We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb modern hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Ranked #13 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Superb modern hotel”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This hotel had everything we wanted - it was spacious, modern and enjoyed fine views out to sea with only 15 minute walk to the Old Town (or 5 min taxi - £5) - buses also were frequent. It is a very iconic hotel especially when looking at it from the coastal path. Excellent dining facilities, world class spa facilities, friendly staff and the only casino in the area. Our room was nice too with spacious balcony, we arrived and had a standard view of the car park side, so paid for a seaview upgrade which was well worth doing ! Everything we required this hotel had.

Room Tip: Go for a Seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad that we have first class customer service and as you put it “ excellent dining facilities” and “world class spa”. We look forward to serving you again in the near future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    857
    565
    233
    63
    25
See reviews for
282
933
61
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2014

A really nice and luxury hotel good located pretty close to the old town. The staff was really polite and helpful. The room was really good with a beautiful view of the sea. The cleaning was also excellent, not to talk about the marvellous breakfast !

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Guest,
Your comments are much appreciated. We are glad that you liked our much praised breakfast. Once again thank you most kindly and we hope to see you in the nearest future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

This hotel is good to host meetings. It has ample space on the 9th floor with huge meeting rooms. It is situated in an ideal location for the old city (10-15 minutes walk). Rooms are clean and a good size, but I would not class this hotel as a 5-star hotel, more like a 4-star hotel. I was situated on the 2nd floor, but after two days I requested to move to a higher floor as there is bad smell of the drains, and I could not take it much longer. I was given a room on the 8th floor which was much better. Restaurant is good, with ample food in the buffet. Views are amazing. The hotel is built into the cliff, so all rooms have a sea view. There is no beach, but if you walk to the left of the hotel, there is a path that leads to a beach that is close to another hotel. I do not believe that this beach is owned by the hotel. We swam there and no one said anything. Staff are very friendly. Gym/pool/sauna/steam room are good. However I felt that the hotel could do with some renovation.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rkaura1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review, especially the part about the friendliness of our staff. As far as the renovation is concerned, TLC is planned later in the year. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
133 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights as part of a British Airways city break. It was very good value for money, as it was just before the main tourist season begins.
Garden view room, so sadly no views out over the bay. Bedrooms.. very large and airy,spotlessly clean, ample wardrobe storage for a week end break,with a safe included. The bathroom had a good monsoon shower as well as a full sized bath, underfloor heating, fluffy soft towels and a make up mirror at a sensible height!
Public spaces.... vast. All spotlessly clean, and the outside terrace was comfortable with the most astonishing views out to sea. As it was out of season, the lounges lacked atmosphere.
Bar.... very very good cocktails,,,served with bowls of nuts.
Dining room, only the main one was open, which served both breakfast and dinner. Of the meals, breakfast was very good, loads of choice and an egg counter. The bacon was the usual overcooked steaky type, and the suasages bland. But loads of fruit, pastries, cold hams and olives etc.
Dinner however, was less succesful. Although an ample range, hot food just wasn't hot enough, and lacked any real flavour. Having said that, there was a wide range of different salads,cold fish and meats, and the puds were outstanding. Oddly enough, the waiting staff didn't ask if we wanted wine!

Staff, all lovely, helpful and had a great sense of humour.

For a 3 day break, this was a fantastic hotel, and although not all facilities were available (no external swimming pool), it also meant we had all of Dubrovnik to explore without the crowds. Nice gentle walk into town, with loads of photo opportunities.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcpinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you very much for your positive comments. We are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed our hotel, especially our breakfast. We are also glad that you enjoyed our magnificent views. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Well, as I booked the hotel I did not expect it to be this huge. It is very big and unpersonal. But very beautiful and with helpful staff.

We got an upgrade when we arrived, which was nice.. but the room was in the 1st floor with a view of an uncut lawn and a fence, then the sea. The room was very pretty, but the bathroom had an open solution with only a flappydoor to the toilet (which is not so comfortable when you are suppose to do your business). The bed in this room were very bad, we both woke up with pain in our backs (and we are 20!). We know our neighbour was a German, because the rooms are very bad isolated, so we heard him pretty clear. It was not hard to hear when the cleaning ladies came in the hall either.

The service is very good, fantastic cleaning!

The pool and spa section now. The wellness senter where you wandered around on your own, smelled awful. But the facilities were good! Same with the spa treatments, good and relaxing. Ok prices!
- The outdoor pool was not filled at our stay, and there were no service outside or bars as promised in the advertisements. They were obviously upgrading the outdoor area, but I think we should've been noticed so we knew what we came to.
- And where is the beach? Washed away many years ago. So no beach. Very dissapointed. The signs are still up, and the commercial for it.. but there is no beach.

We tried the buffé in the hotel (dinner) and payed 200 kuna each + drinks. We were very dissapointed. No good food, poor choises.. just a bad experience next to the expectations.

Again the staff was very helpful and kind. We had a very nice stay otherwise, but I don't think Rixos are the hotelchain for me/us. It was all a bit overdid.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Linn Mari Molvi... N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. I would like to inform you that our beach is working from the 1st of May every year, depending of the weather conditions and it is written on our pages. Due to the open sea beach, we could not make it before that period as weather conditions was not allowing.
All your comments are forwarded to related departments.
I hope you will choose one of the Rixos hotels in the nearest future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Had a wonderful 3 night stay in this hotel & from what I experienced I found it hard to fault. The staff were friendly & courteous & also very helpful. The breakfast was super & I slept like a baby every night. There was very little noise from surrounding rooms or corridors, the rainfall shower was unexpected & the view from the balcony was a delight. The facilities were not all available but this was understandable as the season starts next month & the staff were getting everything ready.
We didn't eat in the hotel (apart from breakfast) as we had read this was quite expensive & not too good so cannot really comment.
Would most certainly recommend it. A view from your room is guaranteed unlike other hotels in the area & the cost difference is minimal
Overall worth the indulgence!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you most kindly for your positive comments. We are glad that we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you in the nearest future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

I stayed in Rixos for four days recently. The view is fantastic, rooms are clean and comfortable, staff nice and friendly.
I had a problem with heating, in fact I felt cold during the night, swiched the heating on, but it was only cold air blowing from the ventilation grid. Actually, as they told me at the reception desk, they do not heat rooms at all (which was rather strange to me since it was only late March.) at that part of year. Since I don't like to feel cold (especially in a 5 star hotel for which I consider such way of cutting costs inappropriate) i asked of some kind of heating, which they solved rather quickly by installing electric heater in my room.
Food, more or less good, Turkish/oriental sweets excellent. However, orange juice offered was NOT 100% from squeezed oranges. It was some yellowish liquid that only tastes similar. Selection of salami, cheeses and sausagges should be far better in a 5 star hotel.
Another thing that i didn't like at all: bottled water served in a restaurant was 30 kunas per 0,75 l bottle. That makes 1 liter of water 40 kunas (=more than 5 Euro). Just for comparison, in nearby shops the same bottled water (same brend) costs 5 kunas a liter. So in this hotel they charge you 8 TIMES(=700%) more for the same plain water.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Montypython2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for leaving your comment. I’m sorry to hear that you had a problem with heating. We provide heating during the winter time as we provide cooling during the summer time. Maybe there was a technical issue in your room so I will take opportunity to apologize for inconvenience caused.
I hope to see you again in our hotel. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#4 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
1.5 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#10 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixos Hotel Libertas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos Hotel Libertas

Property: Rixos Hotel Libertas
Address: Liechtensteinov Put 3 | Dubrovnik Neretva County, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#23 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos Hotel Libertas 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A landmark of exceptional Croatian hospitality, the waterfront Rixos Libertas Dubrovnik has been reborn as the ultimate contemporary design hotel with luxurious facilities for discerning travelers. Home to 254 guest rooms that combine panoramic views of the Adriatic Sea with pampering facilities that indulge and inspire, it is conveniently located only 15 minutes away from Dubrovnik Old Town and 25 minutes away from the Dubrovnik International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Rixos Hotel Libertas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rixos Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing