpful and knowledgeable about the area and how to get about etc. The location is excellent, just a short walk down to the bus stop to the Old Town; we also used the buses to travel around to other parts of the island, particularly enjoying our trip out to the ACI Marina; the bus travelling over the Most bridge! Although very quiet at this time of year it was lovely looking around the Marina at the fabulous yatchs,we were able to get a good cup of coffee and a snack there. Take the bus to Cavtat too if you have the time; lovely little bay with a good selection of cafes etc; walk up to the Musoleum; beautifully kept cemetary with fabulous views of the bay. Dubrovnik is an amazing place made all the more special for us by staying at the friendly Berkeley Hotel. We hope to be back in the spring to take the ferries to discover some of the outlying islands and we will definately stay at the Berkeley again. Thank you.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room to enjoy watching the cruise ships;
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fatbird78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

6 of us are just back from 3 nights at the Berkeley Hotel in Dubrovnik we all had a really good time. We booked rooms with balcony and every night we sat out and watched the cruise ships. All the staff really friendly, breakfast was cooked to order. Can't really fault it at all. Dubrovnik is a lovely place to visit for a few days. Great at this time of year as not too busy and still warm enough for us Scots.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lindamack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We chose the Berkeley last minute when we were let down by another hotel and it was the BEST thing that we ever did. On arrival the sweetest receptionist gave us some bus passes that another couple had left behind so that we could get into town to exchange some money.

When we got to the room (which was a suite more like an apartment!) it was SPOTLESS. I couldn't find a speck of dust and the balcony doors were so clean that my boyfriend walked into one not realising that it was there! Hehe.

During our trip I celebrated a birthday and noticing the cards in my room the hotel staff wrote me a note left with a box of chocolates; absolutely wonderful touch to a perfect day.

The breakfast was the best and the location was superb with the ferry port for island travels and all bus stops in very short walking distance along with a great supermarket.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat; this is so much more than a 3* hotel its a little piece of heaven in a beautiful city. INCREDIBLE!!!!

Thank you Berkeley and see you again!!!

Room Tip: Suite with sea view a must!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roxanneparsons1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a flying visit to Dubrovnik, during which time we had the pleasure of staying at The Berkeley.

From check-in to the chasing up of our taxi for the return trip to the airport (which was offered, not sought) the service offered by the friendly, helpful, well-informed and attentive staff manning the 24-hour reception was excellent.

The hotel offers rooms with sea views and without. We opted for a non-sea view room simply because we tend not to spend too much time in the room but I would imagine that those with the view would offer a stunning vista.

The room itself was excellent. Good bathroom, comfortable bed and ample hanging and drawer space. Our room was on the first floor which offers access to a shared terrace via lockable slatted shutter doors and a lockable patio door. It's also worth noting that with all the slats closed and the curtains pulled, the room is pitch black, which makes for an excellent sleep when coupled with the very quiet, non-threatening neighbourhood in which the hotel is located.

Rooms on the upper floors have a balcony.

We didn't use the pool, but it certainly looked inviting.

The complimentary breakfast is delicious; the standard continental items (bread, meat and cheese) plus a cooked option too.

If you're visiting Dubrovnik specifically to visit the Old City (and why wouldn't you be) the hotel is located approximately 3 kilometres to the West of it. The walk is certainly doable and provides myriad photo opportunities, but is quite undulating with plenty of steps involved, so if you don't fancy it there is a bus stop opposite the hotel and, once again, the staff will be more than happy to assist in that regard.

All-in-all I would recommend this hotel to anybody and when we return to Dubrovnik again, which we'll certainly do, we'll be staying at The Berkeley again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carzie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We arrived to be welcomed by a very nice front office manager with a letter from the manager to say they had sold our room with a view of the harbour. They gave us a room on the ground floor which was fine. The staff were helpful and the location excellent.
They also let me park my car there for a week while we went off sailing at a small charge of 5E per day.
The rooms were not well maintained in that the plumbing was not good and the door handle fell off.

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms are nice but noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richardimcdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 stars 422 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#5 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 stars 1,298 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#16 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 stars 1,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
1.5 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#10 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 stars 1,689 reviews
1.5 mi away
Neptun Hotel Dubrovnik
Neptun Hotel Dubrovnik
#11 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 stars 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Hotel

Property: Berkeley Hotel
Address: Andrije Hebranga 116A, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#10 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkeley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your home away from home in Dubrovnik...Conveniently located in Gruz harbour, the Berkeley Hotel offers 24 modernly furnished rooms and apartments ideal for travellers making a short visit to Dubrovnik as well as those spending more time exploring the area. Our friendly staff look forward to welcoming you to Dubrovnik and are more than happy to assist in any way possible to make your visit to Dubrovnik memorable. Centrally located in Gruz harbour, the Berkeley Hotel is only 2.5Km from the historical Old Town. Our proximity to the main bus and ferry terminals makes it easy to visit all areas of Dubrovnik and the surrounding region. For those wanting to recharge and unwind, enjoy Berkeleys outdoor pool and sundeck area or feel rejuvenated after a visit to the newly opened SPA at the Berkeley; a newly opened boutique spa opened at the Berkeley in 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Berkeley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing