We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel, almost perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Ranked #12 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel, almost perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel, and I would say, apart from one or two minor niggles, it was perfect.

Firstly we arrived at approx midday and check in wasn't until 2.00pm but the lovely guy on reception said that our room was ready and we could check I straight away. The bell boy then proceeded to help us with our luggage and on arrival at the room showed us how to work the air con/heating and showed where the safe was, he also pointed out en route the hotels facilitates.

The room was lovely, great sea view and the two sun loungers on the balcony were a great bonus. My main complaint about the room was the lack of storage, the room had one small wardrobe with 8 coat hangers, which for two people for a weeks worth of clothes wasn't really adequate, there were also two very shallow drawers in the bedside tables, consequently we had to keep half our clothes in the suitcase which was shoved under the bed!

The pool area was undergoing some renovations and for the first couple of days there were no umbrellas by the pool, this didn't really bother us too much as we hadn't come to Dubrovnik to lie by the pool all day!

I visited the Spa, and as it was my birthday, treated myself to a facial which was lovely. Like a previous reviewer, I also had a cake left in my room which was a nice touch as I'd not told the hotel it was my birthday.

Breakfast is buffet style and there is loads of choice, both hot and cold options, including freshly cooked eggs and omelettes. We only ate in the hotel in the evening once, we were late back from a day trip to Mostar and couldn't face the walk into the old town so opted to eat at the hotel, the dinner buffet was about to close so we ate in the al a carte restaurant, as we were the only people in there it was somewhat lacking in atmosphere, but the food and whine were top class.

All the staff we came into contact with were really helpful and friendly, and for the price we paid, (Jet2 package), and the location close to the old town, it couldn't be beaten.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind words. We are very happy that we made your stay perfect.
Hope to see you back in the nearest future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    836
    555
    230
    61
    24
See reviews for
276
915
61
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel in May for 4 nights, the first of which was my birthday. From the outset the staff were very attentive, approaching us as we walked in to help with luggage etc. Check-in was very smooth and we were even given a mini tour of the facilities by the man that had helped us with our luggage, he pointed out where a few of the main areas were to save us feeling completely lost (the hotel is quite big!)

Our room - what can we say - it was truly brilliant. On the 9th floor, with a spectacular sea view. We should say, we booked this holiday through easyJet and it really wasn't breaking the bank. Amazing value for the service we received and the quality of our room. We had emailed the hotel beforehand to advise them that it was my birthday during our stay and they responded extremely quickly and courteously, they advised us they would note this on our reservation and in true 5* quality, they left a birthday cake in our room for me. It was lovely! Huge thanks indeed for this!

The room as a whole was extremely comfortable, the bathroom had a glass window that allowed you to see out to the sea view during a shower. There is a blind for privacy though so don't let that put you off if you don't like the sound of that. Our only niggle was that the bed linen appeared to be too small?! Bizarrely it seemed as though the king size bed had double sized bedding on it, we weren't sure if this was supposed to be the case or not. I'm sure if we'd have told the hotel about this, it would've been rectified but it wasn't troublesome enough to warrant bringing it to anyone's attention. We were too busy looking at the sea view to really care! The balcony had 2 sun loungers on it too, we enjoyed sitting on these after a long day of walking in the city and spent most of the night star gazing and listening to the sea.

Breakfast was great, plenty to choose from and the staff offering tea and coffee were very helpful and polite. The Wi-Fi was a brilliant bonus, it dropped out a few times for us in our room but this was a welcome reminder that we were on holiday and should not be spending our time online.

The location of the hotel is lovely, it's about a 20 minute walk to the Old Town. It's predominantly down hill on the way to town and consequently up hill on the way back. This could be a slight downer for tired legs after a day of sightseeing but there's a bus that runs from Pile gate to right outside the Bellevue hotel, next door to Rixos, and it's only 12 kuna for a ticket. We didn't use the bus and just walked into town and back every day, the walk is very scenic in parts which can distract you from the physical exertion!

In terms of other practicalities, the city walls cost us 100 kuna each as did the cable car return trip. Both of these experiences cannot be beaten, brilliant ways to spend days in the city. We paid for 35kuna each for a bus from the airport to pile gate and then the 12 kuna for a bus from there to the hotel to save lugging our bags up hill. It takes about 25 mins to get to the airport. On departing from Rixos we enquired about shuttle transfer and this cost us 125 kuna each, slightly more expensive but saves the hassle of dragging luggage everywhere so we'd definitely recommend that.

One final remark from us on how brilliant the staff were... My partner dropped his phone in the minibus on the way to the Airport and discovered this after we'd checked in for or flight home. We immediately asked the information desk to phone the Rixos to see if the driver could be contacted. They spoke to my partner over the phone and advised they would ask him to make a return trip to the airport with the phone, initially at a cost, which we understood as this was our mistake. They then called the airport back to advise that the driver was on his way back and as he was dropping other people off at the same time, there would be no charge. We were so grateful and the whole situation was handled extremely smoothly, given the clock was ticking to our departure, we were so relieved when the driver arrived and handed the phone to my partner. We gave him what change we did have, hopefully enough to buy him a beer!

We didn't really venture to either of the pools although we understand the outdoors pool was out of action. This was mostly because we were out everyday sightseeing and too exhausted to use the gym or pools! (I can imagine they were all great all the same but can't offer anything more insightful on that!)

Thank you Rixos, for a brilliant stay, cannot recommend highly enough!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Globetrotter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. I would like to take opportunity and thank you for your kind words. It is very nice to hear that we managed to reach your expectations. I hope to see you soon in Rixos Libertas Dubrovnik. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sallap
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

We were really looking forward to staying here as it looked amazing on all the websites we looked at. Our first encounter as we arrived was with the bell boys who were very helpful and took our cases to the hotel lobby. We then went to check in and was told by the receptionist that our rooms wouldn't be ready til 2 pm...it was 12.30. She wasn't friendly, told us we could leave our cases with her and go to the bar to wait. When we sat at the bar the three barmen on duty ignored us for 5 minutes, no one else in the bar with us, until we asked if they were open. They said no, not til 2pm! We told them that reception told us to go to the bar to wait and then they served us. When we had finished our drinks we took a walk around the hotel only to find a lot of ladders with workmen doing jobs scattered around. Our biggest disappointment was to find that the lovely outdoor pool area was a building site sand there was no staff in the much advertised spa. On returning to reception at 2pm we found our cases sitting in the lobby where anyone could have taken them, although the receptionist had placed a tag on the bags with our names on it. We raised the issues of the pool area and the spa with the receptionist as we checked in and she said that the season doesn't open til 1st May and it would have stated this clearly on whatever website we booked through...it didn't. She told us to see a manager as she could do nothing for us. Just for the record, we would not have booked into the hotel had we known it was not fully open...although the receptionist told us the hotel was full! Now...our room...be prepared all of you who are on the shy side, the bathroom walls are made of clear glass, yes, CLEAR glass. Ok there is a blind on one glass wall but it's totally transparent. Oh and no door on the bathroom although the toilet cubicle is separate with a glass swing door that doesn't lock...just saying, some of you might like it, we didn't! Otherwise the room was clean and nice but no balcony although we had a sea view with a domestic view and a building site view all in one sweep of the eye! We did ask for a kettle and we got one. The first night the heat in the room was unbearable as we couldn't get the air com to bring the temperature down past 23 degrees. We rang reception twice during our stay about this and I think they'll get around to having a look a that anytime soon. On one of the mornings the cleaner knocked at the door at 8.15 to clean the room...we were asleep. We sent her away, told her to come back later as we were in bed. She didn't come back, we had to ask for our room to be cleaned at 2pm. Music played until 11pm on the first night, this was a piano player in the bar area which was directly outside our room one floor down. Hard to explain the layout but there was a balcony with rooms overlooking the bar area. I know 11 isn't too late but we had been awake since 3. 30 am that morning and were exhausted. On another night the music from the disco kept us awake til 1am, we had to ring reception to ask when it would stop. Breakfast next, there was a lovely lady cooking omelettes to order and the food was nice and plenty of fruit. The tables were never fully set, here was always something missing a knife, a cup etc. the tea and coffee are made first thing in the morning and if it's cold when you get there then that's too bad for you. Get down early if you want it hot. Even coffee ordered in the bar came back lukewarm after being sent back for being cold.the barman said they don't want to burn the milk! On checking out we were charged an exit tax of about €7 this is a gov charge and nothing to do with the hotel. In fairness to the hotel when I complained via their customer satisfaction survey which they emailed to me the manager offered us a free three night stay in the hotel...which we declined as it would cost us about €1000 just to avail of the offer. Not 5 star in our opinion.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sallapsweetman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. Every comment from guest is valuable for us. As we already talked by e-mail to you, we would like to apologize once again if your stay was not as you expected. Our main mission is to make our guests happy and satisfied. Because of that, when we received your survey, we wanted to react immediately and correct us. We hope that you will accept our offer and come to Dubrovnik again, so we can make sure that your stay is unforgettable.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirana, Albania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was near the sea.The food was wonderful and the room was large.the stuff was very friendly.I have stayed twice at this hotel and one friend recommended this hotel to me.The centre of Dubrovnik was 10 min with car and the price per night in the summer is very expensive.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sofjana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. It is so nice to hear that you are our repeat guest, and that your stay was wonderful. I hope to see you soon. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

My friend and I chose this hotel as it was a short walk to the Old Town, affordable & included breakfast and WiFi.
Our hotel had a balcony view over the sea, had twin beds and a good sized bathroom.
The walk was a 15 minute up and down hill walk to the town. Not overly strenuous and with a great ocean view enroute.
Room was big, clean and airy with comfortable beds and well furnished.
Buffet breakfast was plentiful and provided a big selection of hot and cold items.
Our only 'complaints/niggles' would be housekeeping confusion over free toiletries - this varied during our stay - sometimes no shampoo, sometimes no shower gel, sometimes more than adequate amounts of body lotion. Also tissues when finished weren't replaced.
A taxi from the airport was approx 250 Kuna (although the hotel offer a transfer for 300 Kuna).

We enjoyed our stay here. Suitable distance from the noise of the town but easy enough to get in and out of town and walk further away from town to explore too. However we stayed in April (i.e. out of season)… not sure how busy and noisy it would be in the summer months.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnaGoAnna2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for leaving your review. It is nice to hear all positive things that you mentioned and that you enjoyed in your stay. I informed our HK Manager about issues that you had with toiletries so those things do not happen again.
I hope to see you soon. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

I was at Rixos last weekend. What an amazing hotel! The rooms were all with stunning sea views and huge terraces. Clean, big rooms with comfortable beds. Goergous bathrooms! From reception to the bars and restaurants , this hotel has no fault at all. Customer services was great. Big thanks to the head chef Ozgur. The food was absolutely delicious! He went extra mile to make our dinner even more special with absolutely delicous fish he cooked for us. Breakfast was with lots of choices. evertyhing was fresh. Highly recommend to have their buffet dinner, it's only around £20 and absolutely delicous food. Hotel is around 15 min walk from the old town (the best old town I've ever seen!, it's a must to see!!). The walk is pleasant with amazing pictures to take on the way. You can also take a bus accros the road or taxi that costs around £10. If you share taxi for 4 people it's cheaper than the bus. There are a big indoor and outdoor swimming pool again with stunning sea views, spa, sauna, turkish hamam, steam rooms in the hotel to rest. Highly recommend this hotel, it's one of the best hotel I have ever stayed!. And Dubrovnik is absolutely amazing town, a must to visit.

Room Tip: Ask for seaview rooms. Breath taking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gyilmaz27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your positive comments. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed food cooked by our award winning chef Mr Ozgur Donetas. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

This hotel had everything we wanted - it was spacious, modern and enjoyed fine views out to sea with only 15 minute walk to the Old Town (or 5 min taxi - £5) - buses also were frequent. It is a very iconic hotel especially when looking at it from the coastal path. Excellent dining facilities, world class spa facilities, friendly staff and the only casino in the area. Our room was nice too with spacious balcony, we arrived and had a standard view of the car park side, so paid for a seaview upgrade which was well worth doing ! Everything we required this hotel had.

Room Tip: Go for a Seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad that we have first class customer service and as you put it “ excellent dining facilities” and “world class spa”. We look forward to serving you again in the near future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
1.5 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixos Hotel Libertas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos Hotel Libertas

Property: Rixos Hotel Libertas
Address: Liechtensteinov Put 3 | Dubrovnik Neretva County, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#24 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos Hotel Libertas 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A landmark of exceptional Croatian hospitality, the waterfront Rixos Libertas Dubrovnik has been reborn as the ultimate contemporary design hotel with luxurious facilities for discerning travelers. Home to 254 guest rooms that combine panoramic views of the Adriatic Sea with pampering facilities that indulge and inspire, it is conveniently located only 15 minutes away from Dubrovnik Old Town and 25 minutes away from the Dubrovnik International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Rixos Hotel Libertas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rixos Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing