We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Ranked #13 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Co.Antrim N.Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The best 5* Hotel we have been to. The staff were so friendly, the hotel was very clean and our room was massive with jacuzzi. We had a fantastic view from our balcony looking out to the sea, we could see the cruise ships sitting off the old town. There is plenty to do within walking distance of the hotel, like going to the old town or going up in the cable car which was amazing with fantastic views of the city. I would highly recommend this hotel and I will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mags6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guests,
We welcome your positive comments and we thank you for your respectable recommendation of our hotel to your guests. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    880
    576
    238
    64
    25
See reviews for
288
958
61
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We have just returned from a two week holiday through Thomsons at this 5 star hotel. Everything about the hotel was amazing. We had a standard double room which was very spacious, clean with a huge bed. The lounge areas were extensive and very well furnished and immaculately clean. The pool and sun terrace overlooks the bay with stunning views of Dubrovnik and Lokrum Island. There were plenty of sun-loungers and also seating around the bar and restaurant.

We ate in both the poolside restaurant and buffet restaurant. The food was marvellous in both with plenty of choice. The terrace and lounge bar were lovely with very friendly and courteous staff. We were made to feel special and it was a relaxed atmosphere. All the staff went out of their way to make our stay a most memorable and enjoyable one.

Two days before the end of our holiday, my wife slipped whilst walking in Dubrovnik and broke two bones in her foot. We came back to the hotel and Goran, the porter, drove us to the hospital. Natalia, from guest relations, phoned our Thomson representative, Ivana who came immediately to the hospital(on her day off). The doctors were on strike at the hospital. Goran helped us with the paperwork and language translation at the hospital. Without his help we would have been lost. After my wife was treated and her foot and leg put in plaster, our rep Ivana and Goran the drove us to buy crutches. We were so grateful for their help. When we returned to the hotel, Natalia loaned us a swivel chair on wheels which enabled me to get my wife around the hotel. Before the accident we were really impressed with the hotel staff and after the accident we were really pampered and nothing was too much trouble. Our Thomson representative was brilliant and she sorted out a wheelchair and assistance at the airport for our return flight

We cannot praise the hotel and our Thomson rep enough for all their help. We can highly recommend this hotel.

James and Kathryn Burkhill

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guests,
We are pleased to have helped you and glad that you experienced Croatian hospitality at its best. Hope your have fully recovered and see you in the nearest future in one of our hotels. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights (1st - 5th Oct 2013). The hotel is large and of a modern design. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and the staff were very friendly and welcoming. They could not do enough to help you. Our room (2212) was spacious, clean and well decorated. We were at the front of the hotel and therefore did not have a seaview, but the view across the hills was still lovely. The room did not have a balcony that you could sit out on, but a small one that you could stand on. The seaview rooms all had beautiful, large balconys/terraces with seating.The bathroom is designed to be in the bedroom, not as a traditional en suite. There was a minor design fault with the showers. There are two showers, one a traditional and one a fixed ceiling, but both involve you stepping into the bath. When either of the showers was being used, the floor got very wet, as the glass partition was approx. 4" to short. The hotel supplied gowns, slippers, hair dryer and a good selection of bathroom products, all beautifully displayed. A huge, very comfortable bed, sofa, TV with channels in several languages, dressing table, chair and table. were all useful. A built in wardrobe, a fridge with mini bar and a safe completed the room. There was no tea/coffee making facilities which was a shame but I understand we could have requested this. I wish this had been mentioned at check in as I do like a cup of coffee first thing before getting ready for the day. The room was cleaned properly every day. The hotel facilities are excellent. A sun terrace with good, well maintained loungers etc, a bar/resteruant a large outdoor pool and access into the very blue, very clear sea. There is no beach as such but there is a small pool for young children. The views are amazing from the terrace. There is an indoor pool, again with good loungers etc, changing/showering facilities etc. The wellbeing facilities include saunas, rest rooms with heated loungers, steam rooms, plunge/shock pools and a tropical shower that is a must. All towels are provided by the hotel. The hotel has a casino, which we did not use so I cannot comment on this. The resteraunts were large and airy, with a terrace to enable outdoor dining. The food was plentiful and of a high quality. The bar area was comfortable and also has a terrace for outdoor seating. The hotel is approx. a 20 minute walk from the old town of Dubrovnik, but it is a lovely walk. Again, I cannot describe the beautiful views in enough detail. Would I recommend this hotel? YES. Would I go back to this hotel? YES although I would probably ask for a seaview room next time. Well done to the Libertas staff - you made our stay wonderful with your excellent and friendly service.

Room Tip: Just for the sheer beauty of the view - go for a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your encouraging comments and we are glad that we have met expectations of such an experienced traveler. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is a large, modern hotel. I agree with the reviews that say the hotel is missing it on some of the details (chipping paint here and their, lights not working on the room terraces, etc.), but holy cow, what a view from just about every room, seaside. Former communist country, post-civil war, and still struggling with capitalism. So who cares if the lobby is too big, or you don't like mid-tier modern furniture in the bedroom. Great pool area, great breakfast buffet, leaping into the Adriatic Sea and then ordering a meal poolside. My wife was not too crazy about the bathroom design (glass enclosed, even the shower/bath), but I thought it was cool, shaving while overlooking the Adriatic. Went to a dynamite Bosnian restaurant in the Levant Hotel about a block inland.

And here is a tip--do not buy a necktie in Dubrovnik. You get them much less expensively in just about any other Croatian city.

Our tour guide says that Dubrovnik is pricing itself out of its market--a la, pigs get fat, hogs get slaughtered--but it was a great destination. It's no Paris, but it is safer and has its own intrigue and beauty.

Room Tip: Seaside, higher floors. The rooms are numbered weird--room 212 is 1212. The hotel is built into a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnS887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your inspiring review and we look forward to welcoming you in one of our hotels in the nearest future.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed here in September for 3 nights having been overbooked elsewhere, The hotel is not the sort we usually stay being an enormous modern and architecturally ugly hotel and we felt no real personal touch in terms of service throughout. Reception staff were efficient and polite but not that welcoming. Public areas are large and comfortable with a large atrium area, plenty of gift shops and an underused range of bars and restaurants. We had one BBQ style meal outside which was a nice setting but unexciting food.
Our room was a good sized sea facing room with a nice balcony and was clean and sizeable with a comfortable bed but with a rather small cupboard with awkward concertina style doors.
The hotel is about a 20 minute walk along main roads into Dubrovnik and buses are close by if you don't want to walk up and down a fairly steep hill as you approach the old city. Views are good across an attractive bay.
Breakfasts were OK with a good range of hot and cold dishes available but staff were not very welcoming.
The swimming pool was a good size and gym facilities underused but well equipped. You also have an option of swimming in the sea via stairs from rocks. There was an attractive outdoor bar near the pool.
The corridors in the hotel were exceedingly dull with poor lighting, few pieces of art work or mirrors.
Overall a comfortable stay but unless you like soulless large corporate hotels stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonymLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry to have heard about your experience. We are constantly working to improve our staff’ customer relations skills to achieve that extra mile personal touch experience.
We look forward to meeting you in the nearest future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stayed here for a couple of nights in late June as a returning guest as I really love the deck area. The Rixos has it's own sectioned area of sea for swimming and a couple of spots deep enough to jump straight in. There is no sandy beach which appeals to me and the deck area is well attended by staff serving cocktails and whatnot. The beach bar is great for a club sandwich, a burger or a beer and overall it's a great space to kick back, enjoy the sun and duck in and out of the gorgeous blue Croatian water.

Rooms are modern and fresh with high quality linens, a balcony and spacious bathroom as standard. The modern look I suspect is what leads to many of the reviews less positive than mine seen below.

Front desk can be a bit chaotic at changeover time and beware in particular busy times of year such as August when staff are a little more under pressure and things can get a bit messy as they did with my last trip.

On the whole, a great waterside hotel with a cool deck to relax on.

ROOM TIP: Ask for a double room with a view of the sea as high up as possible (built into a hill, reception is on street level circa floor 10 and descends toward the water)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carvedouttawood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you kindly for these words of praise especially as they come from the repeating guest. We look forward to seeing you in the nearest future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Loved my three night stay at this hotel - Sept 2013. Personal vacation, solo mission. A 15 minute walk to town... happy NOT to have stayed in the old town. Sweeping vistas from the hotel... listed as a FIVE star. Which I was doubtful of... but TOTALLY pleased to see it certainly is. Breakfast restaurant was great, and splurged one night at the chi-chi steak house on site. Still a very reasonable price... The BEST mushroom risotto I have ever had. Choice of pools - indoor and out, and ladders down to the sea, if that's what you want. Great snackbar by the pool and not a bad meal was had. SPA treatment was delightful, and also reasonably priced. Luxury on a dime... Totally planning to return as soon as possible!

Travel Tip to Croatia...*Keep your Euros at home - use local currency, the Kuna only. Front desk will change money for you, but there is a 2% service charge

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crazylabchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for these kind positive comments. We are glad that you have thouroughly enjoyed your say with us. See you in the nearest future. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#2 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,456 reviews
2.0 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
1.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
1.3 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 67 in Dubrovnik
608 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#9 of 67 in Dubrovnik
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixos Hotel Libertas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos Hotel Libertas

Property: Rixos Hotel Libertas
Address: Liechtensteinov Put 3 | Dubrovnik Neretva County, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#24 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos Hotel Libertas 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A landmark of exceptional Croatian hospitality, the waterfront Rixos Libertas Dubrovnik has been reborn as the ultimate contemporary design hotel with luxurious facilities for discerning travelers. Home to 254 guest rooms that combine panoramic views of the Adriatic Sea with pampering facilities that indulge and inspire, it is conveniently located only 15 minutes away from Dubrovnik Old Town and 25 minutes away from the Dubrovnik International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Rixos Hotel Libertas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rixos Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing