We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view, pleasant apartment, lots of stairs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dubrovnik Residence
Ranked #409 of 501 Specialty Lodging in Dubrovnik
Reviewed September 13, 2011

This accommodation is an apartment, not a hotel, so it should probably be listed accordingly. This said, it is a spacious, well-equipped, very clean place, and the hostess adds to the overall charm.

The mattress is firm and good, we were provided with baby cot, but there is a lack of drawers and cupboards, so things can easily be lost or stepped on. Although there is not much need for that, there is a large TV on the wall, and free Wi-Fi.

I would not recommend the place for people who mind the stairs - wherever you go, you need to climb stairs.

However, all this is easily forgotten, when you sip your coffee/drink on the beautiful terrace, overlooking Lokrum Island, old town and the sea... A complete privilege.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Take the apartment with the terrace. Worth every penny.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ana_na_putu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
There are newer reviews for Dubrovnik Residence
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 29 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2011

This apartment suited us very well. We stayed in the smallest of the three rooms but still think it was overpriced at 110 euros per night per room. Positives are - We had air conditioning and a fan, our own shower/toilet room, a sort-of functioning tv, a minifridge and keys to the room and the apartment for complete independence. The cleanliness was excellent. The landlady is also super nice and efficient. Negatives - our shower/toilet room was not ensuite so we had to keep it locked so we could keep our personal items inside. For us personally, this was the only main inconvenience. There were some other negatives which I am sure some people may need to be aware of - there are well over 100 stairs to climb from the beach or main old city. There are also several stairs to get to the main/nearest road. So, this accommodation is not suitable at all for people with mobility issues. The wifi is free but didn't work in our room - only worked in the corridor or the bathroom - so in a way, it was good that it was not ensuite.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValinaTravels2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

I think 3 stars would be a little harsh while 4 seems a little generous - 3 1/2 from me if I could.

I was in the 'green' room - so no view. I think only one of the rooms has a view. Everything was fine - although note that in the green room (and one other which I cannot remember the colour), the bathroom is outside the room, but still private.

The main problem I have with these private rooms is arranging to meet the owner to get the keys and hand over the money. It's fine if the owner is at home all day, but otherwise having to find the place, phone up the owner, wait for the owner, all adds to time and expense.

My advice for somewhere like Dubrovnik - don't worry about where you are staying too much because most of the time will be spent outside exploring the old town. If you are using public transport,like I was, to enter and exit the city, think about staying near the bus station and using the local bus to get to the centre.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank drumbrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2009

We stayed in the Blue Room which has beautiful views over the old town, sea and surrounding islands. THe room is small but clean and very modern. The air con is fantastic especially in 30+ degree weather. There is a fridge in the room as well.

Goldi is very helpful with everything and able to provide transfers.

There is a supermarket nearby which is handy and the beach and old town are a short walk away. Dubrovnik is set on a hillside and there are steps everywhere. The walk up to the apartment is very hard especially in 30+ degree weather as there a lot of steps to get up. There is another road you can take with little steps which is easier but does take longer.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2009

Goldie is a wonderful host her English is outstanding and she is very helpful with anything to do with Dubrovnik and of course her accommodation. She makes you feel very welcome like you are family, a more personal welcome than that of hotel staff. This accommodation is between private residences, so you are living amongst locals we enjoyed this experience. Our stay in Dubrovnik was for 3 days, we wanted more than just a hotel room Dubrovnik Residence was just we were looking for. Plenty of space in the apartment with fully equipped kitchen, and washing machine. We also booked the blue room (also with ocean views) so we could have the extra sleeping area, it was still great value for our family of four.
If you want to experience the great views Dubrovnik Residence has to offer a little work is required to get there, so be prepared for a hike up some steep stairs. When we returned to our apartment the balcony was ideal to relax at the end of the day with a glass of wine and admire the wonderful views of the Adriatic Ocean and Old Town. If you are arriving by car there is the back entrance with limited parking, still many stairs to manoeuvre your luggage through.
We had glorious weather and enjoyed our time there, however April is not the perfect time to go, not much is operating especially on the islands they were like ghost towns. If we could have made our visit four weeks later we could have experienced the water activities on offer.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LEPARD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2009

Cheap accommodation very difficult to find in Dubrovnik and this was very inexpensive. It was very clean but faded and basic. It would be unsuitable for anyone with limited mobility as it is a short walk to town but many sets of stairs and some dark tunneks at night!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerry9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2008

We spent our nine day holiday at Dubrovnik Residence apartment. The apartment fulfilled our all expectations, and more. Everything about it is perfect - the closeness to the beach, the Old Town, the grocery shops and the bakery as well as its the look, including its beautiful modern furnishings,. We very much enjoyed the spectacular views from the spacious balcony - of the Old Town at the right and the Lokrum Island right in front of it. Goldi, the owner, made us feel like at home. She thinks of everything and is very accommodating. The apartment has all appliances which helped very comfortable stay including a large LCD screen and the wireless internet, To access the apartment from the beach you'll need to climb 150 odd stairs which will help maintain your fitness - we appreciated that too. All in all, we'd fullheartedly recommend this property to anyone who is after the best in Dubrovnik. We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank JewelMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Allure of Dubrovnik
Villa Allure of Dubrovnik
#34 of 68 in Dubrovnik
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Guest House Ivela
#219 of 501 in Dubrovnik
1 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Ragusa Dubrovnik
Villa Ragusa Dubrovnik
#108 of 501 in Dubrovnik
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Dubrovnik Luxury Residence
Dubrovnik Luxury Residence
#12 of 501 in Dubrovnik
82 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartments Banje Beach
Apartments Banje Beach
#404 of 501 in Dubrovnik
8 reviews
0.7 mi away
MirO Studio Apartments
MirO Studio Apartments
#1 of 181 in Dubrovnik
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dubrovnik Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dubrovnik Residence

Address: Lazarina 15, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #409 of 501 Specialty Lodging in Dubrovnik
Price Range: $47 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dubrovnik Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Dubrovnik, the pearl of Adriatic. Enjoy the sun and sea, enjoyable walks through centuries of history and beautiful nature. Crystal clear sea offers visibility till 50 meters deep and average temperature of 27 C, and is perfect for your sun tan. From the balcony you have magnificent view on the island of Lokrum and Old Town of Dubrovnik which is only 150 meters walking distance away from us. Linen and towels are provided, hair dryer, iron & board we give upon request, without extra charge. All taxes are included in price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Dubrovnik Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing