We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suprisingly pleasant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Ranked #10 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2011

I stayed here last week after reading the many positive reviews about this hotel and was not disappointed as it certainly lived up to its expectations. My husband and I found the staff very friendly and helpful,the hotel is immaculately clean and our studio room was spacious.
Although the hotel is situated a little way from the old town we found no problem in taking a slow walk there and catching a bus back. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Croatia, it is such a beautiful place you have to see it to believe it! Will definitely come back.

Room Tip: chose a studio or suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pears700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (912)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

625 - 631 of 912 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2011

We were staying in Podgora but decided to spend a night in Dubrovnik so the we could see the sights by day and night. After a delightful bus trip which took us through Bosnia we arrived at the Berkeley Hotel. It is a well run, friendly and very comfortable hotel within 20 minutes walk from the Old City and cable car. The spacious double room and bathroom were of the highest standard and spotless and equally importantly the price was very reasonable(there's also a swimmimg pool) Breakfast was included in the price and as well as the usual selection of cereals etc., a hot breakfast was offered (cooked fresh to order) All in all a brilliant hotel and we would recommend it to anybody visiting Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We had stayed at this hotel once before, 2 years ago, and decided it would be simpler to stay there again rather than looking elsewhere. But within an hour of arriving I was regretting my decision.

After a long and hot journey we arrived to find the check in experience very poor. The receptionist hardly said a word to us apart from giving us our room number and asking for our passports. Not even a hello or welcome. Then when I was looking for the way to the pool an hour later, I was roundly and very rudely told off by another member of staff for coming into reception with bare feet! Not a good start, though things did get better.

The swimming pool, and the free laptop usage on reception, both new since our last visit, were a bonus. However on using the swimming pool we saw a fridge with cool drinks inside and a sign inviting us to use them and leave a note of our room: fine, except the fridge was padlocked shut!

The location is still excellent: opposite the number 8 bus stop to Dubrovnik (don't bother with the further-away 1A and 1B), and just a few minutes walk from the ferry terminal and bus station. We found however that having been once before we knew a lot more about the bus services than the receptionist seemed to. They no longer sell bus tickets or the very useful day passes at reception and you have to go to the Tourist Information office by the ferry office to get the day pass (not a tobacco kiosk as the receptionist wrongly advised us - they don't do it).

Our room was OK, though the bed was only average. We had found before that to operate the room safe you need to feel in the dark for the button behind the door to set up the code (not at all clear from the instructions) and that to actually get a TV signal you have to go through a fairly complicated procedure with both remote controls. Whyever are there no proper instructions?

We had booked a room with a kitchenette, but it was clear that no one from the hotel had ever tried to cook a meal in it. There is no can opener (and most cans on sale in Croatia don't have ring pulls), kitchen knife, kitchen scissors, kitchen bin, microwave or oven. Crockery is the bare minimum. Even the only 2 pans available for the 2 electric hobs were too big to fit on the hob together without a great deal of maneouvring.

Breakfast was OK but boring, and neither the bacon nor the toast were very good.

We found staff seemed to become more friendly towards us during our time there, and indeed if they had been as bad as when we had arrived I think we would have left early. We went on from there to a hotel in Split (the Luxe) which was only a little dearer but which I would rate 10/10. I would suggest that the Berkeley staff need to stay there to see how things should be done.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank cltc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

A stand-out feature of this excellent family-run small hotel is the "information service" provided by Katarina and Eva. During our week-long stay in July we came to rely upon their advice and suggestions as to places to visit, suitable restaurants, bus details and directions.

Another highlight was the quality of the breakfasts and the friendly service provided by Katarina's and Eva's aunt.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Choose room 42 - you won't be disappointed !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

The hotel is extremely clean, breakfast is adequate although very boring - there are only so many ways you can have eggs !! The location is not the best if you expect to be able to stroll into the old town. Whilst we found the staff helpful, they come across as being quite cold & unfriendly. The hotel itself definately lacks a friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LoughboroughUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We visited Berkeley Hotel for a week at the beginning of September. We spent quite a while deciding which hotel to book in Dubrovnik, but I'm very glad that we chose this one. The family who run the hotel were so kind and helpful, and always had the time for us. We spent quite a while asking questions about excursions and places to visit in Croatia, and they never ceased to be helpful in recommending restaurants which they thought we would like (and they were right), excursions, practical information on Dubrovnik and so on (please note, they only recommended restaurants and so on once we asked their opinion.)

The Hotel itself is literally just a few minutes away from Gruz Harbour, where many boats left for excursions to nearby islands, and where there were regular buses to Old Town Dubrovnik, which was not far away (Tip: Buy the bus tickets from a nearby vendor, rather than on the bus - they're slightly cheaper that way.) We spent a few afternoons relaxing by the hotel pool, and our hotel room itself was always very clean and comfortable - we chose a studio sea view so we had a little kitchenette as well, which was brilliant for keeping the fresh fruit we would buy from the market down the road. All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel also provides airport transfers, at a rate which is much better than the local taxis would provide (it was 55 euros return)

Small point: The hotel itself is situated on a bit of a busy road with not much of a pavement on the side of the hotel, and cars speed by quite a bit. It didn't bother me in the least, but since guests would regularly have to cross this road to get to Gruz harbour, families with small children might want to keep this point in mind.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xerrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Everyday there was a different cruise liner in the majestic Gruz harbour view from our balcony. We felt sorry for the passengers, as they weren't staying at our hotel, and they would only get one day to visit the area.
We stayed in great comfort and at very reasonable cost in this new boutique hotel near to the action of Dubrovnik, but also very private and quiet compared to other places in the area.

Room Tip: Take a studio or suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,007 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#18 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,256 reviews
1.5 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#12 of 68 in Dubrovnik
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,109 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 68 in Dubrovnik
769 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa

Address: Andrije Hebranga 116A, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#10 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: $62 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your home away from home in Dubrovnik...Conveniently located in Gruz harbour, the Berkeley Hotel offers 24 modernly furnished rooms and apartments ideal for travellers making a short visit to Dubrovnik as well as those spending more time exploring the area. Our friendly staff look forward to welcoming you to Dubrovnik and are more than happy to assist in any way possible to make your visit to Dubrovnik memorable. Centrally located in Gruz harbour, the Berkeley Hotel is only 2.5Km from the historical Old Town. Our proximity to the main bus and ferry terminals makes it easy to visit all areas of Dubrovnik and the surrounding region. For those wanting to recharge and unwind, enjoy Berkeleys outdoor pool and sundeck area or feel rejuvenated after a visit to the newly opened SPA at the Berkeley; a newly opened boutique spa opened at the Berkeley in 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing